1998 Kia Sportage Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1998 Kia Sportage four cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission four cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Tracker

Summary:

A rolling pile of garbage

Faults:

Air conditioning started leaking on the passenger side cab compartment, due to a clogged drain hose. C.D. player skipped when you hit the slightest bump in the road. Front brakes started making a ticking noise, dealer could never seem to fix. Four wheel drive shifter hard to get in and out of four wheel drive. Overall, one piece of crap.

General Comments:

Worst vehicle that I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2001

1998 Kia Sportage from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles

Summary:

I need a Kia like I need a hole in my head!!!

Faults:

The car has a leak in the floor board on the front passenger side.

It has a lot of outside noise.

The back latch broke off when I tried to open it.

General Comments:

My experience with Galeana in Columbia, SC was horrific.

I will never do business with them again, nor will I purchase another Kia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th August, 2001

1998 Kia Sportage Base 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired225 miles
Most recent distance30985 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz W123

Summary:

OK

Faults:

Well there have been a number of recalls on the car, but Kia has honored all the recalls when I called in for an appointment to get it all replaced.

The tail lights, well the plastic that covers the lights, when I first bought it, it was really clear and could see the light bulb, but now you can barely see it.

This car is made to get dents it seems.

General Comments:

Great handling for an SUV of its size.

The interior is very nicely laid out except for the buttons on the stereo.

I would recommend this car to anyone!

Great car, except I hate how Kia is now putting the fake chrome on the grills of the new Kias, looks too cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2001

30th Sep 2002, 19:11

Well, I just bought a 2002 KIA sport age. The thing is easily dented, the dealership set a new battery on the fender and it put 2 dents in it. Other than the top being a real pain to take on and off it seems to run OK. I bought a standard because the automatic was a real pig. Guess I will see when it comes to warranty work on what happens..

1998 Kia Sportage 4x4 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Coupe

Summary:

Low budget/high maintenance piece of crap

Faults:

The list of problems, known, reported, and otherwise is just huge. The most concerning is the need to re-tighten the front hubs continually. The dealer informed me that this "tightening" is a routine maintenance, and must be completed every 10,000 miles or so to prevent the wheel from falling off. As I change my own oil, I had no knowledge of the need to re-tighten the wheels, and guess what, "The wheel nearly fell off!".

Damage to nearly every component in the front hub assembly and brakes, axle splines, everything. What kind of car requires the wheels to be routinely tightened to prevent them from falling off!

Four wheel drive did not work for 2 years. 2 dealers were unable to diagnose. New 4x4 hubs replaced.

Steering replaced @ 2 weeks from new.

Electric mirrors both broken.

Bug shield snap on clips lost and bug shield rubbed off paint.

The tire rack on the back now droops and needs to be lifted to catch onto the hatch latch.

The rotors required replacement at 45,000 miles despite good brake pads.

The tire wore terribly uneven despite an alignment.

The radio picks up nothing, compared to other cars, it has horrible reception.

Except for these items, the vehicle is perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2001

18th Aug 2001, 09:55

I too have a piece of crap Sportage and everyone that I get a chance to talk to says the same thing.

Always replacing the front brakes, is slow as you can get, and is no longer safe to drive.

The starter had to be changed and cat converter twice also. Transmission still doesn't shift right after bringing it back to the dealer many times.

Would never buy another KIA product every again!!!

30th Sep 2008, 08:26

We didn't get these kinds of problems with our Sportage.

Our radio works fine, except the CD changer that can't read anything.

And the fog light fell off that kinda sucked.

The brakes had a problem for a long time which gave low fuel economy but was fixed when the front brakes got replaced.

Only real problem now is the fuel economy and the paint looks like the mini SUV already experienced a car crash.

Other than that its awesome.

1998 Kia Sportage 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carGeo Storm

Summary:

A great little SUV at a great price!!!

Faults:

Radiator replaced under warranty at around 30,000 miles.

Recalls on a wiring harness of some sort, and on the automatic hubs, dealer fixed and let us have a loaner!!!

Paint coming off of bumper in places, dealer said to have it done at a local body shop (we live 150 miles from him) and have it billed to him.

A vacuum line came loose in the 4WD, dealer fixed under warranty.

Wire came loose on starter at 40000 miles, I fixed.

General Comments:

Really a great little SUV, very dependable and Incredible Kia in Bilings Montana have been great to work with. It has been very dependable for me and I am very surprised how many bad reviews I have seen here.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2001

3rd Aug 2001, 18:22

You were lucky to get a good dealer. My dealer will not give us a loaner car, with all the problems we have had, they refuse to help us in any way. Sounds like you have had a few problems. You are so lucky. I am still paying on the piece of junk. Never again.

1998 Kia Sportage 4X4 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10

Faults:

Power mirror cracked when adjusted, left turn signal relay, recall on hub seals, tachometer went out, service department was terrible because there are relatively few mechanics familiar with Kia.

General Comments:

If you are looking for an inexpensive SUV it's perfect, but if you want something that performs keep looking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd October, 1999

1998 Kia Sportage GLX SE 2.0 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

A door rubber replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Stylish - quick - second car.

Cruises well at motorway speeds.

Comfy round town.

About 25mpg - ok.

3 yr warranty - excellent.

2 extra seats fitted (Scotseats).

Wife loves it.

A very good decision.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 1998

Average review marks: 5.0 / 10, based on 25 reviews