2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 36 of 46

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Ltd. 4.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carNissan 300ZX

Summary:

A great deal if purchased a few years old - don't worry about gas costs, its not for that

Faults:

So far it's running great except I have noticed the warped rotors now and I guess those have to be replaced. I need to determine which rotor is warped and what the repair procedure will be. I can probably do most of the work myself. I got the car used (I am the 2nd owner) and it was in great shape, so I don't mind putting in the maintenance. Mileage isn't great vs. what I am used to; however, it's a Jeep :)

General Comments:

Very comfortable and it has some good response and pick-up. I think the car looks great too. If you are trying to demonstrate to people that you are thrifty, don't show up in this car.

If the brakes were great, I would say this car is a 9 out of 10. but with the brakes warped it makes the car shimmy when braking under high speeds. that's not good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2004

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carFord F250

Summary:

A good vehicle with some major brake problems that Crysler will not fix

Faults:

I love my Jeep. The only problem that I have with it is that I have to replace the rotors and calipers every 12-15,000 miles. My dealer has been more than helpful. They have replaced the rotors and calipers five times for me. It has cot me only $50.00 each time, being covered by the extended warranty. Jeeps admits that there is a problem, but they are not will to fix it. My dealer has told me that if I replace the rotors and calipers with Napa's aftermarket high perfomance the calipers or rotors that my problem would be fixed. Now that my car is out of warranty, Chrysler will not replace the rotors or calipers anymore. I guess that I will take Chrysler to Small Calims Court.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2004

27th Apr 2004, 08:39

Dear Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner. We understand your problem and it is widespread. There is a class action lawsuit pending against Chrysler filed in New Jersey precisely because of the Jeep Grand Cherokee Brake Rotor problems, which cause excessive and uneven wear and require constant replacement (information can be found at www.kgglaw.com).

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo V.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance72175 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

If not for the brake/rotor issue, I love it

Faults:

20,000 Miles - replaced rotors and brakes. The rotors were warped. It was still under warranty, so the dealer offered to "split" the cost with me.

40,000 - replaced rotors and brakes. The rotors were warped again. Again, the dealer offered to "split' the cost. I asked what Jeep or Chrysler planned to do about it. The response I got was that it was a known issue. My thoughts (vocalized at the time) are, if it is a known issue, do something about it. Angry customers make noise.

60,000 - rotors were warped again. I don't like this trend and voice my very vocal opinion again. This time I am told that I will have to pay the full cost of the rotors. I asked them to at least just rotate the rotors. Their response, "we can't do that". Took the car elsewhere and had them rotated.

72,000 - it happens again. Rotors are warped and the brake lights don't work. They want to change brakes and rotors. They call back later in the day with the caliper issue, saying the new calipers will ease the problem. I'm going to pick up the vehicle in an hour or so.

General Comments:

I am so tired of barking at the service department of the dealership. I have voiced my anger many times over. It seems to fall on deaf ears. You would think with this many complaints, the dealerships would unite and force Jeep to come up with a solution that does not drive their customers into the showroom of another manufacturer the next time around.

5-Star rating my ***!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

17th May 2004, 17:49

I purchased 99 grand cherokee new. I have had it back to dealer 5 times for brake problems. The truck steering wheel shakes in your hand when applying brakes over 40 mph. Dealer would do nothing. I sued and received $6,000.Contact your attorney not the dealer. Anyone want to buy this truck? only 19000 original miles.

19th May 2004, 13:24

We bought the 2000 model and have had the rotors ground down 3 times. Now, we have to spend $241 to get new ones, and the Jeep only has 47k on it. Steering wheel would shake over 40mph as well - looks like we should call someone! Other than that the Jeep runs great.

29th May 2004, 16:36

I have a 2000 Grand Cherokee and I have replaced the rotors 3 times with a 4th now needed. I am at 45K. To the individual who sued and received $6,000 can you provide the name of the law firm? How long did it take?

15th Aug 2007, 20:03

2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo. Replaced front brake pads and had rotors turned at 45,000. Again started to shake badly when braking. New tires, front end alignment, new pads, and rotors turned again at 60,000. Now at 65,000 it is starting to shimmy again.

Add to the above transmission seals at 60,000.

Generally not a well designed or well built vehicle. I won't buy another one.

19th Aug 2007, 12:54

I have a 2000 Grand Cherokee and have had it with the brake problems. Replaced rotors etc in 2002-2004 and now just replaced them again in August-2007.

Does the CEO of Chrysler actually own one of these vehicles?

29th Aug 2007, 11:47

I have had to replace the rotors twice since I have had the car. Now I'm at 100K miles and I have to do it once more. This time the calibers are out too. Love the car accept for this problem.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 167 reviews