1993 Lincoln Mark VIII 4.6 V8 from North America


Semi-hand made lincoln, and it behaved like it


As a car enthusiast, I can tell you I was excited to buy it. The Cobra engine was the main reason I wanted it. But, it was a very disappointing experience. The question should be what went right with the car.

Transmission control unit was the first failure.

Next came all the air suspension issues.

Once the air bags were replaced, the air compressor went, and once that was replaced, the air condenser failed, etc.. I finally converted the car over to standard springs (just before I sold it it).

Other issues included electronic gremlins, which affected every aspect of the car.

General Comments:

This Mark VIII was SO UNRELIABLE that I actually talked myself into buying what appeared to be a pristine twin to it at a local dealer, thinking that at the very least, I could use the first one as a parts car for the newer one. How could I end up with two bad Mark VIII's? Turns out the newer Lincoln ended up being just as bad as the first.

Very disappointing experience. I've driven a 25 year old Lancia that was more reliable. The only positive part of the car was its engine, which I wish I could have transplanted into a more enjoyable vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th January, 2011

3rd Dec 2011, 02:43

Owned one too, and it was terrible. Lincoln should have been put out of business for making the Mark VIII.

7th Dec 2011, 00:34

Well I own one too, and it has been extremely reliable in the over 10 years I've owned it. I completely disagree with the reviewer and the comment above.

The Mark VIII is an excellent luxury sport coupe, and I wish Lincoln would make a new Mark series coupe, instead of the crap they're turning out these days.

6th Jan 2012, 08:36

I own a 93 Mark too, I have only had three problems with the car since I have owned it; the alternator blew because of deteriorated battery cables, a clicking noise from the front sway bar joints, and the airbags, which I replaced with Thunderbird parts.

Overall, it has been the most reliable car I have owned, it has never left me stranded once. All of these parts broke around the same time at 225,000 km.

You should do some research on markviii.org to find out the common problems with the car before you buy it, to check them out on the car ahead of time.

7th Jan 2012, 00:11

Lincoln should have gone out of business for this car, when according to Carsurvey 85% of owners would happily buy another one?

Dreams are free, stick with your Honda.

1st Feb 2012, 23:57

Hi all, I wrote the original review, and it was hard to believe I was unlucky enough to get two lemons. I have experience with many exotic cars, some worth 10x what the Mark VIII cost new, and I got to say the Mark VIII was not worth the effort. Way too high maintenance, for what it offered. And that's probably the real sad reason why Lincoln discontinued it in '98, and still hasn't introduced a replacement. As a car guy, I got to say, if I had to choose between a Honda and a Mark VIII, I'd take the Honda, and I think that's says it all.

17th Oct 2012, 21:01

It does say it all: that you're sick of making mechanics rich.

1993 Lincoln Mark VIII 4.6L V8 from North America


Good car but expensive to own


Accelerator cable snapped 2 days after purchase, the part was expensive- $198.

Back end started sagging, Rear air bags are now gone, the front followed, pump is gone, in the process of converting to normal suspension- $600-$800.

Speakers sometimes produce a lot of static.

Not all dash lights work at all times, they go on and off.

Paint on trunk is peeling.

Doors always freeze shut, takes awhile to unfreeze the lock.

Transmission slips a little from 1st to 2nd.

General Comments:

It always starts right up.

The car flies, 280 HP.

Handles well.

Interior is very comfortable and has easy access to all controls.

It is expensive to fix and difficult to work on.

Gas is very expensive, about $60 to fill it with premium, about 200-300 miles to a full tank.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2008