2003 Kia Sedona Reviews - Page 5 of 11

2003 Kia Sedona EX from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired36 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

I would not recommend KIA to anyone

Faults:

Air Conditioner has gone out four times and had to be replaced.

Hydraulic arms on back door failed had to be replaced.

Left sliding door handle snapped off and had to be replaced.

Sun roof would not open and the motor had to be replaced.

11/05/05 The van completely died while driving on the highway. Do not know yet what is wrong!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th November, 2005

2003 Kia Sedona EX 3.5L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Great van... I would recommend to anyone!!

Faults:

I had to have the rear expansion valve replaced in the AC at about 10K miles. The dealer replaced it for free under warranty. The valve was making a loud noise when the AC was being used. It sounded like a high performance motorcycle accelerating. Since the replacement, I have not had any problems.

General Comments:

33K miles and we love our Sedona more every day. It is still a pleasure to drive. Very smooth and quiet. Our Sedona is still running strong. The exterior still shines up very well. Even though we do not garage the vehicle. The interior has held up well also. Even with heavy use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2005

2003 Kia Sedona EX from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1100 miles
Most recent distance48315 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

Garbage

Faults:

Alternator replaced twice.

Then wiring harness.

Then heater control.

They added a battery heat shield. Now the battery is shot and I had to pay.

For the new one.

Air Conditioning in twice for the same thing. Dead every summer.

This thing is a piece of crap and they could care less about how much time you lose from work to play with them. As soon as an item comes off warranty your stuck. Despite the fact it never worked right as they kept pretending to fix it. DON'T BUY A KIA!!!

General Comments:

Everything seems fine when you first buy it then wait to see what happens.

They'll keep "fixing and replacing" until the warranty starts to expire then your left with the junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th June, 2005

23rd Jun 2005, 06:50

How true! You drive home with a new Sedona and everything is great. I had my Sedona for 15 months. One day, I drove to McDonalds with 2 of my 4 kids. We were in McDonalds for almost an hour, when someone noticed smoke coming from the parking lot. It was my 21,000 mile old Sedona. It took 5 minutes for the fire department to get there. I lost everything in the van, along with the total loss of the Sedona.

Kia said that the reason for the fire was inconclusive, therefore not Kia's responsibility. I settled with insurance. My insurance said that it was a defect in the steering column.

I have photos of what is left of the Sedona at http://community.webshots.com/user/jaywolf8.

2003 Kia Sedona EX 3.5L from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72 miles
Most recent distance5100 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A great value for a safe family minivan

Faults:

The interior light switch is poorly positioned on the dashboard and is a three position switch that can easily be left in the on position. I have had to jump start my Sedona twice because of this situation.

The air conditioner seems to take a long while to cool off the vehicle, even when the rear passenger vents are opened.

General Comments:

I can fit comfortably in the drivers seat, and because I am six-foot-seven and 370 lbs, this makes the KIA a great van to drive.

The engine has plenty of pep on the highway.

I have had nothing, but problems with ABS so I was pleased that my Sedona didn't have this feature standard.

What a great price and great warranty!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2004

2003 Kia Sedona EX from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Why pay for more, for less options???

Faults:

None!!

General Comments:

10,000 miles and 14 months later and still going strong. I have to say for the price of just $21,000 I have been driving my EX and nothing has gone wrong, Nothing! I change the oil every 3,000 miles and complete the maintenance required by Kia, and that's it. I will be buying another Kia real soon, maybe the new 2004 1/2 Kia Spectra. I just don't believe in paying more for a car with less options. I know people are wary of the name, but it's only a matter of time...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2004

5th Jul 2007, 05:03

There are two flaws with Spectra (I have one):

1- The sound of the engine is louder than other vehicles.

2- It is not as smooth as other similar class cars like Lancer and Corolla.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 38 reviews