1994 Lincoln Town Car Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1994 Lincoln Town Car Signature from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

With a good rear suspension...GREAT

Faults:

Rear view mirror has fallen off twice. It seems that the heat with a windshield sun protector is more than glue designed to handle.

The "check engine" light has been intermittently on ever since I bought the car. Dealer said it was due to moisture in air. Being in Florida and next the Gulf. I bought it. Wrong.

The MAIN problem is the suspension. The Lincoln maintenance people are unable to fix anything that the computer doesn't tell them. I had a short and the dealer check it out and actually wrote, "checked system OK, system healed itself." NOT. conversion to springs seems only cost effective to cure this problem.

General Comments:

I love the digital read out. I was afraid it would be an expensive toy. It is easy to read except in bright sunshine.

It is very easy to replace the spark plugs and wires. With care there is no need to go to a dealer. Auto parts stores will sell the same parts for much less that dealer.

Ride and power are great. I still can't believe a car this size can average over 25mph on the expressway at 70mph and with air conditioning on.

Interior is very nice if you stay away from dark colors. Mine is wine leather and we love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th December, 2003

27th Dec 2003, 13:53

Gotta love the town car, it could be your EGR system making the check engine light come on.

21st Feb 2004, 16:06

94 Town car with 70,000 miles. My mirror fell off also. Easy to replace. My air suspension went out also and cost $990.00 to repair at dealer. I recently took car to dealer as I had a rough idle and an air bag light flashing sometimes. a lot of trial and error fixed the idle and the airbag light is still flashing even though I paid dealer for new sensor. this is a comfortable car and drives well, but is high maintenance.

16th Sep 2004, 22:48

I have a 1994 Town Car with over 120,000 miles and think it is great. You are right when you say it is a high maintenance car, but I think it is worth every penny.

6th Feb 2010, 20:51

I never take my cars to the dealer...

21st Aug 2013, 15:34

I have a 1994 Lincoln Town Car that I bought for 400 bucks two years ago, 18800 on the odometer. I now have 22200 miles. I have replaced the fan clutch, tires and fuel filter. Also fixed the A/C myself. All work done by me. Awesome car.

22nd Aug 2013, 07:23

"18800 on the odometer. I now have 22200"? You bought a car with 18,800 miles for $400? Are you sure you don't mean 188,000 miles? Even at that it's a fantastic deal.

1994 Lincoln Town Car from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carCadillac Fleetwood

Summary:

THE BEST!! we have ever owned and we have owned plenty

Faults:

We have had NO problems with this car at all.

General Comments:

This car has been wonderful. The only money we have spent on it is for routine maintenance. We have always had the car serviced every 3,000 miles and done all recommended services as per manufactureer's recommendation. This car is extremely comfortable, the coachwork is excellent, the handling great. We will buy another new one next year, but will keep this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2003

2nd Jan 2013, 21:57

I have a 1994 Lincoln Town Car with 244,512 miles, and she still runs great. The only problems I've had are all window regulators and air ride, and she burns a little oil, but that's it!!!

With that many miles, that's darn good. I've never had another car last this long. I love this car, and would definitely buy another one.

21st Aug 2013, 15:44

Windows, that's all for a twenty year old car. No big deal, it runs great and fast. I installed a cold air intake. No problems, just regular maintenance.

1994 Lincoln Town Car SIGINATURE SERIES 8.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 8.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance129000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

Great!

Faults:

The rear view mirror came off the windshield, that had to be re-glued. It is hard to tell when the brakes need to be changed, until it is to late. When I first got the car, the air compressor that controls the air suspension went out, the dealer replaced it. the cost for the compressor was only 420.00.

General Comments:

The only problem I have noticed about the car as well as many others is that I will get blue smoke from the tail pipe if the care idles for a long period of time, when I pull off the smoke comes out and I have no other smoking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2003

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 12 reviews