1993 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 4 of 13

1993 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 5.2 liter gas from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.2 liter gas Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance171000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

It is the perfect combination of street and dirt

Faults:

Front C.V. joints went out at about 165000 miles, which I expected from the hard driving it received.

The alternator just went out at 171000 miles.

The radiator leaked at about 155000 miles.

General Comments:

It handles great on and off the road. It's a big station wagon that does what it was designed to do very well.

It's got plenty of power and still gets about 15 mpg in the city, even with my lead foot.

The problems that it's had are nowhere near the cost of buying a new vehicle, and this one still runs great.

I would recommend one to anyone, it's a great family four wheel drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2005

1993 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited 5.2 from Turkey

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Best 4x4 ever

Faults:

The starter brakes down almost every 5000 miles.

General Comments:

First of all this is a dream machine.

Incredible performance for a 4x4.

Perfect off-road ability.

Fairly well comfortable.

Once me and my friends were going off-road there were 4 vehicles and only I could reach the destination.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2004

14th Mar 2005, 19:03

Have you put a new starter on? if not, when it breaks, just hit it with a hammer. the bushings in the starter must be bad and if you tap it they will loosen. works every time, guarantied.

Garret kamine grrtkamine@yahoo.com.

1993 Jeep Grand Cherokee larado 5.2 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.2 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance231086 miles
Previous carPlymouth Barracuda

Summary:

Excellent SUV

Faults:

At 212,000 replaced fuel pump took home that is where she quit at.

At 219,000 had to replace front and rear brakes they started making noise then.

Then had to replace radiator at 222,000 dang tree limb out 4 wheeling caught lower house and riped bottom of radiator.

Had to replace ac compressor at 195,000 locked up on me then.

General Comments:

This thing has been so faithful it is unreal just keeps going and going.

Still runs like new don,t use no oil between oil changes which are done at every 4,000 miles.

Starting to ride ruff time for shocks soon.

But all in all been a great jeep, going to see how long she will keep going, I have done all the repairs my self to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2004

5th Aug 2006, 16:34

I have a 1993 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. I have had her for maybe 2 months now. There are 2 things wrong with her.

She burns oil pretty bad, but I can handle that. The second thing is that when I hit the brakes to stop, there is some kind of thumping noise. I was wondering if anyone knew what that was. Please comment back.

1993 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 Inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance171000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco II

Summary:

At high mileage, dependability is an issue

Faults:

A TON OF REPAIRS WITHIN THE LAST YEAR, CHECK MY MILEAGES!

Coolant leak at around 171,000. Had to get new water pump at.

Replaced front brake pads and rotors at 169,658 miles. This less than a year from my last brake service.

Vehicle just died in traffic at 161,584. Couldn't get it started again. Had to replace fuel pump. At this service, I also had to get the transmission gasket replaced, as well as the oil pan gasket.

Replaced speed sensor at 160,444.

Replaced rear brake cylinders and shoes at 160,090.

Replaced front disc pads and machined rotors, replaced rear brake shoes; sometime around 157,000.

Exhaust pipe BROKE OFF right behind catalytic converter. At this service, had to get new catalytic, as well as new exhaust. 153,699.

---------------

Replaced serpentine belt at 141,811.

Heater hose went bad at 133,023, got that replaced.

Transmission went out on me at 122523. Got it rebuilt at a better price than buying a new tranny. Still, cost me over $1,200.

Had noticed that my Jeep idled very roughly for a while. Got the nerve to get that checked out, and it ended up being broken motor mounts. Mileage: 122,455.

Passenger side front window just kept falling off of its track. Needed a new window regulator. at 123,001 miles.

Needed new rear main oil seal after I noticed a significant oil leak. at 115,605 miles.

General Comments:

The repairs I listed above the line are things I've had to have done within the past year. Seems like the car is falling apart. I'm a recent college grad, still looking for employment, so my financial situation is a little fragile at the moment. If I had a job, I'd get this Jeep off my hands in a heartbeat. Don't get me wrong, before this past year, I haven't had nearly as many problems, as you can see from the repairs listed below the line. Not sure about the repairs before I had the car; it was passed down from my parents, and I know they took good care of the car. It was our main "family vehicle" and I don't recall it needing major repairs. Sometime soon there won't be anything else I can replace, and I will be driving what seems like a new car!

But in all fairness, I don't think my repair costs average out to be more than a car payment. For that I am grateful. Also, I realize the car does have VERY high mileage and it's at a point where things are going bad. I would appreciate it if everything didn't go bad all at once, though. I think over the past year, my car has been in the shop on average every other month.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

13th Jul 2004, 19:28

The article says the repairs listed were all done in the past year. The mileage on the vehicle increases about 60000 miles in that period. Is that the case? If so, I'd say you're doing pretty well.

26th Nov 2008, 05:31

I have a 1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee V-8 and I would kinda have to agree with you.

I'm the second owner of my Jeep. It has 149K on it. Right now it's had the tranny replaced at 129K and the brakes have been gone through like 15 times. The computer went out at 101K. It's also overheated a few times under normal driving.

The 1st owner took very good care of the Jeep, and I have only had it about 5 months and I drive it normal and do the oil changes on time, and would not buy another one. I will only buy the 4.0 Jeeps; I have had three of them. They are very good Jeeps. Thanks for reading.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 46 reviews