12th Jun 2009, 22:38

I purchased a 92 Lincoln Continental Executive four months ago with 150K miles on it from a mechanic. I had researched this car before buying and knew there would be some repair / maintenance costs associated with it upfront. The vehicle had an aftermarket suspension system installed just before I purchased it and the head gaskets had been replaced recently as well. So far I have replaced the throttle position sensor (minor), repaired the A/C system (major), and had the transmission rebuilt. I too have the check DCL light issue and erratic oil pressure reading and annoying beeping. I found the module that produces the beeping noise under the dash and put several layers of duct tape on it which helped mute it. I just drove from Virginia to Missouri and had very little problems. If anyone finds a fix for the check DCL light, please share.

17th Sep 2009, 10:32

I purchased a 1990 Lincoln Continental, with 51,000 original miles and in excellent condition, for $1300 from a relative who was the first owner ordered new. I now have 63,000 miles and the left rear air shock leaks air, will lift but goes back down when driving.

Also my power steering fluid is leaking daily, but I can't find the leak? And no visible signs of leaking on the ground where I park everyday. What could be the cause of losing fluid? Where can I find good replacement parts online for my car in general?

I love the car, great ride, it looks good and I get offers all the time to buy it from others. Even an 10 year old commented to me that I had a nice car!!! The reviews here seem to be less the great, but I'm keep the Lincoln; any advice would be appreciated.

Gary.

17th Sep 2009, 15:57

Maybe the power steering leaks somewhere on the high pressure side, so it won't drip when it's parked.

I would use Lucas Oil Power Steering Fix to replace lost fluid.

Online parts: RockAuto.com.

22nd Sep 2009, 13:28

Just left Belle Tire this morning getting my tie rods replaced ($148.39). While there I was told my power steering rack and pinion is bad and needs replacing ($620) and to fix my air ride using a Monroe Strut conversion kit total ($945). I only paid ($1300) for the car!!! Just seems like a lot at 63,000 miles, going to get a second opinion soon. Thanks for the RockAuto info!!!

23rd Sep 2009, 08:03

You have to remember that despite your car only having 63,000 miles, it is 20 years old almost. With rubber parts, like seals, it's time that kills them, even on a low mileage car. Still get your second opinion though, you never know until you ask, right?

18th Jun 2010, 20:50

OK, here it goes. I have a 1997 Lincoln Continental. It has been a great car for the time being; I love it. It has got me through some situations that have killed other cars.

My problem is after so many years that we have had this car, the throttle position sensor has gone bad on it, and it is becoming a pain to find one that fits it. The one I have, has the product number of F50F-9F953-AC. The one that everyone wants to sell to me, is F4SZ-9B989-AA, which doesn't fit my car. An Auto Zone rep told me that there were 2 different type of sensors made for this car; one for traction control and one for without traction control. Can someone please help me here? I do not wish to give this car up, so I really need to find this TP sensor as soon as possible, or one that is an exact match.

9th Jul 2010, 21:24

I got my dad's 1991 Continental after he died 9/09. He loved the car. Yes the paint is coming off, the A/C doesn't blow cold, the airbag light blinks, the instrument panel is more temperamental than my 4 year old daughter. But in spite of all those things, I love to drive the big hunk of steel with my kids in it. I feel safe with them in it, and they love it too.

The leather is in good shape, and for a 19 year old car with 110,000 miles, it is a good second car. The only major thing is the trans is slipping going to 2nd. Not sure if this is a wide problem with these cars or just mine.

16th Sep 2011, 21:56

I paid 500 for mine, with a suspension leak. Blew my dash lights putting in a CD player. Help.

17th Sep 2011, 23:20

Wrecking yards are in business for a reason. In this case, use the nearest bigger city wrecking yard that only deals with Ford products. They will get you the right part, with a 90 day guarantee, and have it delivered to your door within a day or two. This is just not a serious issue. A good wrecking yard will fix your problem in no time.

26th Oct 2011, 15:39

I was going to write Ford a letter about the 1990 Lincoln Continental; I have gotten good responses with letter writing.

After reading the 4 pages of complaints about this car and the treatment people receive from dealers, I think it would be futile. It is indeed a money sucking car.

It belongs to my mother, she has an attachment to it because my father bought it for her before he passed away.

This car has had all the problems mentioned on these 4 pages. I fixed something 3 weeks ago, and now the front end is down and will not inflate; it's impossible to drive.

Ford has been making cars for more than 100 years; it's so discouraging to throw away a good looking car, that when it runs, life is good.

Has any one on this site had any resolution with Ford? Have you entered a class action lawsuit? Has Ford taken any responsibility for this poor design. I realize it is an old car, but when so many of them are still being driven, or attempted to be driven. I am at the point of decision making, selling is impossible with the huge $$$ repairs; junk yard, donation?

20th Dec 2011, 19:55

We have been fortunate to have a good mechanic. The check DCL message has been a recent issue on our 1990 Lincoln Continental. We will see if what he did today works. He removed all the connections and cleaned them, hoping it is a contact situation. The message is gone, and I hope not to return.

We have had issues with the battery drain. After the battery replacement, the check DCL message started. Again, hoping he fixed it.

Oddly, it has had some power steering fluid leaks, but like someone said in a post a few years ago, no visible leaks.

Nice ride and nice car. We have had it for some time. I have not complained about the car to Ford, but if you do, post it. I have not heard about a class action suit, but there could be one. Post it if you find one concerning that also. I understand your Mom's attachment.

21st Dec 2011, 13:26

You're going to write Ford a letter complaining about faults on a 21-year old car?

Let us know how that turns out.

3rd Jan 2012, 18:25

It makes sense that any class action case would have been settled by now. True, Ford would ignore any letter.

11th Feb 2012, 12:48

Well to the naysayers with snarky insinuations about class action lawsuits.

I have to tell you that they exist. I entered into one years after a car was produced, and got compensation. I may have been lucky, or in the nick of time.

If I manage to find info about the Lincoln, I will post it. Until then I'll mutter insults at the car that refuses to get itself off the ground, and try to feel optimistic.

12th Feb 2012, 23:05

The 1988-1994 Continentals are OK to own if you're a mechanic... I own and enjoy old Continentals, but I would avoid these ones.

14th Mar 2012, 23:27

Well after the leaks, the mechanic finally found a new power steering pump for the car. Very good price, and very nice not to have to worry about the leak anymore.

3rd Sep 2012, 15:57

Just wondering if you ever found this part (f50f-9f953-ac) TPS? I have just ran into the same problem, and am having trouble finding it anywhere.

8th Nov 2014, 21:45

I'm having the same problem finding this part #F50F-9F953-AC. If anyone can help, please email me at ericlogan5@hotmail.com.