1993 Lexus SC Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1993 Lexus SC 400 4.0 8 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 8 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired56255 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Unbelievable used car steal. Get em before people figure it out

Faults:

Tranny oil changed to eliminate annoying "shuddering"

Replaced 4 tires 1 which was defective causing a "wobbly" tire noise. Thougt it was the bearings, but mechanic confirmed it was not. BF goodriches caused the noise. Michelin is super quiet.

General Comments:

Car IS NOT blazing off the line. Get that straight. Car IS super highway cruiser EASILY commanding the road. Cabin is relatively quiet and the seats are comfortable for big dudes like me (6'2 220 lbs). Rear seats are for the smallest kids, but I have been able to squeeze two adults in a bind. Nice tight steering and not "floaty" at all. Still looks great and still drives great. What a steal for the money. It was this or a used Hyundai. LOL.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2006

12th Jan 2008, 22:20

16 month update. Since my original post I have amassed an additional 23k miles. Things that have gone wrong. Door handle didn't work do to plastic clip failing. Bought the part at Toyo dealer for $1.75 USD. 15 minutes to remove door panel, replace clip put panel back on. That's it. Oil changes wiper blades aside, car has needed nothing. Knock on wood. Still runs like a top. Absolutely love this car.

7th Jun 2009, 13:51

Not blazing off the line? It goes 0-60 just as fast as a GTP. There is only one sports luxury car in the early 90s that was quicker and that was the AWD Stealth/3000GT TT. The Subaru SVX, 300zx and the like couldn't keep up and it burns all the other rice with no problem. Maybe you have a brand new WRX STi that does 4.7 and that's why you don't think it's fast :p.

1993 Lexus SC 400 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired217200 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

DIVINE

Faults:

Passenger seat motor, A/C leaking, leak from water pump, needs rear AMP & need to find one not too expensive. Needles half dim and I can't tell if the Trac is working! But everything else is working great.

General Comments:

On the first snowy day, it was sliding towards the car in front of me even when at a stop sign! Scary!

Love the power & the power button, love the look, the handling, and the looks from others... really nice car for a 93 and with that kind of miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2006

1st Mar 2006, 22:40

The problems your having are typical of this car. It is still an amazing car. I own a 1992 and a 1999 and just love them.

2nd Mar 2006, 09:10

I think this is the best car Lexus ever made and it is a shame that they didn't keep building them in that vein - unique designs.

Did you know that the creation of the front headlight design was revolutionary at the time and was not even possible a few years earlier? Seems there was no existing machine/CAD system that could duplicate what the designers had envisioned, so Toyota created its own system. It was a brand new experiment that obviously had great results!

21st Jul 2006, 21:36

So much better looking than that ugly SC convertible they build now.

3rd Dec 2006, 20:25

Bought a '93 sc400 used with ridiculously low mileage (19k+)!

Primary issue is that the sound system is failing and I can't seem to find any aftermarket information. anyone out there have any thoughts?

11th Apr 2011, 23:39

I've had 2 LS400s and both had stereo issues. I just replaced the speakers and everything was fine. It was never the unit itself.

In 175k miles all I've had to do is: the power steering pump, alternator, timing belt and water pump, brake pads, rotors, plugs. Pretty straight forward items. Oh... add a fuel pump and front swing-arm/balljoint pieces (on both sides top and bottom) to the list.

Still, for 175k miles and just these normal maintenance items, this is such an understated piece of rolling perfection. It drives today as well as it did with 50k miles. Which was, and still is, like new. As long as the tires are rolling smoothly it honestly feels and drives like almost new.

To think these are available in the used car market for the low prices that they sell for is simply amazing. We should all quit gushing about these cars, the prices might start going up.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 15 reviews