1994 Lincoln Town Car Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1994 Lincoln Town Car Signature Series 4.6L SOHC from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.6L SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired110120 miles
Most recent distance110370 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Wish I had bought one sooner

Faults:

I have not had any problems with the car, as I have only had it a week. I know the air suspension will need attention in the near future, but this will be an easy do it yourself fix. Replacing the air bags and the air pump myself is not much more expensive than if the car had regular springs.

General Comments:

I wish I had bought a Town Car back in 1997 instead of buying a Honda Accord. I'm 6'2" tall and could have gotten a used Lincoln for about the same price as my Accord back in 1997.

The Lincoln is a dream to drive and even with 110,000 miles, it has very few rattles.

The car accelerates quickly, has plenty of power, and sips gas for the size car it is. I have no problems pulling on the expressway and merging into traffic. When you need the power it is there instantly.

I love the spacious interior and the head room for us taller individuals. The seats are very comfortable for my long legs and I don't even have to keep the seat all the way back to be comfortable.

The car handles very well for its size. It is easy to park and has a great turning radius for its size.

Parts I have priced so far are inexpensive compared to the Accord I used to own.

I will definitely purchase another 90's body style in the future. I hope to drive this one another 100,000 miles, but if I find a low mileage one I will add another to the stable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2005

18th Mar 2005, 07:00

Actually, a '93 Honda Accord, while 33 inches shorter and around 1300 pounds lighter than a '93 Town Car, has nearly the same headroom (38.9" vs 39.2") and slightly MORE legroom (42.6" vs 42.5").

Perhaps all that extra length and weight just gives the impression of more room...

18th Mar 2005, 12:50

In response to the first comment. I guess I should have clarified further. The Accord was a 1995. The Town Car is a 1994. Why my survey made it in labeled as a 1993 probably was the result of hitting a wrong key. Maybe it is just the way the Town Car is laid out on the inside, but I definitely have more head room and upper body space not just including height. Everyone that has ridden with me has said, Well at least now your head isn't almost in the roof like in the Accord. I guess I am not the only one that noticed it. As for the leg room, maybe it is my perception, or how the car is laid out inside, but my knees are not cramped on both sides of the steering wheel like in the Accord. Maybe that would be classified as dash and steering design. However, I definitely don't have to have the seat all the way back in the Town Car compared to the Accord, but leg room on the sides of the driver's seat is better as well, because my left knee isn't hitting the driver's door panel as in the Accord. Also, my right leg and knee are not hitting or being cramped by the center console like in the Accord. But then the Town Car doesn't have a center console in the floor, thus more sideways knee and leg room.

7th Jul 2006, 19:01

According to the Consumer Reports measurements:

'96 Lincoln Town Car... maximum front leg room: 41.0"

'96 Honda Accord... maximum front leg room: 40.5"

(I don't have a 1993-1995 issue.)

As for headroom, they test it with a 5'9" person in the front seat. Results:

'96 Lincoln Town Car... 4.5"

'96 Honda Accord... 3.0"

28th May 2011, 17:29

I've had Hondas before, and they're great, but being very low, you sit down in the Honda, while you sit "in" the Town Car (1990's models). When you have room for three in the front row, that is what I call spacious.

1994 Lincoln Town Car Signature Series V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance195000 miles
Previous carPontiac Parisienne

Summary:

Best value on the road

Faults:

AT 155,000 miles an oil leak between the head and block caused me to get a new engine.

At 125,000 miles upper ball joints.

At 187,000 miles lower ball joints.

At 145,000 new front wheel bearings.

Constant problems with climate control chip.

Had car Ziebarted when new, absolutely no rust. And I'm in western N.Y. home of the salted highways.

Now at 195,000 miles need rear air suspension converted to springs.

General Comments:

Best car I ever had. Great ride and value. Comfort A+

Next car will be another Towncar. Look at the value compared to comperable Jap cars. For a 2 year old Jap vs. Towncar the difference is $8,000. I can do a lot of repairs for $8,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2004

2nd Dec 2004, 09:38

For the most part, I agree with the statements about this Town Car. There is some serious problems with the climate control and the motors in the windows don't last very ling. But it is one of the nicest cars I've ever owned and I would gladly buy another one.

21st Aug 2013, 15:41

Your oil leak was not the head, but the valve cover. You must have run it out of oil. Check your oil every week. I have 22000 miles on mine. Awesome car.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 12 reviews