2002 Kia Sportage Reviews - Page 5 of 11

2002 Kia Sportage LX 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

I wouldn't give this car to Satan

Faults:

Sway bar fell off at 3,000 miles.

Door handles have broken off within one month of owning.

Entire suspension had to be replaced.

Car sways badly at speeds over 40 MPH. Has been repaired 5 times and is still not better.

Front brakes came unglued and split, causing brakes to malfunction.

Transmission slips when starting from almost complete start.

General Comments:

The worst car I have ever driven. Steers like it has 400,000 miles.

It is impossible to get in touch with anyone at Kia. It took 5 months for a call back.

Every time the car was in the shop, I had to rent a car with my own money, even though everything was warranty work. Car rental came to more than 2 monthly payments in a six month period.

The car is cheaply made. Everything rattles and it is like driving in a wind tunnel while being pelted with pebbles.

Extremely slow acceleration.

Feels like it will roll over at any moment at low speed curves.

Shoddy construction. Very disappointing. Sluggish. Brakes pull hard to the right at all times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th October, 2004

4th Nov 2004, 14:22

Did you test drive this car before you purchased it? Shoddy construction is self evident even in the most peripheral inspection.

29th May 2005, 22:21

We were looking a an inexpensive rig as a second car and decided to read all the comments about this car. Looks like about 90% negative to me. Most of you comment on the brakes, suspension and the general quality of construction. Thanks for the input. Although a used one looks quite affordable, we'll steer clear.

13th Jul 2006, 00:57

I have a 2000 Sportage. Already got 76,000 on it. Suspension was like trying to stand up on a hammock, so I had it lowered and stiffened. Feels nimble and agile now. Acceleration was mediocre to poor. Adjusted clutches, improved transmission ratio. Now it burns rubber without going past 3k rpm from full stop. Door hinge and catch locks came loose around 50k miles. creating unusually loud wind noise. Tightened it, made side windows more snug, noise reduced, but still noticeable at 60 mph, and gets worse from there. For internal noise, I had full re-insulation job done, very minimal difference, but drone from low frequency vibrations were dampened very well. Air filter modified to cone-type, spark plugs replace with bosch platinum 4, got 27mpg. A/C is deplorable. Thermostat gets dirty real quick.

Gets me from point A to point B, with lots of stuff in the back. Its good for jumping off/riding up sidewalk curbs, and fits into cramped parking spaces easy. It doesn't groan much on rough terrain even at high speeds. Park it anywhere; no one will bother stealing it. Stands up to the big guys at the construction site. Believe it or not, I've seen more chevys and fords going to the shop at work than the kia. It's a gem, only if you are either blind or just know how to make one from a lump of coal.

2002 Kia Sportage 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance90086 miles

Summary:

I love my Sportage, do not like company tactics

Faults:

1. Electric Windows were not working properly immediately after purchase. Dealer in Macon replaced window motors -no problem.

2. Transmission went bad and was replaced at 69,000 miles. Dealership in Macon replaced - no problem.

3. Radiator fan disintegrated, slinging fan blades into my radiator, piercing it. Dealership in Jacksonville Fl states KIA knows there is a problem with this fan, particularly in certain yr Sportages, but are not letting the public know. Are demanding I pay for the repair.

General Comments:

I mainly wish to let other Sportage owners with vehicles from the year 2002 know they need to have the vehicle fan checked. If the fan is cracked, or stressed have it replaced or you will be my in position. I have enjoyed my Sportage, but I find it deplorable that the manufacturer knows there is a problem, but won't give the owners a chance to fix it before it does serioius damage. I would have replaced the fan had I known, and avoided the expensive repair I am facing now. (With factory parts the repair is over $500.00)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st September, 2004

5th Aug 2005, 01:51

Same thing happened to my 2002 kia sportage with the fan blade disintegrating at around 68,000 miles, warranty didn't cover it.

30th Aug 2005, 17:08

Same thing just happened to my 2002 KIA Sportage. I was lucky that the fan blades did not pierce the radiator and KIA is replacing the fan under warranty. My problem is that the fans are on national backorder and it will be at least 2 weeks or more before my car is driveable. KIA, nor the dealership, will supply a loaner or rental during this time period which leaves me trying to find a way to and from work each day, not to mention ordinary chores such as grocery shopping, doctor appointments, etc. I have filed a complaint with KIA and have requested a meeting with the General Manager of the dealership where I bought the car. Needless to say, I'm pretty ticked off.

5th Feb 2006, 04:44

My 2002 KIA sportage has, had the fan blade fly thru the radiator twice,

9th Jun 2006, 21:53

Just did the 60K timing belt change on my 2002 SPortage and noticed the fan cracking. Changed out before things got worse. Had been thinking, would have asked for it to be repaired under warranty and not on my dime. Thing fan was $70+ IIRC.

10th Jan 2007, 15:05

I own a KIA Sportage 2002 also. I have enjoyed my Sportage as well, but find the attitude towards customers deplorable. Service issues RE:being billed for warranty work, being charged if mechanic doesn't find the problem, and not being notified by the company of the fan blade issue. I leased mine and the lease is up in 6 months. I am fearful of being able to get out without problems of one kind or another.

29th Aug 2007, 13:43

Anonymous.

I have a 2002 Kia Sportage that I purchased in November of 2006. I received a "Safety Recall" card from Kia Motors America Inc earlier this year, that addresses the fan issue that you had. You should be able to get all of that replaced as this is a recall item. I have an 800 number: 1-800-333-4542. Give them a call about your problem. I hope this works out for you!!

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 28 reviews