1999 Jeep Wrangler Reviews - Page 5 of 10

1999 Jeep Wrangler Sport from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired600 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Ya gotta want a Jeep

Faults:

Airbag light came on and stayed on for 6 trips to two dealers.

Bad transmission replaced under warranty.

Paint came off the mirrors.

Exterior screws rusted.

Transmission threw reverse gear had to be rebuilt.

Some goofy bearing that's a non-serviceable part had to be replaced.

O2 sensor went.

Battery shorted out... it won't run if the battery shorts out. You can't jump start it!!

Something with the front end. Don't remember but it cost a couple hundred dollars.

Irritating squeaks have developed in breaking system.

General Comments:

It's a Jeep. It does what Jeeps are supposed to do off road. It rides better than the old Jeeps on the highway. I just wish it wouldn't do what Jeeps have always done at the dealership, cost money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2004

1999 Jeep Wrangler Sport from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles

Summary:

Can go anywhere so long as you can pay for the gas

Faults:

The only thing that I had replaced were all of the tires, because they had become pretty bad at about 42,000 miles.

The bar over the windshield for my soft-top is cracked so the clamp over the passenger side does nothing.

The back driver-side bar for the soft-top is bent therefore not allowing the rear driver side plastic window to stay shut.

Apart from those I have had considerable problems with the soft-top not staying on properly.

Tires wear very quickly, but I suppose that is to be expected when constantly driving over rocky terrain.

General Comments:

As many people already know the Jeep Wrangler lets you have the pleasure of feeling every single imperfection the road has.

The cost of gas if you drive often is real high, it costs me about $30 every tank and each tank on average lasts only 200 miles.

The Jeep Wrangler is quite fun in the mountains, it can go near anywhere you are willing to take it without even putting anything extra into it.

I also find that my Jeep is fun in the snow because it can drift very nice!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th August, 2004

17th Aug 2004, 14:00

Sounds like yours might have been rolled before you bought it.

1999 Jeep Wrangler SE 4.3L VTECH from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3L VTECH Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

Its one heck of a rush crawling a trail

Faults:

Axles went out at 70000 miles (my fault) I had installed at 4.3l vtech motor out of my previous jimmy.

Same old thing with the dash lights and gages going out. it's an easy fix once you find out what you need to do. fix is free also.

Soft top is falling apart. but it adds character.

Crystler is the worst to ever work with on warranties.

General Comments:

Handles as good as I want it to. it all depends on how you drive it.

I love being able to go anywhere and do anything I want in my jeep.

The only thing I don't like about my jeep, is that it's a 1999 and made and owned by the crystler corp.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st July, 2004

22nd Jul 2004, 16:48

I know GMC makes a VORTEC motor, but VTEC as you say can only be found in Hondas.

1999 Jeep Wrangler TJ 4.0 inline 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 inline 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Unreliable on road performer, buy only if you off road

Faults:

The Hardtop leaks terribly, and water runs from the back of the vehicle to the front floor mats. My dealership put silicone gaskets around the rear vents on the hardtop and declared it fixed. However, it is still horribly leaky and now the interior smells of mildew. I am furious, but there is not much I can do now. I sent off many an e-mail to Jeep on their website, however I doubt I'll ever get a response. Is there anyone who has fixed this problem successfully? I also had tachometer and speedometer problems falling to zero, but dealer ship did fix that and said it was under recall. Steering wheel makes annoying and embarrassing squealing noise when its cold, and believe me it gets cold here in Kansas. Transmission makes weird noise when I shift into reverse, and lurches when I shift out of reverse. Air conditioner knob broken in a weird way, the third dot setting turns the blower off and will not work. Unless you want to drive a money pit, for off-road fun do not buy a Jeep. Low gas mileage, Uncomfortable ride, expensive problems, cheaply built vehicle. Do not say I didn't warn you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th May, 2004

11th May 2004, 12:16

First off, many Jeep Wrangler's leak. Just about any removable top on ANY car leaks in the rain, no matter what car. Second, who buys a Wrangler with an automatic transmission? And third, since you do have A removable top, why would you need the A/C? Just ride with the top off. Seriously, look on here to see who has Automatic Wrangler's. I can gaurntee you will not find very many.

21st Jul 2006, 17:38

Personally off-road or driving over boulders, I strongly prefer an automatic, but whatever you want to dislike and or makes you feel more manly. Point is, it's a jeep, love it for what it is, regardless of transmission. They have also been making automatic jeeps for a long time so they must be doing something right.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 31 reviews