1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 4 of 19

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4 L from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4 L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired300000 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres
Previous carMerkur Scorpio

Summary:

I will never buy another Dodge product again

Faults:

Constant coolant leaks, 3rd transmission, light issues, transfer case issues. This SUV has been in the shop at least 2 times per year for major issues since I purchased it.

General Comments:

Cabin is comfortable, but that is all I can say on the positive side. It gets very very bad mileage, handles poorly, and despite appearances has a very limited cargo area. The only reason this car is still in my drive way is my wife has some misplaced loyalty to it. At this point I do not feel I could sell it to someone in good faith, even though I could get a decent price for it in my area.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st July, 2009

31st Jul 2009, 19:12

Sorry for your problems, the Grand Cherokee's seem to be problematic. My 1990 Cherokee Laredo with the 4.0 in line six is still and has been awesome for 20 years! New alternator a few years back, but otherwise oil changes, fluid changes, occasionally fuel injector cleaner and tires 80.000 miles later, but a solid, very well built machine! Expect 200,000 more from it. It qualifies as a "clunker" according to the govt, but it is paid for and will give me many more years of trouble free driving...

2nd Aug 2009, 00:27

I have a 1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee with 247,000 miles on it and I just LOVE it! Bought from one of my biology professors who was the original owner. It had 240,000 miles on it when I bought it in January cuz I didn't put antifreeze in my Ford van and blew the engine... DUMB me. I don't want car payments and paid $1500 for it, it hasn't let me down yet. Regular maintenance, oil changes, just did full brake job on front and back, threw on some new tires and I am looking forward to the snow to kick in that 4 wheel drive that my van couldn't make it through. Plan on getting it up to 300,000 miles, which is when I should be done with Nursing School, and when I can afford car payments I will definitely buy another JEEP!

18th Sep 2012, 18:50

I love my '97 Jeep. She has 223,000 miles and still going. No payments are a plus.

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

Wouldn't buy another Jeep, too many problems

Faults:

Leather on seats wore out TERRIBLY quick.. huge holes on seats.

Liner on the ceiling of the car is falling off.. has to be pinned up to stay up, so when the windows are down, the foam inside the top of the car flies all over the car and makes a mess.

Console has ALWAYS said "Rear Lamp Failure". Had this checked a couple times, but the rear lamps are never out. The console also will not stay on the correct time, it always goes back to 12:00 AM.

Had to replace the battery.

Serpentine belt broke off randomly in the middle of the street at 140,000 miles.

Had to replace a pulley at about 100,000 miles.

Had to replace a BRAND NEW $700 ECM at 130,000 miles.

Had to replace the starter at 130,000 miles.

General Comments:

Even being a 2WD, still handles pretty well in bad weather.

Comfortable seats, which give lots of space.

AWESOME pick up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th May, 2009

19th May 2009, 06:54

I just hate when an old used junker does not work like new.

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C10

Summary:

It is junk

Faults:

It stalls while driving for no reason. I have taken it to one dealer and two repair shops. After replacing the computer, the crankshaft sensor, the distributor cap/ rotor, spark plugs/wires and the ignition coil, they still have no idea what's wrong. It's been in the shop approx. ten weeks total.

Power seat motor broke.

Power window won't stay up.

Replaced power steering pump and radiator two times each in four years.

Gas tank leaks from top if filled much more than 3/4 full.

Dash lights blink.

Too many smaller problems to list.

General Comments:

It's pretty bad when I have a 1969 Chevy C-10 truck that is far more reliable than this Jeep. I of coarse have occasional maintenance on the truck, but I am not fearful that I will not be able to get to the side of the road when it quits running suddenly.

Even without the issue of it dying while running, this car has given me far more trouble than any of my G.M. vehicles I've owned. I will never own another Chrysler vehicle again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th March, 2009

11th Sep 2012, 16:30

I'm SO sorry that a vehicle that was nearly 10 years old when you bought it, has caused you so many problems. Next time, don't buy a used Jeep... it was most likely abused. Don't blame the manufacturer for your mistake. My 1997 Grand Cherokee has 165,000 miles, and has barely given me any trouble.

18th Sep 2012, 10:13

Man, I hate my Jeep too. My 85 Dodge is the best vehicle I've ever owned. Never had any trouble with it. I bought the Jeep in 2007-8 for another car, since the truck is bad on gas - 7 MPG. I bought it from a local dealership, and have had the worst headache with it. I will never buy another Jeep.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 64 reviews