1984 Lincoln Town Car Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1984 Lincoln Town Car 302 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1984
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 302 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance354000 kilometres

Summary:

An old and good friend. A dandy automobile

Faults:

Manifold gaskets failed at 12,000 and again at 21,000.

Main computer module failed in first year and again in 10th year.

Raw fuel smell bothersome since 300,000.

Driver's door window chatter started 1994.

Many component replacements have been completed after normal wear.

Transmission and differential are original as are all body parts and most of the bulbs.

General Comments:

This is an exceptionally fine automobile and continues to serve me well. It provided me with classy wheels while I was still working and continues to serve me (and my faithful dog, Jake) with dependability and all the power and speed I could possibly need.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2002

20th Oct 2003, 13:56

I have a 1987 town car with 320,000 on it. I also have a problem with a fuel smell in the cabin.

10th Nov 2004, 17:50

I still have my 85 Lincoln Town Car Signature Series, I rebuilt the front suspension, (replaced ball joints and control arm bushings. I took it to our local Ford dealer to have the alignment done, These Ford service people really know these Lincolns. It has always been fixed right the first time. My Lincoln with 135000 miles drives like a new car again. I used a loaner that the service people had, Was a nice new vehicle with impressive options, But I sure was glad to get my good Town Car back.

I see the notes that some have left about the raw fuel smell, I used to own an 83 Mark 6, (same thing almost as the Town car). I found that the filler tube for the gas tank had rusted just enough to cause the raw fuel smell. I replaced it and that took care of the fuel smell. I have heard of this happening on high mileage Lincolns. I still will not part with my Lincoln. I know of people that has gone through 2 or 3 cars, but my faithful Town Car runs fine every time.

2nd Jun 2006, 23:28

The newer cars just can't match the beautiful and unique styling of the old "square box" Lincoln Town Cars. They were one of a kind and would run forever if you took care of them. I wouldn't be surprised if some archaeologist 20,000 years from now doesn't dig one up, dust it off, put gas in it and drive himself home in it.

1984 Lincoln Town Car Signature Series 5.0 Liter/302 CID V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 Liter/302 CID V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired81708 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Big and pretty and reliable

Faults:

The car sat for a year in a garage, being run once a month to keep it limber, so I did a lot of general maintenance to it as listed below:

Put in new transmission fluid and filter.

Changed the oil and filter at 82000 miles.

Bought four new headlights to replace the old halogen bulbs.

Put in new fuel filter.

Put in new air filter, PCV valve, and PCV breather filter.

Installed new valve cover gaskets.

Installed new thermostat.

Installed new alternator and voltage regulator.

Tune-up including spark plugs, wires, and distributor cap.

A few new bulbs -- cornering lights and turn signal bulbs were needed.

General Comments:

A very solidly-designed, beautifully-styled car. The engine is not exactly peppy, but it's not underpowered for the weight of the car. The lines are very sharp and pleasing to the eye.

The car is reliable. It hasn't left me sitting yet, knock on wood!

I can't say much more, the car is comfortable, rides nicely, quiet as a mouse inside, and it runs strong and doesn't cause problems! What more could you ask for in a car?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2002

10th Apr 2012, 11:36

I am the original poster of this vehicle. I sold it in fall of 2004 when I went to student teach, and had to buy a car that was better on gas. I bought a 1989 Buick Century and kept the Lincoln for a while, but it was sitting more. I told the new owner that, since it had about 140k miles on it, it would soon need new timing chain and gears, because the nylon was known to break off of the timing gears and clog the oil pump.

I ran into the buyer the following year, and asked her how the car was doing. She had neglected to replace the timing chain and gears as advised, and the nylon had clogged the oil pump and destroyed the car. She sold it for junk. :(

15th Apr 2012, 20:59

You can choose to ignore problems, but they will not disappear...

17th Sep 2012, 17:36

That's sad, but the truth is that most people don't bother with maintaining their vehicles, despite their complexity; people tend see cars like toasters and refrigerators.

1984 Lincoln Town Car 5.0 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102280 miles
Most recent distance106650 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

A big powerful machine

Faults:

Shocks.

Alternator.

Air conditioner.

General Comments:

This car is a land yacht and I love it.

It is very powerful and strong.

The controls are easy to get to and the seats are very comfortable.

Looks very attractive from the inside and outside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2001

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 9 reviews