1993 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1993 Jeep Cherokee 4.0 litre 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 litre 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Great performance on and off-road, reliability is awesome

Faults:

Just regular maintenance.

General Comments:

I love this Jeep, had for two years and no problems, very very well dependable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2003

1993 Jeep Cherokee Country 4.0L HO from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0L HO Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

The best vehicle I have ever driven!

Faults:

I have been having a problem with my key switch. I have to sometimes pull the key switch back toward me for the radio to work. I believe it is something inside the steering column.

The dash got cracked when my brother got into the passengers seat and his knee hit the bottom of the dash below the glove box. It put a crack down the middle of the plastic.

My battery cable wires are burned real bad. Somehow they got real hot and were fried a little bit.

Sometimes, I have no power to start the Jeep. I believe it is either the battery cables or the computer. I have to unhook the battery and let it sit for a few minutes, then it works fine. A very weird problem that has been coming up lately.

My windshield washer fluid tank has a crack down the side.

General Comments:

This vehicle was a dream for me. I picked it up very cheap from a friend. It has no rust, no major mechanical issues, and it runs awesome. I love my Jeep to death.

The only problem with them is there is not enough space to get into the back seat. The back doors don't open far enough, and there is not enough room to get in "comfortably".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2002

10th Mar 2004, 14:44

All Jeeps are known for that. My Liberty has that problem. But you aren't concerned with that if you own a Jeep.

19th Apr 2008, 19:04

Hi! My name is Samantha. I am 16. I got just got a 1993 Jeep Cherokee, and I love it! I was on the Internet, and found out though that a lot of Jeeps just like mine or similar to mine have many recalls on them. If you go to www.internetautoguide.com, you will be able to look up your vehicle and see if you have any recalls. If so, the Chrysler dealership should fix it free of charge. Don't hold me to it, but they should.

I hope I could be of some help to some people! -Samantha.

1993 Jeep Cherokee Country 4.0 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 litre Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 kilometres
Most recent distance206000 kilometres
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Best, most common sense vehicle we've owned!

Faults:

Had to replace universal joints in front axles, and that's it!

General Comments:

- This SUV is driven by my wife & she loves it!

- It gets great mileage!

- Great traction in adverse conditions

- Very quick, great power!

- Since we live in Canada, where we often have 5 months of snow, the four wheel drive is very comforting. Getting stuck is an awful feeling, whether out in the country, or in an icy city parking lot. But, we have no worries with our dependable little Jeep!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2002

21st Oct 2002, 10:37

I bought a 1993 Cherokee and was wondering if anyone knew the purpose of the little black disco ball looking thing on the headliner. The manual doesn't mention it and the dealer didn't know. Any help would be appreciated...

18th Nov 2002, 09:28

It's a keyless entry system. Look in the manual. I have to find out how to get a button thing for my keychain now. I bought mine used, too.

1993 Jeep Cherokee 2-Door 4.0 HO from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 HO Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance205000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

A great deal for off-roading as well as on-road driving

Faults:

New transmission and clutch were put in @150,000 miles.

Just replaced original front U-Joints.

General Comments:

This was my first Jeep. I've owned it for about a year now and have put about 25,000 miles on it. Before I would only buy GM products, but I got a good deal on this Cherokee.

So far, I have been rock-crawling, mud-bogging, field racing, towed with it, and much more. It stands up to anything I put it through. I have been off-roading with other vehicles, some Jeeps and various others and by the end of each trail, it seemed that only the Jeeps would make it through.

On the street is a little different than what I was used to. Going from a Firebird to a Cherokee was a big step. While the truck seems to be top-heavy, it doesn't handle that bad. The ride is a little rough, that may be in part caused by the 3" rancho lift and the 31's though.

Overall, this truck is one of the best purchases that I have made. I would recommend to anyone thinking about buying a Jeep to definitely get one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2002

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 32 reviews