1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 5.2L V8 from North America


Great looking, great performance, a quality product!


Transmission wouldn't shift out of third gear until reaching approximately 5000 RPM at 85,000 miles.

Needed new seals and hoses at 90,000.

A few electrical problems, lights on the dashboard wouldn't come on, CD player wouldn't show track or time or radio station, etc.

General Comments:

All cars start to wear as they approach 100,000 miles.

My Jeep has had minimal problems, it is extremely comfortable and fun to drive.

Jeep makes a tough car. I think that if my 1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee is given proper maintenance, it should easily last me another 100,000 miles!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2001

22nd Jan 2009, 11:50

Transmission randomly blew at 160,000 miles. Seals gone. Vacuum hose needs replacements.

1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 from North America


A very reliable car


The catalytic converter went out at about 90,000 miles.

The fuel pump went out at about 100,000 miles. I was told this is the only year that had a "different type" of fuel pump, so it ended up costing me about $850.00 to replace...

The exhaust manifold cracked at about 105,000 miles, but from reading other reviews this seems to be normal??? I am looking for a used one currently, the factory replacement is too expensive.

The carpet is starting to wear on the driver's side, but I think at 120,000 miles that is to be expected.

General Comments:

I love my Jeep! It is jet black with custom wheels and tires. The paint is still in great shape and the truck is still running excellent.

If these are the only problems I've had with the car after this many miles, I am very happy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2001

1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.0 liter V6 from North America


Too many problems


Air conditioning has been serviced 3 times.

Front rotors recalled.

Seat motor replaced.

Radio works intermittently.

Radio antenna motor replaced.

Transmission replaced.

Shorts in wiring harnesses.

Roof rack self destructed.

Constant rear lamp failure indicator comes on, but rear light works fine.

2 batteries replaced in 3 years.

Computer malfunctions resulting in headlights staying on, security light coming on, and temperature gauge failing.

Charging system failed. Cause unknown (still at the dealership).

General Comments:

I will sell this vehicle before the extended factory warranty ends. This vehicle is just not built to last.

Don't by this vehicle unless you can get a factory warranty or extended factory warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th July, 2001

8th May 2002, 16:48

The rear light out indication is most likely the third brake light at the top of the rear window. It has two bulbs. At least one is out...

10th Dec 2002, 16:44

Three fuel- pumps in one year.

1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.2L V8 from North America


A good way to become acquainted with your local mechanics..


Oh boy.

Power fluctuation when in park or drive - i.e. the car accelerates/decelerates on its own. Had to send test results to Michigan to figure this one out.

Coolant leak - this problem took about 4 trips to the dealership to fix.

AC blows warm - again, repeated trips to the mechanic.

Fuse blown in steering wheel, meaning the wheel started to smoke while I was driving. This perturbed me enough to write a letter to Chrysler proclaiming that my Jeep is a piece of junk.

Transmission rebuilt at 105000 miles. I was hoping to sell before this happened. Alas, no.

AC leak that caused water to enter the car and soak the right front and rear carpets. I now smell mildew each time I get in the car. I'll get the car back from the dealership for the SIXTH time tomorrow regarding this problem.

There's an abundance of other small problems, but I think this is a good sampling. Basically, most anything that could go wrong has. It's been... painful.

General Comments:

Well, I like the styling and I like the engine.

The reliability, however, has been enough to assure that I will definitely never own another Jeep. Another Chrysler at all is still debatable, but I'm leaning towards no.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th July, 2001

11th Jun 2004, 01:23

Your AC leak is probably not the AC. There is a plug in the firewall that is probably clogged and this happens to all sorts of vehicles. I had a Grand Am that smelled like a an old stinky lake. Try finding the plug and your water problem will go away.

4th Nov 2004, 13:16

I had the same problem with the ac, water leaking in the right front and rear resulting in the carpet becoming moldy. But this is an easy fix all it is is that the drain off pipe gets blocked and then fills back into the car. I was told by Chrysler that the drain off pipe was blocked and because of a design fault, the only way to get to it was to take out the dashboard at a cool $800.00 So I took it to my local AC man and all he did was drill a hole from inside the car and unblocked the drain with a wire coat hanger, then put a stopper in the hole so if the problem happened again all you have to do is is remove the stopper. He charged me $20.00 so I gave him $40.00.