2000 Lincoln LS from North America


Love the car - hate the repair bills!


I have had basically the same stuff go wrong with my car that others have had, but now I am dealing with the replacement or repair of the ball joints. Has anyone just replaced the ball joints only? I found a mechanic that only replaces the ball joints and has been successful with it. Let me know if anyone has just replaced the ball joints and if you are satisfied. thanks.

General Comments:

Love the styling of the car and the handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th April, 2009

11th Apr 2009, 15:21

I just did my lower ball joints, bought from Ebay. They work fine and are pretty cheap at 120 a pair. Just make sure he lubes the rubber boot on install so they don't snag and rip.

2000 Lincoln LS V8 from North America


Ugh.. stressful


At 18 my dream car was the Lincoln LS. So like an idiot I went out and bought one. I have had the car for 4 years now and have had the following problems:

- 2 window regulators changed

- Overheating

- Spark plugs galore

- Head gasket that leaked into my spark plugs

- Air bag light stays on

- Ball joints changed

- O2 sensors changed

- Brake light bulbs going out regularly

- Steering wheel controls not working.

I still love my car to death and am at the point where it would be pointless to get a new one. I will have it paid off in the next 6 months and once that is done, I will make a decision.

The Lincoln LS is a beautiful car, but if I had been told all the problems beforehand, I would have not bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th December, 2008

2000 Lincoln LS 3.8 from North America


Too little quality for too much dollars cost and parts


Door handle had to be repaired.

Window regulator on the drivers side pulley broken. Rhis is a 2 inch plastic pulley, ($2?) have to replace whole regulator w/motor to fix. Canadian dealer cost $245.00 plus taxes (13%). Stupid. However NAPA Mississaga has new replacement for $135.00 CD plus taxes. This is not one of "Fords better ideas".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th December, 2008

2000 Lincoln LS V8 from North America


I hate this vehicle and do not recommend it


Stabilizer bar broke.

Heat and AC not blowing air.

Clock spring problem.

Front driver side window broke.

Passenger headlight shorted out probably due to condensation... Never resolved problem.

Rear tail light failed.

Engine timing got off and bent pistons ruining my engine.

General Comments:

I wanted to write a review to express my displeasure with this vehicle. I only had it for about 6 months. It was a horrible six months. I had so many things go wrong in that time it made me mad. I fixed most all of them at a Ford dealership, except when they told me that the engine timing got off and destroyed the engine @180,000 miles. While it was fun when this car worked, it didn't really ever work without problems for very long. I hate this car's reliability. I do not recommend this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th October, 2008

29th Oct 2008, 06:39


The car had 160,000 miles on it when you got it, and had over 180,000 miles on it when it gave up the ghost.

I think what would be more pertinent information is how it performed in its first 100,000 (or even 150,000 miles) - that would speak more about its reliability.

2000 Lincoln LS 3.1 from North America


Why American luxury is not all there, yet?


1. Window regulators - PLURAL / Door handle

2. AC compressor

3. Transmission solenoid

4. Condensation on all front head lamps

5. Flooded spark plugs with engine oil

6. Overheated engine (t-valve connector plastic component) cracked

7. Locked engine & transmission

8. Electrical problem (radio only works through steering wheel buttons)

9. Front struts are busted

General Comments:

This car has a beautiful shell. If the Japanese would remake this car I'd buy it. I owned a HONDA CIVIC & that car lasted with less maintenance required.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd September, 2008

2000 Lincoln LS 3.9 V8 from North America


I think it's an overall great car for the price I got it for


Not much wrong with the car.

I have a brake issue with a bad squealing, but I don't really mind it; I guess it's not too big of a deal, and once I have the money I'll just have it fixed.

Other than that, I haven't had any real problems with it.

Just recently an oxygen sensor go bad. And about 10k miles ago I had to replace my lower ball joints, but they were covered under my warranty, so I don't exactly know what it cost.

General Comments:

I like the car a lot. I think it's a pretty reliable car despite what I've read on the site.

It's my daily driver and I don't really seem to have many problems with it.

In my opinion it's a very comfortable car to sit in, but maybe I only say that cause other than this I only have race cars (1984 Trans Am, 2006 Hyundai Tiburon gutted supercharged with 200 shot of nitrous).

But I enjoy my Lincoln, and it has awesome trunk space for a stereo. The only real downfall in my opinion is that it is horrible on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2008