1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0L from North America


Alternator at 70,000.

Water pump at 80,000.

Cracked exhaust manifold at 120,000. Fixed myself for 150.00.

Cat, muffler and tail pipes at 140,000.

Radio light, rear wiper motor, electric antenna, driver's side switch for passenger's window, no longer work.

Rear main seal leaks since 120,000.

Governor pressure sensor quit at 181,000. 100.00 dollar repair myself.

Interior and exterior have held up excellent in New England winters.

Jeep bucks every once in a while. No idea why.

General Comments:

Great car, bought a 98 Wrangler with 50,000 on it liked Jeep so much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2005

10th Sep 2005, 10:12

Your jeep bucks because of the throttle position sensor. Automatic? cost about 97.00. Standard? cost about 40.00 My jeep used to buck when the gas peddle was seated in the cruise position. It emulated a transmission problem, but the TPS also tells the trans when to shift so I replaced the trans without fixing it. I replaced the TPS and it ran like a champ till the night I hit a tree.

1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4x4 4.0L V6 from North America


A very unreliable and quirky vehicle


Rear lamp failure notification on the self diagnostic screen.

It sometimes just wouldn't start, for no apparent reason.

Loses time and date quite frequently.

Horrible towing power.

General Comments:

I bought this Jeep to tow my other Willy's Jeep 1945 to WWII reenactments, but it could barely do that.

It left my wife and I stranded 75 miles from home on our way to pick up my sister who was out of town when our grandfather died.

It isn't as roomy as you'd expect a SUV to be.

Gas hog deluxe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st May, 2005

3rd May 2005, 05:17

I buy a car, I expect it to perform. My 1988 Ford Bronco II is still running good as ever, and needed less attention than the dang Jeep. I even have a 1996 Ford Mustang, and it has 180,000 miles, and is still as good as it ever has been. I am not impressed with the reliability on non-ford vehicles.

5th Jun 2006, 21:43

I think your Dissatisfied face with your vehicle is not an accurate measurement of the vehicle's reliability.

Clock loses time often? How has that problem left you stranded on the road?

About it not starting often, well if your clock is losing time you must have an electrical problem somewhere. That's probably why your losing the time on your clock.

13th Sep 2006, 16:40

I recently purchased a 1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee Ltd. I had it for a few days when suddenly it just wouldn't start. It also had the rear lamp notification on the screen inside and the security system wasn't properly working. Does anyone know what would cause this? I really love it and I just want to be able to jump in and drive and not worry about it not starting on me.

12th Nov 2006, 00:11

Rear lamp failure: The things that are easy to miss are the two little lamps that light the rear license plate and the third or center brake light... there are three bulbs in that one and if one of them is out you may not notice, but the diagnostic system will. It can also be thrown off by using incorrect bulbs so check your owners manual for the exact replacement.

I don't know about the security system and don't really use mine.

Remember older cars need better and more frequent care than newer ones! Some things are going to break just due to age and use. Also remember that it's a complicated vehicle and thus is more prone to maintenance issues. A Honda Accord it ain't, but it is comfy and great in the snow. Good Luck and enjoy your Grand Cherokee!!!

1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4X4 5.2L V8 from North America


It's a perfect off-roader


My brakes went out at 140,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this car.

It has 33in off-roading tires on it.

It's definitely made for off-roading.

I put a 4in lift on it for better ground clearance.

I also put a 1999 front bumper on it, and it definitely looks better than the stock (if you know how to do it right)

Basically this is a reliable off-roading beast.

It's perfect for those extremist's out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2005

21st Jun 2005, 10:38

Hey, I got a 1995 jeep as well and I was just wondering how the 99 bumper looks on it. I was wondering if I can get a few pictures. email me at duricd@gmail.com. thanks.