2006 Jeep Liberty 4x4 Sport from North America - Comments

23rd Jul 2008, 17:03

Well, it's now 22,970 miles and I guess this Jeep was going to be the reliable vehicle. At 21,000 the problem began.

Clunking, banging noise from the left rear when I go over a small bump in the road. This will be the third time I've had it back to the dealer. I finally replaced both rear shocks as the left rear shock gave out. The banging and clunking is still there. Of course the dealer said they couldn't produce the problem. Every other day, the noise comes back after spraying the rear lower control arm bushing.

Today, while driving home from work, the malfunction indicator lamp came on twice. Next, the warning indicator bell or alert buzzer began ringing.

I've pampered this vehicle using only Exxon fuel, and changing the oil and filter every 3-months with a Jeep Oil Filter and Mobil 1 oil. Looks like my next vehicle will be an Older Jeep Wrangler. Actually Honda is looking better!

19th Aug 2008, 15:59

The dealer replaced the BCM (Body Control Module) under warranty. Everything went until 8-19-08 on the way how from work. As I accellerated onto the entrance of the highway, the ABS light, ESP light and Traction lamp flickered and stayed on for several miles. This 2006 Jeep Liberty is becoming a night-mare. At 23,230 miles I'm stuck with another Jeep Misfit. Now I can see why people are trading their domestic vehicles for imports. I'm stuck now with negative equity as I had so many problems with my 2005 Jeep Wrangler, I lost money on my trade for a 2006 Jeep Liberty that has poor residual value. John.

1st Sep 2008, 18:41

Well, here we go again! Got the Jeep back and a week later the left rear window regulator went up. Can't wait until I can get a decent trade on this vehicle. Here I thought the Liberty was going to be a rugged vehicle.

26th Sep 2008, 18:50

It's now September 26th and while driving to work this morning the ABS/BAS, ESP and Traction Light came on. Minutes later it went off. On the way home from work the lights would go on and off. As I approached a stop light the traction lamp began blinking. When I arrived home I went a site and could not believe all the complaints on the Liberty from 2002-2007. Window regulators, MIL lights coming on and the exact problem I'm having. Chrysler needs to have a major recall on the window regulator and ABS lamps.

9th Oct 2008, 19:35

It's becoming a total nightmare!! This will be the forth time taking my Jeep Liberty back to the dealership for the ABS/BAS, ESP andTraction Control Lamp. The dealer say the codes are stored, but they must be Active to locate the problem. The vehicle is still under warranty, but each time I have to leave the vehicle with the dealer for several days. I'm seeing the same issues on two other Jeep sites. Why can't Chrysler/ Jeep solve these serious issues?

22nd Nov 2008, 23:29

I have also had the same exact problem with my 2006 Jeep Liberty (the ESP/BAS and traction light coming on). It drives me absolutely crazy! The Owner's Manual doesn't even tell you why the light comes on, just to see a technician if the light persists to come on. I don't even take my Jeep to the shop because they don't do anything to correct the problem; I will not give the company even more money for the P.O.S. I'm already paying for.

I will never buy anything from Jeep/Chrysler ever again! You're right, Honda is sounding great and calling my name!

P.S. Aren't you smart for keeping tabs on everything that goes wrong with it with the mileage, wish I would've done that!

22nd Dec 2008, 19:54

To anyone having problems with the ABS. ESP and traction control lamp coming on. Have the dealer reprogram the main computer. Chrysler finally woke up and listened to the dealer. Don't blame the dealers! The manufacturer will only pay for what they feel is the problem. I've spoken to two other dealer service managers and all they all admitted they must first get approval from the manufacturer. They are all admitting there is a problem with window regulators and lights coming on with the Liberty.

28th Jan 2009, 18:59

I agree, we have a 2006 Liberty. At first we thought we were stopping to quickly, but the ABS/Traction lights come on. Even when driving. We have to completely turn the car off and restart it to reset the ABS/Traction. We have had it in the shop several times and no one can find out what is going on. The shop we went to replaced the Transfer Case at the expense of Chrysler even though it was past the warranty. It helped for a while, but has started doing it again. If anyone has any suggestions, we would like to here them. I'm afraid to use the 4-WD, thinking it is going to mess up the transmission.

29th Jan 2009, 10:21

I also purchased a 2006 Jeep Liberty, and since I have owned it, I have had to replace the back window regulator 6 times. My warranty has recently ran out, and last week I was driving down the road when I heard a funny sound, turned and looked, and there went my window again, sliding down into the door.

I then went on the Internet to look up the issue, and found these :/

http://www.carcomplaints.com/Jeep/Liberty/2006/windows_windshield/window_regulator_breaks.shtml

http://www.edmunds.com/jeep/liberty/2006/consumerreview.html

http://www.city-data.com/forum/automotive/399904-jeep-liberty-2006-back-window-problems.html

25th Feb 2009, 04:05

I'm an unlucky owner of a 2006 Liberty.

Why don't you file a complaint at http://www.safercar.gov/Vehicle+Owners/ ??

13th Mar 2009, 10:40

I am the owner of a 2006 Jeep Limited with 34,000 miles. The only complaint that I have so far, is that when it goes up a hill, the transmission shifts in and out, it seems like it is a struggle, and when you slow down but don't fully stop, it bangs. I had this back to the dealership, and they reprogrammed the transmission hoping that it would help, but didn't, and I was told that the transmission is confused.

29th Mar 2009, 19:14

I now have 31,000 miles on my 2006 Jeep Liberty. At 24,000 I had to replace the tissue factory tires and the shocks. I replaced the original with Bilstein. A totally different ride.

Now the problem begins. After complaining to the dealer about a banging sound from the rear when going over a small bump, the back end began to sway back and forth on the highway. The dealer has had the vehicle for 2-1/2 weeks. Under warranty they replace the rear upper control arm and the entire rack and pinion steering assembly. I emailed Jeep/Chrysler and was told to work with the dealer or take it to another dealer. You would think Chrysler would send their specialists out to assist the dealers. I wrote to consumer's affairs and also filed a manufacturer's complaint with Department of Highway Safety.

2nd Apr 2009, 09:24

The dealer was finally able to correct all the defects on the 2006 Jeep Liberty. Vehicle drives like a new car. On the way home I decided enough's enough, and I turned my Liberty around and traded it for a 2009 Jeep Wrangler. Now I have a true Jeep.

11th Jun 2009, 13:23

I just purchased a 2006 Liberty with 2.8L diesel engine from CarMax (36,400 miles). It looks like new, runs beautifully, and seems very solid.

While driving home from the dealer, ESP/TCS, ABS, and BAS warning lights all came on. Rather than return it to CarMax, I decided to check it out with our shop (truck repair) computer. It identified the problem as the left rear wheel speed sensor. Purchased a new one from jeep ($11.00), and replaced it (ten minutes). PROBLEM GONE! Since these sensors are permanent magnet types, I imagine that some of them will lose magnetic strength over time. I have purchased a sensor for the right wheel just in case. Can't wait to get it off road and see how it does on our hunting lease.