1995 Lincoln Town Car ES V8 from North America

Summary:

Powerful, luxurious, elegant and reliable, this is one of the best used cars you can buy

Faults:

The driver's side front power window catch mechanism broke, but the window motor continued to function and could not raise or lower the window pane. It was a relatively inexpensive fix.

The suspension system was replaced for about $1,300 when it failed in 2001.

Minor electronic nuisances have developed, but I have not had them fixed. Mostly, these include steering wheel buttons that control the fan and temperature which have stopped working. I can still control these functions from the dashboard, however.

General Comments:

This is the finest used car I have ever owned or driven. Extremely comfortable, it handles well, has cost me little to maintain, and my friends enjoy all the extra room while being impressed with the good exterior condition in which I've maintained it. I plan to keep it forever, even if I eventually buy a new Mercedes, as I plan to do in the next 2 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2004

1995 Lincoln Town Car Cartier 4.6L SHOC V8 from North America

Summary:

You can easily drive one of these cars for 10-years

Faults:

At 130,000 miles the RF power window regulator went out. Motor and regulator.

At 140,000 miles the left power window went out "Regulator" broke.

At 160,000 miles the car started to kind of shutter at 35-45mph...=new torque converter and trans rebuild, but it started to do the same thing 6,000 miles later and I was told that I needed to pour 8oz of anti-friction fluid modifier in the trans... it fixed it... I wish that they had told me this before I had paid $2400 for a rebuild. The car started to consume 2-5 quarts of oil between 5,000 miles changes at 165,000-miles.

General Comments:

The car is 100% comfort and safety. I got the car from a deceased grandmother who bought it new. I love the seats and back-lite radio controls on the steering wheel. Huge trunk and back seat which allows me (6.2Feet) to push my seat back and the backseaters are still with lots of knee room. It seem to be very reliable..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2003

1995 Lincoln Town Car Executive Series 4.2 V8 Overhead Cam from North America

Summary:

This has been a costly car to keep up, but in my opinion my Town Car has been worth every penny

Faults:

Our first problem was with the Air Conditioning, we got this fixed about a month after we purchased the vehicle.

Our next problem was with the front right shock, we had the insert replaced because it would squeak constantly. This was just recently.

The driver's power window motor gave out, and the window fell into the door and shattered.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2003

1995 Lincoln Town Car Signature 4.6 liter from North America

Summary:

What an American luxury car should be

Faults:

Nothing other than routine maintenance until about 98,000 miles:

Crank Position Sensor replaced by dealer for $ 260.

Right rear power window motor beginning to act up.

Digital dash goes out for about 20 seconds, then returns to normal. It has done this three times now. The dealer can't explain this one yet.

General Comments:

Fantastic car - Comfortable and luxurious. Great leather seats and nice wood grain accents.

Easy to drive and maneuver. Handling is adequate, but the steering is just too vague. Performance is excellent for a vehicle this size.

I like the 95-97 body style much better than the 98-03 versions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2003

1995 Lincoln Town Car Signature Series 4.6L from North America

Summary:

Living room on wheels

Faults:

Have not had any problems with the car.

General Comments:

I have always enjoyed the ride and comfort of a large car, and this Lincoln Town Car has not disappointed me. Very ample leg room front and rear, plush seats and a very quiet interior.

The car is equipped with the touring suspension option, surprisingly, it handles quite well for such a large car. Plenty of power, albeit, not a race car. When needed, the car will move.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2002

1995 Lincoln Town Car Executive 4.6 liter V8 from North America

Summary:

It was a very good used car buy for me

Faults:

One rear power window quit.

Some engine roughness under acceleration--needed spark plug wires. Good wires are critical to this engine, apparently.

Wipers sometimes cycle too far to the left and overshoot the edge of the windshield.

General Comments:

This is a large car, and of its type it's a very good one.

Performance is brisk enough, and handling perfectly acceptable.

Interior and trunk room are excellent.

This model is comfortable to sit in and drive, and is very well equipped even when not heavily optioned.

Lots of these cars have the digital instrument panel like mine. Not everybody likes it, but I find it's very easy to read and capable of giving you lots of information, like instantaneous gas mileage readout and two trip odometers.

Looks are subjective, but I think it's a very handsome design--traditional enough to look like a Lincoln, but sleek enough not to seem old-fashioned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2002

15th Nov 2006, 00:15

Nice review.

I recently bought a '95 Town Car Signature Series.

I agree with you comments...

- Ample performance. Freeway onramps are no problem at all.

- It handles like a car which weighs 300-500 lbs less.

- Comfortable seats; very easy to drive. Just like driving a couch down the road.

- I really like the digital dash. The big speedo numbers are great and I like the features such as how many miles until empty and how many gallons remaining.

- The radio, a/c and cruise control buttons on the steering wheel are one of my most-liked feature about the Lincoln. How nice it is to change radio stations or volume without having to reach over.

1995 Lincoln Town Car Signature 4.6 from North America

Summary:

Very reliable and a great buy for the price

Faults:

We have had very little trouble with this auto and plan to keep it at least 5 more years or until 250,000 miles. We have had routine repairs to-date.

The body and interior has held up extremely well.

No major components have failed to-date.

We did have the front suspension rebuilt at 105,000 and I replace the brake pads every 30,000 for safety's sake.

General Comments:

As this was our second Town Car, we plan to keep this one longer than the first and it will probably be with me until I die as we use it only for special trips and vacations now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2001

1995 Lincoln Town Car Cartier 4.6 from North America

Summary:

Class

Faults:

Well the car has been pretty good to me. Aside from routine services I had to have the transmission flushed due to a shuddering problem when shifting from 3 to 4 and two new brake calipers. For putting 100k on this car I feel very satisfied with it. I've owned many Lincolns and have to say I think they got it right with this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2000