2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 34 of 46

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.0 Gas from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance67500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Buy a Euopeen Made Jeep

Faults:

Brake rotors warped a few times... I brake to hard - too often.

One piston disintegrated at 60K miles.

General Comments:

I'm Europe, Jeep Grand Cherokees are made in Sweden. We get a three year full warranty in the price and can extend it to five years. This has made my GC very cheap to run... cheaper than my last family saloon.

The build quality is very good and appears better than rental models I've experience stateside.

So guys, is it Jeep who have quality problems, or just Jeep USA?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2004

10th Aug 2004, 12:42

Oh no, Jeep Grand Cherokee is not made in Sweden. Maybe you mean Switzerland?

Dan Stockholm.

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.7L Power Tech from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7L Power Tech Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A poorly made car, worst car purchase I've ever made

Faults:

At 16000 miles, my transfer case was faulty and was replaced under warranty.

At 39000 miles, dealer claimed transfer case was again a problem, and since car was out of warranty, needed a $2500 overhaul. Brought to another dealer and found there was nothing wrong with the transfer case!

Seal around back seat door fell down when I first bought the car, was repaired and is again sagging.

80000 miles - engine light came on, needed to replace heads and valves for $2500.

General Comments:

The car has had problem after problem and I would never buy another.

The car is reasonably comfortable on long drives, but I never feel really safe since it's so unreliable.

I tell everyone about the consumer fraud situation with the dealer/service center that tried to get $2500 from me for a non-faulty transfer case, I hope I stop some people from using that dealer/service center.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2004

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

The vehicle is barely tolerable because of braking

Faults:

Constant replacement of front rotors and pads. I am on my 5th set of brakes in 4 years, with only 73,000 miles. This includes the original set and 4 replacements. They tell me it is because they had to get away from asbestos brakes and now the pads are too hard for the rotors. As a result, the rotors warp and then become extremely unstable between 45 and 65 mph. Above or below, there is very little problem. The violent movement of the steering is what creates an extremely unsafe vehicle.

This suggests an engineering problem with the braking system and I think they are lying about the cause. Chrysler has severely let me down on this. My last Cherokee Briarwood was a fantastic vehicle. The 2000 Grand Cherokee is a disappointment. I love the size and utility, but hate the constant service on brakes.

General Comments:

Utility is terrific.

Gas mileage could be better.

Brakes are terrible.

Chrysler should be sued in a class action regarding their poorly engineered and extremely unsafe brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th June, 2004

13th Aug 2004, 07:41

I had the same problem with my 2000 Grand Cherokee until a switched to Raybestos pads & rotors all around.

2nd Nov 2004, 10:36

I also have a 2000 Grand Cherokee Lemon, er Laredo. I guess I've been lucky with the brakes, I've only had them replaced twice (under the 36K-mile warranty both times). I'm almost at 73,000 miles and getting ready to get another set of brakes. The violent shaking coming off the expressway is frightening.

Another question, has anyone ever had a problem with a "honking" noise coming from the front end when turning to the right? Chrysler tells me it's lack of a hydraulic cooling system and that the "engineers are working on a fix" but that was 3 years ago. I'll never buy another Chrysler product that's for sure, even a Jeep.

6th Nov 2004, 12:15

I've got a 2002 grand cherokee, brakes were fine until about 32,000 miles, then violent shaking of the steering wheel started. Had front rotors replaced and all was fine, but after about 4 weeks the shaking started again. Serviceman said its probably how I drive... no way. How could they be fine that long, about 2 years, then they go bad in 3 weeks. They resurfaced them and all was OK for about another 4 weeks, and then it started back up again. Shacking like crazy during braking between about 65 and 45 mph. Its in the shop again right now, hopefully it won't cost me too much. I'm happy with it for the most part, but brakes need some re-engineering. One other thing, after a few miles on a cold day when stopping at a light, smoke or fog (condensation) starts billowing from the hood. I swear it looks like its on fire or something. Other drivers look my way and its like duh... what the hecks wrong with your car? Dealer says its normal just water on the engine boiling off, but I have my doubts. It sure doesn't seem right to me. It's never happened with any other car I've owned.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 168 reviews