1993 Lexus SC Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1993 Lexus SC 400 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

This car is powerful, fast, and most importantly great looking!

Faults:

The headlights got water inside of them.

Leaking power steering fluid.

Not good at all in water or snow.

Speedometer lights go dim in certain spots.

General Comments:

This Car by far is fun and easy to handle, considering this was my first V8.

There are enough features to keep you and your boys occupied.

Girls love the sleek look of the car.

When you turn off traction control the car becomes a fun to play around drag car. (Be prepared to have no rear tires left for winter!)

With a little bit of after market products this car can easily destroy some deadly competition.

I added cold air intake, 6 inch wide dual exhaust, coil-overs that lowered it 2 inches, and as of right now the beautiful nose that my car gives off now turns heads. Very, very, very fast. Also still room for added horses, the sky is the limit with this car! (considering supercharger)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2005

12th Apr 2006, 09:03

I love the sc400; however, its handling in snow is awful. But what a great ride, it’s a classic.

1993 Lexus SC 400 4.0 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance219683 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Diamante

Summary:

A sleek, sexy street machine

Faults:

Abnormal tire wear. I had to buy new struts at 120,000 miles.

Driver's seat starting to wear at 100,000 miles.

Alternator was bad at 130,000 miles.

Brakes at 136,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is the best car I have ever had. It is very fast, I pushed this car to its limit almost every day.

It is fun to drive. I drove it to the beach three times and it did very well.

The only complaints are that my golf clubs do not fit very well on long trips. Also, Lexus dealers are very snobbish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2004

3rd Oct 2004, 07:53

How much were you struts?

1993 Lexus SC 400 4.0L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 kilometres
Most recent distance102000 kilometres
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Best buy for someone who likes driving, wants comfort and don't need a roomy vehicle

Faults:

The speedometer needle (blinking)

Dash lights.

Front stabilizer bar bushing (for squealling)

The two rear speakers.

The front head lamps units were taking water.

The antenna mast.

General Comments:

This vehicle offers a very nice blend of comfort and performances. I can feel the difference with other cars at speed exceeding 70 mph.

I would have like to have a standart transmission (was not offered in north America) even if the automatic does a very good job.

There is only one cup holder in my car!

Trunk is quite small (gas tank is in between the rear seat and the trunk)

Nakamichi sound system is excellent.

Brake are powerful, it feels very safe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2003

8th Feb 2005, 10:16

Dude, the brakes are horrible.. I have a carbon fiber hood, exhaust, the Brembo big brake kit.. and 18 inch Lowenhart l05's, and an Extreme Dimensions body kit. My baby is very fast. She is getting a cold air intake and headers next week. New pulleys and crank being shipped in with new transmission and motor mounts...

All by lextasy.com and lextreme.com.

1993 Lexus SC 400 4.0 litre 32 valve V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 litre 32 valve V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired24850 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carLexus Honda Accord

Summary:

Excellent, excellent, excellent

Faults:

Replaced steering pump at 97,000 miles.

Replaced alternator at 97,000 miles.

Replaced Nakamichi radio transformer and speakers at 85,000 miles.

Traction control light comes on sometime, no apparent reason.

Replaced dash lights at 70,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has all the quality they said it has. I runs like the fine tuned machine it is.

It is high torqued at 3,000 revolutions per minute.

Interior and body are excellent.

Very little wear on the driver's seat.

I replaced the front mask and parking lights with 2000 model parts and added the Lexus ground effect all over. The only exterior part that looks like a 1993 is the rear spoiler. Buy one and fix it up, should go another 150,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2003

24th Jun 2008, 19:32

Why would Lexus upgrade the parts? Maybe because it improves the cars (already gracefull) overall appearance. Why do you care? News-flash, the car industry is about image.. I did the same to my SC300.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 15 reviews