2006 Land Rover Range Rover Sport HSE 2.7 turbo diesel 190 hp from Bulgaria

Summary:

Expensive to run, engine too weak and totally unreliable being prone to dangerous faults

Faults:

I bought this car from a friend who for sure has serviced it properly after he bought it new from a local dealer in 2006. He said that his engine blew off at 50,000 km and had been replaced under warranty, no other major faults afterwards. I should have taken into account this warning sign. After having the car for about 4 months, the summary so far is as follows:

- It left me stranded on the highway, fuel pump replaced after being towed to my hometown, 2 weeks in the garage, EUR 900.

- A hole in the pipe connecting the turbocharger with the engine; repair shop said the hole has been there for many months if not years; they were amazed the whole car did not burn out earlier because of being set on fire by high pressure fumes coming from the hole, 2 weeks in the garage, EUR 1,500.

- In the beginning of the third month, the engine died and all systems (including steering and brake hydraulics) completely stopped at 150 kmph while overtaking on the highway, hardly managed to stop without being hit by cars behind, 2 kids and wife with me.

The car has been in repair shop since then (now it is the end of the fourth month). They dismantled the engine and it turned out the crankshaft has broken apart, destroying the entire engine. So now it needs a new engine + some additional systems repaired, estimated cost between EUR 7-8,000+ and 3-5 more weeks in the garage.

So now my only option is to put the car up for sale immediately for a fraction of its acquisition cost.

General Comments:

This car has been a pleasure to drive (driving position is great, great interior and the air suspension is fantastic), although this engine is too small and you don't feel very comfortable when overtaking. However it was in the repair shop most of the time and proved prone to expensive and dangerous faults. Some would say it is normal for a 10-year old car, but I do not think so, considering the type of faults. Never again. I just made a down payment for a 2013 VW Passat Alltrack. Looks like a great car and I hope I will not have such issues with her.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th September, 2016

20th Sep 2016, 00:28

A used Passat?

22nd Sep 2016, 11:05

Why buy a used VW? I would have bought a new domestic crossover or larger My son owned a Range Rover and had many issues. Engine and air ride failure stick out the most. I would have bought a new Explorer or Edge SEL AWD. Other than A/C repair and routine maintenance, that's all I had from new up to 165k miles to date. The Range Rover was a great image car however and never was used off road. Popular with realtors.

2009 Land Rover Range Rover Sport 3.6L V8 twin turbo from Tanzania

Summary:

Luxury and speed

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the Range Rover Sport.

General Comments:

I have the Range Rover Sport HSE. Filled with luxury, this vehicle is very comfortable, as well as extremely fast. 0-100km/h in less than 8 seconds and a maximum speed of 230km/h. The handling is superb, and the air suspension helps around the corners.

Sunroof and heated seats make the journey more relaxing, and surprisingly my fuel consumption is 6.8km/L. A lot of cabin room available, and the black leather seats are a masterpiece.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2011

19th Mar 2014, 22:48

Heated seats in Tanzania makes trips better?

20th Mar 2014, 14:06

The temperature in the highlands of Tanzania can range from 10-20 degrees C (50-68 F). Africa isn't all desert.

2006 Land Rover Range Rover Sport HSE from North America

Summary:

Way overpriced for its quality

Faults:

Do not buy this car! Any and everything that could be replaced was replaced while the car was under warranty.

The "bellows" gave out on the highway and the car dropped to the ground in the middle of rush hour.

The driver's seat moves backward on acceleration and forward on stopping.

The electrical system has been a problem from day one.

The passenger seat blows-out the fuse every time the car is started, which makes the seat inoperable.

Acceleration is not impressive and gas mileage is poor at best.

While at the dealer, I pointed out that there were many loose nuts, bolts and screws in the engine. The mechanic actually told me that the car was probably assembled on a Friday and that they simply forgot to tighten the screws. I'm serious! I am not joking about this.

Needless to say, I have gotten rid of the car and plan to never buy another Land Rover product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th March, 2008

18th Aug 2008, 17:18

Bellows, LOL. I know what this person meant. The airbags in the suspension failed. This was a weak point on the old school Range Rover and I am surprised to read that they haven't sorted this out by now! If they do fail the motor will sink down to rest position. You can drive it but you have to go slow as the suspension will be on the end stops. Good old Range Rover, nothing changes.

15th Feb 2013, 09:31

You expected good fuel economy from a monster 4wd like this?