1995 Land Rover Discovery 3.9 from North America

Summary:

Great vehicle, just get a good mechanic and service it

Faults:

I bought it with a major oil leak, that I fixed. The cost of the parts was OK, very nice vehicle for off road.

I believe probably that it's best if you compare it with other vehicles in original condition.

General Comments:

The comfort when driving offroad, and the visibility, are perfect.

The tool supplied for replacing the tire in case of a flat is terrible, it will bend before you can remove a lug nut. I strongly recommend to get an extra 1 and 1/16 socket with a big bar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2009

6th Apr 2010, 20:23

I do all my own work on cars. The Landy Disco is different but fun. Try it. Get a repair manual and do it.

1995 Land Rover Discovery 3.9 from North America

Summary:

They are a British yuppie money trap

Faults:

When I purchased the Disco, the power seats didn't work.

The instrument cluster light switch doesn't work.

The passenger door lock is broke.

It needs electrical work on the engine due to constant stalling that is gonna run over $1000.

A/c doesn't work.

And it only has 100,000 miles on it! I've driven vehicles with over 250,000 miles and were in better shape!! Junk junk junk!

General Comments:

They look really neat, which is all they have going for them. Very roomy, if I may say so myself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th July, 2008

7th Apr 2010, 16:14

That stuff for the most part minor, can be fixed easy and cheaply. Do some of the work yourself and quit griping.

I'm poor, and I have a 95 Landy Disco I bought for 1000 US dollars. Parts are hard to find, so when you can't find them, build them yourself.

1995 Land Rover Discovery 3.9 from North America

Summary:

Money pit on wheels

Faults:

Always had idle problems, and would stall.

Power steering leaks.

Air conditioning leaks.

Rust through on the body.

10 MPG no matter where or how you drive.

General Comments:

This has to be the worst car I've ever owned; terribly expensive parts, and the repairs never cease.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th August, 2007

18th Aug 2007, 15:12

Wow, sounds like you need to take better care of your landy. I have a 95 Discovery and I average 19-20 highway mpg and roughly 12-14 city mpg. There will always be something wrong with a rover, it is a love/hate relationship.

1. You need to buy after market parts (there are multiple suppliers, just takes a little time to look) that are a third of the price of genuine parts.

2. Never take you landy to the dealership for service (that's true with any car company). It just takes a true enthusiast to own a rover.

12th Dec 2007, 00:27

The rough idle will be more than likely a dirty throttle body; I had the same thing, it's easy to fix and inexpensive.

23rd Feb 2010, 14:45

Can you please explain the "Rust through on the body." Since this is an aluminum body (except for the roof) I want to know what kind of rust you are getting in. I´m planning to buy one just to avoid rust, but if it is still happening to aluminum, please let me know.

6th Apr 2010, 20:16

I have a 95 Disco and it is great. All older vehicles need TLC, some more due to driving habits. Go to NAPA; the best place to make p/s hoses.

1995 Land Rover Discovery LX 3.9 from Lebanon

Summary:

The best off-road 4X4 ever built!

Faults:

Central locking malfunctioned several times.

Some minor oil leaks from engine tubes.

Water collects above the doors of both sides and pours down when doors are opened.

Squeaking noises from brakes and suspension.

General Comments:

Great for adventures and off-road.

Reliable and heavy duty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2007

1995 Land Rover Discovery 3.9 Liter from North America

Summary:

A Breaky Money Hole

Faults:

Constant minor breaking, things like the turn signals, windshield wipers, fan switches, turn signal switch, power windows coming apart, etc... the list goes on and on.

General Comments:

To quote William Gibson: "never trust the British to build anything larger or more complicated than a hat if you want it to work properly" this truck breaks CONSTANTLY, and the service department at my local dealer is downright rude, at one point telling me straight up: "this is a 12 year old truck, don't expect us to want to service it." Excuse me? Land Rover sells these things on the image of durability, an off road heritage, etc... then turns around and tells a customer to go away because his truck is 12 years old? Never again! The new Land Rovers (LR3) rate at the very bottom of customer satisfaction surprise surprise, I have had much less expensive Toyotas that ran and looked great with well over 200,000 miles and without all the constant breaking. Shame on you Land Rover!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th March, 2007

28th Apr 2007, 09:03

Wow, you've got 160,000 miles on that 1995 and you're upset because it breaks? The pre BMW Discovery is a turd, be happy you got this far and push the "eject" button and go buy a Toyota Pathfinder or something. Dealer does'nt want your turd in their shop, they train on new stuff and having a crate of eggs stinking up their shop isn't how they do business. Your sitting next to a guy in the service lounge who paid $50,000 for an LR3 and probably crabbing at everyone with all your complaints and demands about your $3500 pile of junk.