2003 Kia Sedona Reviews

2003 Kia Sedona LX from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

Just junk..

Faults:

Paint flaking off everywhere!

Surges when idling and sometimes when going down the road!

CE light on then off, no reason found by mechanic at the dealership.

A/C unit replace 2x in the last year.

Rusty wheels!

ARGH!

General Comments:

Junk - don't buy one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th November, 2009

31st Aug 2011, 10:41

I like my Kia, but interestingly, I have had the same problems:

Idling surges.

CE light always coming on.

Loads of rust underneath.

AC has been fixed multiple times - still not working right.

I bought it brand new, and have been the only owner.

2003 Kia Sedona LX 3.0 liter from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carKia Sedona

Summary:

Buyer should beware - it's a piece of junk

Faults:

Entire electrical system.

Complete brake system.

Front struts.

Both front wheel bearings and middle bearing.

Numerous little things - lights, etc.

Middle seats broke.

General Comments:

Of the dozen or so vehicles I've owned throughout my adult life, this is by FAR the absolute worst. I have spent over $5,000 in repairs, it goes through tires like nothing I've ever seen (tire manufacturer lists the quality Michelin's I buy as 60,000 mile tires, but this van blows through them in less than half that with very normal driving).

In retrospect, I would have been much better off purchasing a used Nissan, Honda or Toyota van for what I paid for this total piece of crap, and would have saved money in the long run.

Don't even bother thinking that the "100,000 mile warranty" is good for anything - they won't back it up.

Stay far, far away from Kia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th October, 2009

29th Oct 2009, 19:57

"Stay far, far away from Kia."

- You have learned why Kia = "Killed In Action"

2003 Kia Sedona EX from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carMazda MPV

Summary:

KIA does not back up the quality of their vehicles or their recalls, so I do not like KIA

Faults:

The car caught fire (electrical) for no reason.

Passenger seat did not work.

Driver seat quit working & then started working again.

General Comments:

The car ran well. I had a small electrical problem with the driver seat that corrected itself, or so I thought.

Runs well especially highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th August, 2009

2003 Kia Sedona from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Faults:

Buyer Beware -- We bought our Kia Sedona in 2003 after much research, impressed by the safety and warranty offered; we thought it gave us a lot of bang for our buck.

We have had to pay to replace the transmission at 70,000 miles, and we have replaced the power steering motor and the starter. But, the biggest problem occurred on Dec 29 2008. I was driving the van when it made an awful noise like I was dragging something. I got out could not see anything wrong. I drove about 2 more blocks and then it sounded like I had a flat tire. This time I noticed that the left rear wheel was about 2 inches out of the wheel well. As I pulled the vehicle over to park it, the entire wheel came off my van. It turns out that there is a recall for "some" 2003- 2005 Kia Sedona's for this problem. We had to fight with Kia to get them to agree to pay for this. They are replacing all the parts under my powertrain warrenty - as not to admit that it should have been recalled.

General Comments:

If you have a 2003 - 2005 Kia Sedona, take it to an independent mechanic, first explain why you want it looked at, then take it to Kia and demand that they fix the problem before you lose a wheel while driving down the highway with your family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th January, 2009

2003 Kia Sedona LX 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Good van for the money

Faults:

Crank position sensor (twice)

Alternator 80,000

Battery 80,000

Seat belt sensor on driver seat

Side door handle broke and came off in my hand

Original tires only lasted 38,000 miles

Ac Compressor replaced 60,000.

General Comments:

About 10K cheaper than comparable new vans.

No problem with dealer service except cost.

Bought add on warranty for full coverage to 100K. Has paid for itself at least twice.

Very good performance when new.

Average performance after 60,000 timing belt change

Interior has stood up well to heavy use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2008

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 38 reviews