2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 35 of 46

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Great looking, absolutely poor quality

Faults:

First week I had it electrical problems started (towed twice in two weeks)

2 transmissions.

2 rear-ends.

Brakes are horrible and brakes/rotors replaced frequently.

Steering wheel leather wore off, leather seat cushion replaced twice.

Drivers seat control is broken.

Car shakes horribly at higher speeds and when stopping.

General Comments:

At 58,000 miles this car is in need of serious major work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th May, 2004

10th Aug 2004, 09:45

I totally agree with you...

Hey, what you are doing about the shaking problems? I'm experiencing the same thing in my GC.

I'm at 68K miles on my 2000. The brakes have gone bad a couple times, electrical systems have failed, rear fog defroster is shot, but the thing that worries me worse is the shaking, when I hit 50-55 MPH there is terrible shaking through the wheel and entire care. After 55 it's fine, when I decrease and hit 50-55 again it shakes.

I would never buy a Jeep again. I'm considering selling it, but won't get much for it I fear.

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo Inline 6 FI from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Inline 6 FI Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance66500 miles
Previous carToyota Landcruiser

Summary:

A poor quality good looking car

Faults:

Left tail light goes out when applying the brakes at night (Lights on).

Air Condition compressor only works when the dash selector rotary knob for directing air flow to winsdhield defrost is selected? any help on this one will greatly be appreciated.

Farrando@peoplepc.com.

General Comments:

I am trying to put America back to work, but truly, they will have to improve their quality control tremendously before I by another Jeep!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th May, 2004

1st Jul 2004, 10:56

Am having the same problem with this model (left tail light going out when lights are on). What can be done to fix it?

4th Nov 2004, 19:52

I am having same problem with tail light not working with lights on. I have changed socket, bulbs, checked wires, checked fuses. Can someone help?

10th Nov 2004, 05:40

I have a 2000 Grand Cherokee with the same problem. Right tail light works until applying brakes, then it goes completely out. If the headlights are not on, the brake light works! Been looked at by two mechanics, but not fixed. Very frustrating!!!

16th Jan 2005, 11:45

I have the same problem with the non working tailight when the lights are on. Does anyone have any suggestions about the fix?

Malbertpga@yahoo.com

Thanks.

8th Nov 2005, 03:27

I had the same problem with the left brake light going out when I hit the brake. I fixed my self, and I thought I'd let you know how I did it.

When you pull out the plug that the light bulb is fitted in, there should be three contact points on the outer ring of the plug. The one by itself is the negative. The ring that the contacts are on will be broken, and causes the bulb to ground out. Glue the cracked ring and hold until dry (try using glue especially made for plastic). After the glue dries, insert bulb and test. If this doesn't work try using tape, or wedging a piece of paper in between the ring and the light housing. Hope this helps!

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance79900 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Perfect size engine SUV for any driving condition

Faults:

Multi function switch short circuit, caused a dead battery and the need for a new switch at 60,000 miles.

One year later, battery swelled and needed replaced. Most likely due to being on a ship in the Atlantic Ocean last fall coming to Germany.

General Comments:

Love the Grand Cherokee. Will most likely buy one later, once the He-mi is a standard feature of the new, larger Grand Cherokee.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2004

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.7L PowerTech V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7L PowerTech V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3600 miles
Most recent distance3800 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

The best luxury suburban SUV

Faults:

Previous owner couldn't start Jeep, brought to shop and replaced part at 3600 miles.

When originally bought, trim was incorrectly installed.

Minor nicks on leather and paint noticed at 35,700 miles.

Dog hair sticks to carpeting easily.

The fitting around the sunroof has come loose.

General Comments:

I love my Jeep. When I got it, I was so terrified to hear that it didn't start. She wanted to have a new SUV and more space in back. She got a Yukon, her mother misses it.

I love stepping not too far up.. towing is wonderful.

When moist, fingerprints are visible on the leather.

Compared to a Grand Caravan, my champagne baby might as well have no visibility.

Nice responsive steering, loud road noise.

We aren't used to paying for top-notch stuff, so gas and repairs are expensive. Otherwise, its our baby!

I wax my Jeep bi-weekly and will never own anything else ever again for towing a boat or going for a splash or tackling a hill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2004

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 167 reviews