27th Mar 2008, 17:47

I've had a '96 GC limited 5.2 since new, now has 118,000 miles. Has 2" budget boost and BFG AT's and Flowmaster exhaust. Been off-road quite a bit. Over the years has had rear diff. replaced twice, AC condenser replaced, water pump along with normal wear and tear items. All in all I can't complain on a 12 yo vehicle. It's been passed down to daughter for high school and now will go to son (she just bought a Patriot). Has small quirks (dimming dash lights mainly), the driver door panel peeled out. I still like to drive this car and will try to keep it running as long as possible. Maybe why my 2002 Wrangler only has 24,000 miles on it.

17th May 2008, 04:15

I also have 96 Grand. Lights on the dash board come on and off as they please. Minor problems with the truck. 162,000 miles. The 4 Wheels All Drive shift better not be touched or moved to any other position was the warning by the Mechanic otherwise, I am looking at a very expensive bill.

What is it with the dash board lights, can't they admit that the damn thing have a problem and fix it.

Never Ever buy a jeep again. Take it from me. Save your money.

31st May 2008, 21:57

Bought a jeep a week ago... also should have done some research. The interior lighting won't go off, not the dash lighting, but the overhead dome lights and the trunk light. I had to pull the fuse out, so now everytime im in the jeep at night, can't see anything. Also its stuck in 4 wheel drive, which isn't good for gas. This sucks.

11th Aug 2008, 22:34


I just bought a 96 Jeep Grand Cherokee. It has 196,000 miles on it but besides that it seems to be in great condition (No dents, scratches, motor or trans problems, and very nice looking interior). I want to know if there is really any major things I should check for or have a mechanic check now since I have this vehicle. Its my first car and I really like Jeeps so I would appreciate it if I knew what it is I need to be aware of.

Also, approx. how many miles will a Jeep Grand Cherokee go if it has been treated great?

Thank you,


22nd Nov 2008, 19:42

I've had my jeep for a month and it gets stuck in 4x4 it hads a mind of its own rear wper doesn't work.

29th Nov 2008, 18:02

I have a 96 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo with 217,000. IT runs good, water pump, brakes; serviced normal by me;i have no other complaints, I'm happy with it, plus I'm a mechanic. If I can help in anyway, email me at icaveu@yahoo.com; single father with teenage boys, fun.

10th Dec 2008, 16:05

I have a 1996 GC 5.2 V8. As far a I'm concerned it's been a great vehicle! Currently at 241,000 miles. Only thing other than tires, brakes, shocks is one transmission rebuild, IAC, and my nemesis five sets of sway bar end links.

Bought it at 40k miles for $7k. Used for occasional towing but no offroad.

Would buy another, but when it does die, I'll go back to a car rather than SUV.

9th Jan 2009, 11:40

I have a 1996 Jeep GC Limited with over 300K miles on it. Aside from the door panel and wear and tear items it has been a great car. I bought it new, I did have some warranty work on an extended warranty I purchased when it was new. The only lasting issues was the driver side seat heater didn't work. So overall I have to say I've been a happy owner. Too bad some Jeep owners have had what appears to be lemons, but I have owned a Wrangler, Cherokee, and GC. All good so far and all over 150K miles when I moved to the other one. I'm working to replace my original whining power steering pump and ran across this web site.

20th Feb 2009, 19:53

1996 Cherokee bought new, around 135000 miles.

My tach, fuel gauge and speedometer have stopped working and I now can't get the car inspected, any ideas how to fix this problem?

5th Mar 2009, 02:00

I have a 1994 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 with 280,000 miles. I've replaced a bad fuel pump and distributor cap. Other than normal wear and tear service and maintenance, I have been blessed... until recently.

I got a glancing hit from a Hummer. A dented fender on the Hummer, a total mess on my passenger side front end. It looks horrible but it's all superficial (repair estimates $3200). I still get 19 mpg in the city and 24 mpg on the highway, and no oil leaks. Although it's still cold here, I checked out the AC and it still appears to be working fine. All in all, not bad for night driving.

Because of the accident and the age of the 1994 GC, I decided to upgrade to a 1996 GC 4.0. I found one in excellent shape (except for door panels), 170,000 miles, for $700. Cheap because it had no transmission or AC. An overhauled transmission cost me $1250 with a six month unlimited miles warranty. I replace three of the four door panels from a totaled GC for $120.

A week ago the dashboard lights started dimming up and down, and off and on. I have found that leaving the dimmer in the lowest possible position keeps it from fluctuating (but hard to view at night). I've read all of the dashboard lighting comments and I'm sure I'll have to replace the panel sooner or later.

After less than a thousand miles, my only complaint is that my key less entry fob does not work. I have to use a key in unlock the doors and turn the alarm off. And, of course, I'll have to address the AC issue sometime before the dog days of summer.

I planned on selling my 1994 GC, but after reading all the comments on the 1996 GC, I'll keep it as a backup... just in case.

21st Mar 2009, 20:50

I have to say it's amazing reading all similar issues with the 1996 Grand Cherokee Laredo. I own a 1992 Wrangler I bought brand new like I did the my Laredo. I love my Jeep's, they are easy to work on. Yes the plastic lenses fog, and yes the exhaust manifolds are bad on most Jeeps. I just replaced the oil pan on the Laredo, spent 2 hours and $80 on pan and gasket, works perfect.

Most problems ya'll are having are due to lack of preventive maintenance and wear and tear by owners. I recommend to everyone, take care of your investments. If you drop any boats in water with it, grease joints and oil any rubber that may get wet. If you live where it snows, sorry but salt on the road beats the crap out of the underside of vehicles. Be smart and take care of YOUR JEEPS! Good luck to everyone. I wish ya'll the best!

11th Apr 2009, 22:46

I have a 1996 Jeep GC Laredo and it has gray interior. I've been looking for a new driver's side door panel and haven't had any luck. Does anyone have any ideas? Thanks.

30th Jun 2009, 02:13

I have purchased a 1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.Litre Export model. I love this vehicle (my First Jeep), but have noticed a few problems.

Instrument lights dimming by themselves.

Fog lights turning on and off.

Intermittently stalling then accelerating.

Oil pressure gauge fluctuating low to high readings..

I have downloaded a lot of information in the form of owners manuals, servicing manuals, electrical diagrams, How to read engine management codes.

I have repaired my oil pressure readings, by replacing the oil pressure sender unit on the oil pump.

My light problem is cured by replacing the rotary light switch.

I have traced the stalling problems to the TPS throttle position sensor, which I will replace this weekend.

I am not a mechanic, but I do have an inquiring mind and would rather do my own work and saving dollars. They also suffer from cracking in the exhaust header.

I am sourcing a new unit made in Australia; a performance extractor with superior flow characteristics and superior construction, see GO JEEP to learn more.

Doing a lot of preventative maintenance your selves (regular oil changes etc) will help.

I don't want to buy Japanese; they killed off the British Auto industry, because the Brits got slap happy. Don't let it happen to American Metal icons.

Kiwi Can Do.