2001 Land Rover Freelander Reviews

2001 Land Rover Freelander ES TD 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired26500 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Freelander

Summary:

Not a good plan to buy a 2001 Freelander

Faults:

Air con gone, electrics gone - windows (back doors twice), sunroof, door mechanisms (back doors).

Brakes, brakes and more brakes.

Crank shaft, fuel pump, and loads of stuff I can't remember now; there's so much.

Power assisted steering gone, VCU unit problems

General Comments:

Bought this car when it was approx 3 years old (26k miles), and loved, loved, loved it for the next 70k miles.

Since it passed 100k miles, it seems like it's never out of the garage.

Fuel economy is not good at about 28mpg. €3.5k in repairs spent in past two years, and it's back in the garage again. And I believe that this engine was one of the better ones!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2012

2001 Land Rover Freelander ES 2.5 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Grand Vitara

Summary:

Over engineered and poorly made, don't buy one

Faults:

Butterflies in the inlet manifold fell out and rattled around the intake.

Water pump blew twice; 14 hours labour each time, plus the cost of the pump.

Constant water loss; ended up replacing all the plumbing.

Right rear wheel bearing kept wearing out. Found the hub was out of round. Then all other wheel bearings went.

Drive shaft universals wore out.

This car has 4 cambelts! All needed replacing.

General Comments:

This is a good looking, comfortable SUV, and is great while it is working.

It drives well on the road, and has good off road capability.

Sluggish performance matched with poor fuel economy.

The old 1970's & 80's Land Rovers were great! What happened?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st September, 2011

25th Feb 2012, 21:38

Ford is what happened.

2001 Land Rover Freelander TD4 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance137000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Shuttle

Summary:

Totally unreliable

Faults:

Transmission needed replacement, which cost approx. one third of the original purchase price and 6 weeks off the road.

One year later needed a new drive shaft and 4 weeks off the road. Plus constant minor repairs.

The worst purchase we have ever made.

General Comments:

Comfort and roomy interior is great, but after this experience we will buy our next car for reliability alone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th October, 2009

4th Oct 2010, 17:18

The above comment could have been written by me. On the other side of the planet, but had the same problems, gears went on me, 3500 euros, 10 weeks off the road, complete rebuilt, 2 weeks after I get it back, something-shaft went, that was the bones of a 1000 euros.

The wiper engine went in very bad weather on a long journey, and something else happened with the fuel tank.

I was chatting to the guy who worked in the service dept, and he was openly laughing about how bad they were.

I went to trade it in and was laughed out of dealerships, they wouldn't touch it.

When I did sell it on, I got a call from the new owner (sold to by a dealer) asking if I knew what the F4 meant - yes, the gears were gone again 1 year after the rebuild.

The auto was a fantastic car to drive, but never ever again. Ever.

2001 Land Rover Freelander GS 1.8 petrol from Spain

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Totally unreliable like the Land Rover dealers!!!

Faults:

Head gasket went Oct 2008 1 week after we bought it. Had it fixed at a Land Rover Dealer in Spain.

May 2009, head gasket went again... Repaired after a fight under guarantee...

July 2009, head gasket went, bigger fight to get repaired under guarantee...

Sept, yes you guessed it, head gasket gone again... Called Land Rover Head Office in Madrid, they don't return my calls!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th September, 2009

2001 Land Rover Freelander SE 2.1 from Puerto Rico

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.1 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Disaster

Faults:

Sunroof replaced twice

Manifold/Thermostat replaced three times

Radiator replaced

Air-con Compressor replaced

Rear door lock replaced twice

Radio replaced

Side view mirror actuator replaced

Heater Core removed and jumpered by hose

Air-con blower motor replaced

Dashboard buttons look like they have been covered by wax.

Interior plastic rattles.

General Comments:

After 5 and a half years, My 2002 SE V6 Jatco Freelander is basically falling apart. This started to happen as soon as the rear wheels cleared the LR dealers lot on that fateful 12/31/01 sunny afternoon.

Innumerable and systematic quality issues make this modern day dinosaur an automotive flop, right of there with an Edsel, one Ford Granada and the venerable AMC vehicles when thing used to go wrong. At Land Rover they still do, and in a rather alarming way.

Poor parts quality and minimalistic design on everything other than the structure and suspension, makes this unfortunate Euro SUV and sad reminder of what a glossy brochure can do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd June, 2007

11th Aug 2010, 05:40

I was thinking about the missus and kids when I bought ours second hand with 14k on it. Paid 16k, looked well nice, salesman quickly told me about the BMW engine, auto, diesel, all singing.

We had a couple a good years out of it back and for the Vendee, but then the problems started; new gear box, 3k was the biggest choker. It's just deteriorated rapidly, still got it. Just seen one for sale on here somewhere for 5k, thought it's time to get rid, while the rad weld is still holding.

No I don't sell s**t used; buy a lot though. Will fork out for a new radiator, and probably get ripped off on fitting the f***ing thing.

Average review marks: 4.7 / 10, based on 14 reviews