1995 Land Rover Discovery SE from North America


A man's car. If you have a lot money to spare


Replaced all shocks by 60,000 miles.

Engine tapping sound only fixed after visited 3 dealers (and cost over $3000 totally).

Alternator died in the middle of highway.

Any routine services cost an arm and a leg.

General Comments:

Comfortable for the driver. Very rough for 5-6 other persons in the car. Excellent in winter, goes everywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd April, 2002

21st Jun 2004, 23:43

When purchasing a used vehicle you are at the mercy of the previous owner more-so than the manufacturer. How was it treated the first 59 000 miles???

1995 Land Rover Discovery V8i 3.9L V8 from North America


This is an awesome truck, that no other vehicle in its class can match


There are no real major problems with my Disco. Just minor things like the cruise control will not work most of the time. And other small things like the wiper won't work for about an hour, then it will work.

General Comments:

This car is great! There is nothing better in the world for off-road driving, and on road driving is like most Sport Utility Vehicles. It is so great to go off roading with many of my friends and have to go and drag them out of the mud because they can't make it out themselves.

I have never ever had a problem with this car. Anyone whom is considering buying a Sport Utility Vehicle, this is the one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2001

1995 Land Rover Discovery V8i petrol from North America


Very reliable day to day, but needs more hp


24000 - Warped dashboard. Cracked rubber window rubber seals at Alpine window. Both changed by dealer goodwill. Thanks LRNA.

43000 - Engine tappet, cam button. Gasket leak, replaced. Dealer fix. $$? Affordable. Thanks for a Rover club in the US.

48000 - Overheat. Changed thermostat. Dealer recommends radiator. Towed car home and changed the thermostat.

50000 - Intercooler leaking. Needs replacement. In progress.

General Comments:

Needs hp compared to other SUV's in the international market.

Still strong and kicks ass off-road. 85% stock of course.

Wife loves driving it with ARB bumpers on, 31 big tires. Badly scratched but no major body damage.

Will keep it, still worth keeping.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2001

7th Apr 2010, 16:16

Amen on the more power. But then we would just put more stuff on them and bigger tires. We would be back at square 1.

8th Apr 2010, 21:26


1995 Land Rover Discovery 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland




Water leaks into the rear of the vehicle from the channel running the length of the body. Carpets are now soaking wet. Very difficult to trace and rectify.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th December, 2000

6th Apr 2010, 20:19

Check your weather striping around the windows; I had that problem. I fixed it with gasket maker. Works like a charm.

1995 Land Rover Discovery TDi turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


A good allrounder


Nothing so far, fingers crossed. Although when we purchased the car it did have a sticking up dash, like thousands of other Land Rovers have, a fault with the glue we were told. Luckily we watch WATCHDOG everyweek and saw that Land Rover would replace faulty ones free of charge, which they sure did with no problem at all. So take note all you sticking-up dashboard owners and get it done.

General Comments:

I was a bit doubtful about it to begin with, it seemed sluggish and huge, but it grows on you, and we love it, can't imagine driving a small car ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2000

21st Jan 2001, 05:11

Take note, as of the start of 2001 Land Rover are very reluctant if not UNWILLING to replace the dashboards... You can't glue em without taking the window out and to have a new one fitted is at least £550.

D. Bramley,


2nd May 2001, 14:48

We had no trouble what so ever in getting a complete new dashboard fitted to our Landrover Discovery, and we had'nt had the car since new either, infact we'd only had it for 6 months. We got in touch with Landrover Solihull, customer services... no trouble!

1995 Land Rover Discovery 200 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


Gearbox - baulking on 1st/2nd change.

Gearbox - stuck in 2nd gear for 45 miles.

Crankshaft pulley disintegrated.

Body corrosion on doors.

Electrical - badly routed cables chafed, causing short circuits.

Ignition lock seized.

General Comments:

Not everybody's favourite, has been described as agricultural, but enormously strong and reliable for over 110,000 miles. Pulls trailers and horseboxes as if they don't exist. Steady 26-28 mpg and tons of room inside, especially headroom.

Gas shocks and polybushes plus anti-roll bars front and rear give a firmer ride and much better handling.

A vehicle with character, more like a friend than a mere means of transport.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 1999