1989 Jeep Comanche Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1989 Jeep Comanche 2.5L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 kilometres
Most recent distance86872 kilometres
Previous carFord Truck

Summary:

Great, dependable long lasting truck that will never let you down

Faults:

At 83,000km, the inner and outer wheel bearings went out of the front end.

At 85,000km the exhaust system had to be replaced because of a leak.

General Comments:

This truck is very dependable and great for a first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2001

1989 Jeep Comanche Sport Truck 2.5L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carBuick Riviera

Summary:

Nice

Faults:

For some reason when I hit a bump the right way at 45-55 MPH the front end will shimmy bad till I slow down.

General Comments:

Nice truck.

Fun to drive.

Tough.

Sporty looking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2001

11th Jun 2001, 16:14

I had the same shimmy problem. Replaced the front steering stabilizer (like a shock) and it totally solved the problem.

29th Aug 2001, 22:16

I had a front wheel bent. I changed it, no problem after.

26th Jan 2002, 08:49

I had the same problem and suspected the tires as they were oversized and not what Jeep recommended. But, my wheel alignment guy suggested I see if one of the front brake calipers was sticking. So while getting the new tires I checked and found the right caliper WAS sticking some so freed it. Haven't had the shimmy since. (And getting better milage and handling with proper tires!) Ben.

14th Sep 2004, 11:04

Hello.

I have the exact same problem with my 88 Comanche. When I hit a bump at the right speed, it will shake really, really bad. Bad enough that last weekend when it did it my exhaust system broke. I'd really like to get it fixed. So far I've replaced the steering dampener, shocks all round, all tie rods, and the track bar. As far as I can see everything else in the front end looks good.

What was the solution to your problem?

Thanks for the help.

Brent.

1989 Jeep Comanche Sport Truck 4.0 Inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership1989
Engine and transmission 4.0 Inline 6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles

Faults:

Hydraulic clutch cylinder.

Hydraulic throw-out bearing.

General Comments:

I love this truck a lot, wouldn't own another truck... I wish Jeep would consider reproducing the Comanche in the future, I would be the first one to buy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2001

1989 Jeep Comanche 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carJeep Comanche

Summary:

They're great

Faults:

Rear seal leaks, bearing went bad on the rear axle.

General Comments:

Comanche is the best pickup, too bad they are getting harder to find.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2001

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 20 reviews