1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee V8 from North America


A piece of junk starting at 38 miles


You name it, its had it.

Oil leak at 87 miles.

Air bag problem at 249 miles.

Leakage at 24,000 miles and still leaking. No one can find the problem... (SAD).

Air conditioner leak 43,000 miles.

Roof crooked.

Doors off balance.

2 boots replaced.

On and on and on.

General Comments:

When you buy a Jeep and pay 40,000.00 you should not have problems with it as much as we did. After you drive it off the lot where you bought it the owners and sales people really don't want to see you again. This was a huge problem with us. And the manager kept putting us off and saying there's no problem. After a while they tell you that the warranty has ran out and it will cost??? (high dollars). They get you one way or another. I loved my Jeep until I got treated so bad by the sales manager. I should have contacted someone over them more than twice. I will never buy a Jeep again, because of the mis-treatment. It wasn't worth the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd May, 2001

1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0L I6 from North America


Good combination of performance and economy for a very capable SUV!!!


Cracked exhaust manifold (probably due to bad motor mounts).

Bad motor mounts.

Warped rear axle (after an accident).

Leaking water pump.

Rough idle while cold (still a problem).

Mild dieseling (still a problem).

Passenger side electric seat switch.

General Comments:

Very solid engine and drivetrain. If properly maintained, can easily hit over 300,000 miles without rebuilding. Good performance/economy ratio for a SUV.

Interior styling is not as refined as 96+.

Very tight turning radius.

Electronics are known to go bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2001

12th Mar 2005, 13:19

Our '95 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo has a cracked exhaust manifold. When I took it to an independent mechanic, he told me that he saw lots of these and that I should take it back to the dealer, which I did. The dealer told us there was nothing they could do because no notice had been issued by the manufacturer. We would like to know just how many other consumers out there have had the same problem, and how we, as a group can put pressure on Chrysler to make some accommodation?


1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee SE 4 door 4.0L I-6 from North America


A sweet Sport Utility Vehicle


Nothing I have seen really, just sometimes the car idles low.

General Comments:

I'm young and I got the car from my mother.. Some kids at my school are mad because it's so fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2001

1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 L I6 from North America


Nice all-purpose vehicle


- Dead battery (stock battery, 5 years old and was still ticking... a little past its prime... Wouldn't you know...)

- Recent fuel economy drop. I'm still figuring this one out. Worst thing about it, is that I think I caused it...

- I think I have a bad motor mount...

General Comments:

Great car! Wish D-C was more careful on some stuff though...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2001

1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0L from North America




Transmission problems at 50,000 miles, shifted bad in cold weather or won't shift at all.

Cracked exhaust manifold at 65,000.

General Comments:

Every option for a used manifold was cracked in the same place and the dealership admits this is a problem but there is no recall. Local exhaust shops replace many of these for the same exact crack and still no recall.

Transmission was replaced under warranty after 2 months in the shop but it still has same problems as before, was told to live with it by the dealership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th October, 2000

31st Jan 2002, 15:04

My 1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee.

Thank God I got the extended warranty.

The car has 63000 miles and it has been well maintained. But I am sure that Jeep Marketing wouldn't put me on television. I love the thing but it has had more than its share of problems. My next 4WD will be???!! Plus look at Consumers Reports and elsewhere, all of the Grand Cherokees have really poor reliability 1993-2001. Come on Chrysler, wake up and address these issues. (I heard the Jeep Marketing types drive Toyotas :) :) )

1. 2 new radiators, leaked.

2. 3-4 new batteries.

3. Head gasket.

4. 2 or 3 new power steering pumps/leaked.

5. New bearings in front pumpkin, God awful whine that gradually sneaked up on me.

6. Switch for rear wiper.

7. Multiple seals tranny/oil pan.

8. Leaky dip stick.

9. New catalytic convertor.

10. Several safety recalls.

11. Some idle circuit sensor.

21st Mar 2004, 10:28

I have a 94 Grand Cherokee. I love it, but here are the list of problems I have had:

Front bearing assembly (2)

Transmission (3) - yes three times replaced (1 for free)

Fog lights (2)

Radiator (1)

Catalytic Converter (1)

Transmission lines (2)

Rear door lock (1)

Brakes - rotors drums pads (2)!! yes twice they corroded.

I am an engineer and I know that this kind of record would not be tolerable at my company!!

9th Sep 2004, 22:56

I drive a 1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo it has 260,000 miles on it, the switch for the rear window wiper has gone bad and the welding on the door jam broke loose on the front drivers side door, I've had it re-welded 3 times.

The only major problem I've had is the Transmission had to be rebuilt from end to end, other than its been a great vehicle, to have that many miles on it.

9th Nov 2005, 14:51

You must own an oilwell in order to stick that many miles on a vehicle with the fuel consumption of a Jeep.