1993 Lincoln Town Car 4.5 liter from North America

Summary:

What a Detroit product should be!

Faults:

Faulty electronic warning signals, and the air ride suspension system is unreliable, and very expensive to repair.

General Comments:

Ordered this car from the factory and drove it regularly for six years, and then garaged it after I bought a Mark VIII (big mistake to discontinue the line).

This was my second TC. I have a Benz, and when I switch to the TC, I have to be careful to throttle back on the accelerator, because it's so quick.

Mostly just oil changes and regular maintenance, except for the Air Ride Suspension System. Still turns heads on the street. Best value I've ever had in a car, with the possible exception of my first TC. The new MKX or whatever it's called simply cannot take its place. Too chunky, antithesis of elegant. Bring back the MarkIII and the traditional TC, and you'll have my business again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th February, 2011

12th Feb 2011, 21:19

The MKS sedan is the Town Car's "replacement"... Sure, it has more power, but it's not my idea of a "flagship" sedan.

15th Feb 2011, 13:26

Is this 'MKS' a front driver? I looked at the Lincoln web site and I couldn't find any information on that, but there were lots of pictures - what a horrible looking car. A fifty-thousand dollar Taurus.

1993 Lincoln Town Car Signature 4.6 SOHC from North America

Summary:

One of the best so far that I've owned

Faults:

Power antennae won't go down (got a new mast from eBay).

Radio cassette was jammed (got a new OEM factory CD from eBay... perfect, as it wasn't an option, just cassette).

Digital clock (sent it out for repair to autoclockrepair.com).

Transmission shudders like you're driving on shoulder rub strips sometimes (will change fluid & filter, and see).

Think shocks & fuel filter & plugs are original; will change.

General Comments:

The car is excellent, with very low mileage from the original owner who passed away. Just needs going over to "freshen" up wear items (fluids, filters, etc).

Been garage kept, perfect black carriage top, perfect black leather interior, perfect white paint exterior... like buying a brand new '93 Town Car. I paid $4800, and am truly satisfied, even with the minor repairs needed!

eBay is a great place to buy parts for these older cars... just do your research on items. I bought this car on eBay along with a '75 Mark IV, a 87' Cadillac Allante convertible... all been perfect deals, even with the minor repairs... After all, they are older used cars!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2011

1993 Lincoln Town Car Jack Nicklaus Edition 4.6L V8 EFI from North America

Summary:

Reliable, inexpensive luxury car

Faults:

The rings were pretty much gone, so dried oil-crud from the vacuum system would clog up valves and switches, making the car shut down with some regularity.

The left rear brake ABS pump didn't work.

The headliner had to be propped up with pins in some corners.

General Comments:

Excellent, cheap luxury car. Driving this cruiser down the highway is a truly awesome pneumatically-suspended experience.

The car caused no trouble, and came equipped with every conceivable option, including factory alarm, digital dashboard, and white leather seats (!!!).

Spent less gas than expected, and gave me no major trouble. Always started, and ran quietly and truthfully.

I wish they still made these!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2010

9th Dec 2010, 23:44

Your car ran "truthfully"?

What does this mean?

14th Dec 2010, 21:27

To the previous poster:

Jack Nicklaus is a famous golfer.

16th Jul 2011, 17:29

My first car was a 93' white Jack Nicklaus Signature Series Lincoln town car with white leather seats, green trim and green floors. It was the best car I ever owned; never a problem. Fully loaded V8 overhead cam with color tinted windows. Great in town and highway. Quiet and truthful. Wish I still had it. Great driving car, and passengers float in the backseat.

1993 Lincoln Town Car Excutive 4.6 V8 from North America

Summary:

One of the best cars I've ever owned

Faults:

The rear air bag suspension went. Put in springs and coils. A good $186.00 for the parts.

The rear windows don't work. My friend says it could be the motors. The right rear window slides on its own. It could just be off track.

Transmission leaks, not sure why. Have to have that checked.

Wipers freeze at high speed.

Actuators in the front doors need to be replaced. Doors locks no longer work.

Carpet near the emergency brake broken off. Easy fix.

Antilocks brake light appears, the brake pedal jerks a little when you step on it.

A small rust hole has appeared near the front wheel well. Along with rust on the rear well. Fortunately it hasn't gotten too bad. I will repair it.

General Comments:

Ever since I was little, I've always wanted a Towncar. This car is my third one. I've had a 1996 Dodge Grand Caravan ES. I had it for 7 weeks until I saw a 1993 Mercury Grand Marquis LS for sale. That lasted me for a year until I seized the engine. It's a long story.

Towncars have always been a love of mine. I think it was the tail lights that attracted me. When I was little I would always check the reviews and ratings for it. They were very good. I am probably the youngest Towncar lover that I know of. I'm 21. No one in my family owned a Towncar so I wasn't able to drive one. When I told people that I wanted one they thought it was weird. Most people who drove them were senior citizens. I knew what I wanted.

After I seized the engine in the Marquis, I had to look for another car. I started to look around. I knew I wanted a Towncar or Grand Marquis. They were the only cars I knew that were reliable and I could trust. I looked in the local paper. I found a 1993 Lincoln Towncar. The owner described the color and condition. I had the picture in my head and I knew it was mine. The mileage and price were right. 78,000 miles and $2500 the owner was asking for it. I got in contact with the owner and made arrangements to see it. When I saw it. I fell in love with it. The exterior of the car is light blue with a white leather top. Interior is dark blue. I got behind the wheel of it and it felt twice as big as my Grand Marquis. Took the car around the block and it was like home to me.

The car belonged to elderly man who bought it new in 93. He kept it until 97 when he passed away. The brother asked the 2nd owner if he would like to buy it. The second owner kept it for 10 years until he had to get rid of some of his cars. That is when I took over ownership of it.

The condition of it is absolutely beautiful. The paint shines like new. The interior is beautiful except for the seats being worn in. Other than what I stated above. The car perfect in my book.

I really picked out a good car. Especially with the color combo. I am the only person in town with that car. Everyone that knows me knows my car. They really love it also. Can't think of any other car I could be driving besides the Towncar. If I could store it in the winter I would. I want to one day restore it to a classic. I love my Towncar so much. It mean a lot to me.

Ford has recently stopped making the Towncar. They are only available by special ordering them. Then after 2010, Ford will stop making them completely. To me that is a shame. For people who come to love them and are fans like me. To take them away from loyal customers like that. They are going to lose so many people. Just watch they will bring it back once people start to complain saying that they want Towncar. If you're a Towncar fan like me. Email me at Cashmoney098@aol.com. With enough people we can keep the Towncar alive forever, by sending a letter to Ford saying that the Towncar needs to stay in production.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2009

27th Feb 2009, 01:54

I think I've got you beat. I'm only 18 and I have one, haha. No one our age understands the luxury and drive until they're in the back seat saying wow this is really comfortable haha.

27th Feb 2009, 15:02

The Panther Platform (Town Car, Grand Marquis, and Crown Vic) is one reason Ford is in a little bit better position financially to weather the Depression than GM and Chrysler, who destroyed their large cars long ago.