1999 Jeep Wrangler Reviews - Page 6 of 10

1999 Jeep Wrangler Sport 4.0L inline six from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L inline six Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired66226 miles
Most recent distance69301 miles

Summary:

A true off-road competetor

Faults:

The brakes squeak, and the Power steering has a very strange grinding noise when it is turned to its limits. Besides these common and normal problems, I love my Jeep. Three days after I bought the Jeep, I flipped it onto its side. After a quick pull, it was back on its wheels with no problems.

General Comments:

My Jeep has proved to be an excellent vehicle for my Colorado lifestyle. In the short time that I have owned my Wrangler, I have seen its capability on and off road. The ride is tough, but that is to be expected on a Jeep, especially the Wrangler. The TJ is a much safer and tamed down version of the CJ.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2004

1999 Jeep Wrangler Sport 4.0 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carNissan Frontier

Summary:

Great off-road vehicle for the serious 4x4 driver

Faults:

My exhaust manifolds cracked at 30,000 miles and 55,000 miles. Replaced with new and improved factory manifold... about time. No problems with the replacement.

Passenger seat belt has become difficult to remove, latch is sticking.

Soft top replaced after 60,000 miles due to tearing.

Paint on side mirrors peeling off.

General Comments:

Aside from minor problems this has been a very reliable vehicle. My Jeep has seen major off road use and has never left me stranded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2004

29th Jan 2004, 05:28

I agree with most of that. No paint has started coming off my mirrors, but my exhaust manifold had to be replaced at 38,000 miles and my top at 45,000 due to tearing. My Wrangler has also seen it's share of off-road use and has been good to me other than the above.

Mike.

4th Feb 2004, 12:49

My manifold also cracked at 68000 miles and my top is also starting to tear in the rear driver side corner.

12th Feb 2004, 18:08

My jeep is in the shop right now. I currently have 95,000 miles on mine, and my exhaust manifold is cracked. My paint on my mirrors are almost gone, and I have a slight tear in my soft top (though I don't plan on replacing, just patch it). Other than that, no major malfunctions! I had to replace something on my stabilizer bar (?), but this was due to my driving.

20th Feb 2004, 10:59

How much does it cost to get a new exhaust manifold? My 1998 jeep wranglers also cracked...

10th Mar 2004, 12:27

My exhaust manifold also cracked at 59,000 miles. I found that the best place to buy one is on ebay. You'll pay between $110-$140, compared to Mo-pars $620.

1999 Jeep Wrangler Sport 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Faults:

Transmission rebuilt at 105,000 miles.

General Comments:

The Jeep I purchased is by far the best go-anywhere machine I've ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2004

1999 Jeep Wrangler SE 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired82250 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carDodge Stealth

Summary:

Nothing is like a Jeep

Faults:

After having the car for about two months, because of adding a system and not a capacitor, my alternator went.

At about 96,000 miles my U joints went, but I believe that was because of excessive off-road use.

The Driver side seat is tearing, just makes it look really bad.

General Comments:

The most unreal off-roading vehicle on the planet. I have been off-roading with vehicles such as older Land Cruisers, Exterras, a Land Rover, Toyota trucks, and nothing compares to the Wrangler. I always have to lead so I can pull everyone out.

My father had a few CJ-7s, the Wrangler has definitely come a long way on the general ride and comfort, but it is still the same old Jeep feeling.

You really have to want a Jeep to buy one, if you are interested in going fast, a Wrangler is a really bad choice. If you want something to handle around corners, don't get a Jeep. If you wan't the best off-road machine on the planet, the Wrangler is well fit for you

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2003

4th Feb 2004, 19:59

Please don't call a Jeep a car. They don't like that :)

13th Apr 2005, 18:18

You obviously have never driven a Suzuki Samurai. Leaves Jeeps for dead off road and gives just about he same on road ride. Suzuki's do however need a bit more power which is easily done. The other great thing about Suzuki's is that whatever fails, it's cheap to fix.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 31 reviews