1993 Lincoln Town Car 4.5 liter from North America

Summary:

What a Detroit product should be!

Faults:

Faulty electronic warning signals, and the air ride suspension system is unreliable, and very expensive to repair.

General Comments:

Ordered this car from the factory and drove it regularly for six years, and then garaged it after I bought a Mark VIII (big mistake to discontinue the line).

This was my second TC. I have a Benz, and when I switch to the TC, I have to be careful to throttle back on the accelerator, because it's so quick.

Mostly just oil changes and regular maintenance, except for the Air Ride Suspension System. Still turns heads on the street. Best value I've ever had in a car, with the possible exception of my first TC. The new MKX or whatever it's called simply cannot take its place. Too chunky, antithesis of elegant. Bring back the MarkIII and the traditional TC, and you'll have my business again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th February, 2011

12th Feb 2011, 21:19

The MKS sedan is the Town Car's "replacement"... Sure, it has more power, but it's not my idea of a "flagship" sedan.

15th Feb 2011, 13:26

Is this 'MKS' a front driver? I looked at the Lincoln web site and I couldn't find any information on that, but there were lots of pictures - what a horrible looking car. A fifty-thousand dollar Taurus.

1993 Lincoln Town Car Signature 4.6 SOHC from North America

Summary:

One of the best so far that I've owned

Faults:

Power antennae won't go down (got a new mast from eBay).

Radio cassette was jammed (got a new OEM factory CD from eBay... perfect, as it wasn't an option, just cassette).

Digital clock (sent it out for repair to autoclockrepair.com).

Transmission shudders like you're driving on shoulder rub strips sometimes (will change fluid & filter, and see).

Think shocks & fuel filter & plugs are original; will change.

General Comments:

The car is excellent, with very low mileage from the original owner who passed away. Just needs going over to "freshen" up wear items (fluids, filters, etc).

Been garage kept, perfect black carriage top, perfect black leather interior, perfect white paint exterior... like buying a brand new '93 Town Car. I paid $4800, and am truly satisfied, even with the minor repairs needed!

eBay is a great place to buy parts for these older cars... just do your research on items. I bought this car on eBay along with a '75 Mark IV, a 87' Cadillac Allante convertible... all been perfect deals, even with the minor repairs... After all, they are older used cars!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2011

1993 Lincoln Town Car Jack Nicklaus Edition 4.6L V8 EFI from North America

Summary:

Reliable, inexpensive luxury car

Faults:

The rings were pretty much gone, so dried oil-crud from the vacuum system would clog up valves and switches, making the car shut down with some regularity.

The left rear brake ABS pump didn't work.

The headliner had to be propped up with pins in some corners.

General Comments:

Excellent, cheap luxury car. Driving this cruiser down the highway is a truly awesome pneumatically-suspended experience.

The car caused no trouble, and came equipped with every conceivable option, including factory alarm, digital dashboard, and white leather seats (!!!).

Spent less gas than expected, and gave me no major trouble. Always started, and ran quietly and truthfully.

I wish they still made these!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2010

9th Dec 2010, 23:44

Your car ran "truthfully"?

What does this mean?

14th Dec 2010, 21:27

To the previous poster:

Jack Nicklaus is a famous golfer.

16th Jul 2011, 17:29

My first car was a 93' white Jack Nicklaus Signature Series Lincoln town car with white leather seats, green trim and green floors. It was the best car I ever owned; never a problem. Fully loaded V8 overhead cam with color tinted windows. Great in town and highway. Quiet and truthful. Wish I still had it. Great driving car, and passengers float in the backseat.

18th Jul 2011, 11:59

Those are great cars that Ford made... they were good even in the lean times that Ford had.

Other good cars that Ford made that are under $4000.00 are the Ford Crown Victoria 01-03... Lincoln Continental 01-02... Mercury Grand Marquis 01-03. Also, don't pay over 4000.00 for them unless they are exceptionally clean with maintenance records and low mileage... just move on... they made a lot of them.

Also pay the $40-80 fee to have a mechanic inspect it and get it on a lift for any frame or body damage... they say that 1 out of 5 used cars has been in some type of accident... and you might hide bondo from the outside of the car... but not underneath it.

Also for other great used cars that you can have for a fraction of what they cost new... review this year's 2011 Consumers Report Annual Auto Guide that came out in April... only the top reliable cars make it on their list.

Regardless of what car you buy... do your homework... listen for noises... get it out on the freeway... put the pedal to the metal... check the trunk and carpet for any smells... check every switch light and blinker on it... check the electrical antenna... if more than one thing doesn't work... don't buy it...