2000 Lincoln LS Reviews - Page 15 of 22

2000 Lincoln LS 8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 8 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance104 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

The car is a money pit fit for Wal-Mart Execs

Faults:

I have had to replace every coil pack and have the transmission worked on. I purchased the maintenance agreement and an extended version. What a RIP-OFF. That is how car dealerships work with soldiers in Clarksville, Tennessee.

General Comments:

The car rides nice and is a clean looking car. It is however an unreliable piece of junk. That is what 85 dollars an hour and unions get us.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th January, 2007

2000 Lincoln LS V8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carLincoln LS

Summary:

The Lincoln LS spends more time in the shop than on the road

Faults:

Like most of you, I love the look of the LS and felt I was purchasing a top of the line car.

Oh! What a mistake!

I am on my third set of head gaskets.

Seat heaters have been repaired twice, and they are on the blink again.

All window regulators have been replaced.

The A/C now needs replacing and I am in need of yet another head gasket repair.

Did you mention, let's take action?

I am all for it.

General Comments:

This car is sick and has been from day one.

What a money pit!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st January, 2007

2000 Lincoln LS V8 3.9 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V8 3.9 Manual
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

I would never purchase anything made by Ford again

Faults:

Front head lights fogged.

Transmission gives out occasionally, causing the car to turn off on its own.

Front passenger window won't go down or up, rear passenger window has the same problem.

Front passenger seat rear cover falls off.

The handling just got very bad. It seems that the wheel is way too loose, takes too long for reverse gear to kick in.

More problems, just can't think of more right now.

General Comments:

This WAS the car of my dreams, but turned out to be just a disappointment.

3 days after purchase, the check engine light came on. Had to return to the dealer for a repair.

3 months later the check engine lit up and the car turned off on its own. No mechanic has found the problem till this day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st January, 2007

2000 Lincoln LS 3.8L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance86600 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

Insurance and Extended warranties do not seem to work anymore

Faults:

We had a big rain last week and when it was done the trunk filled up with water shorting out the entire electrical system (Ford put the battery and distribution panel in the trunk!!). Over $6K in damage, I have extended warranty, but does not cover it, insurance might not cover it due to water. The car is a total loss they say, but had little performance problems beforehand. Replaced window mechanism three times, ball joints once, fogged headlights always there. Appears a crack developed in the rear seam of the car between tail lights that let water in. Power surge likely destroyed modules via water soaked cables. Looking for a lawyer.

General Comments:

Hidden problem is the Achilles heal in this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st November, 2006

2000 Lincoln LS V8 Sport 3.9 Liter from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.9 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Beautiful car and quite capable yet extreme lack of reliability

Faults:

Condensation in Head lights.

Air Bag Light On.

All ignition coils Replaced.

Valve Cover Gaskets Replaced.

All Wheel Bearings Replaced.

Front interior door handles replaced.

Drivers window regulator replaced.

Problems in Rear Diff Not fixed yet.

Problems running rich on one fule rail probably need new injectors not fixed yet.

Difficulty starting sometimes I think due to fuel rail problems.

General Comments:

I absolutely love the Ls, but due to reliability I am no longer going to drive this car. I purchased a 00 v8 sport with 48000 miles in 4/05 it seemed to be in great shape. At 60000 had first coil problem in which I had one coil replaced for 300.00. Within 500 miles I ran into the same problem. Reading online this was a common issue due too bad valve cover gaskets. Dealership would replace gaskets and one bad coil for close to 1000.00. With a price like this I decided to order parts for cost online and replace all coils and gaskets myself. I have no longer had coil problems. Cost for gasket set around 30 each side, and coils were 50.00 each.

Shortly after I ran into problems with airbag light and within the last 10000 miles I have run into issues with rear diff and injectors. I couldn't imagine that I had a problem in my rear diff this caused me to change all wheel bearings in seach or noise and vibration. This I also did my self. I am not able to fix the rear diff or injectors and with a cost like the dealership and poor customer service I have to sell.

Count me in on a lawsuit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2006

31st Oct 2006, 02:42

Why do you just go around suing everybody? You brought a USED car with 48,000 miles. Anything could have happened in that time and any car could suffer problems. It is a wear and tear item and as with anything mechanical/electrical - it could break!

4th Nov 2006, 22:49

I have owned Fords since 1961 and loved them all, especially the 1995 Ford Thunderbird. They were all bought used with approximately 20,000 miles. Two years ago I bought a beautiful 2002 Lincoln V8 LS with 21,000 miles. It was fast and a delight to drive. The problems began immediately, with windows not closing, cds getting stuck, a back door that is permanently closed unless I pay $600 to fix it, plastic window buttons that fell off, and fuel injectors that had to be replaced at about 35,000 miles and took Ford two weeks to fix it. The transmission might as well be a stick shift, since it falls back when stopped on a hill. When I asked Ford about it the mechanic said, "Thank goodness you don't have the Navigator". This is the only Ford that I've had that really stands for: Fix or repair daily.

25th Mar 2009, 22:19

I had just bought my LS, and I find no problems with it, but a little noise when you start it up, but that goes away after driving for a little bit. My car has 143000 miles on it. The dealership I bought it from gave me a 1 year warranty. If the tranny or engine goes out, I get a free one. This also covers ball joints. Knock on wood this doesn't happen!!!

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 83 reviews