2004 Mazda 3 Reviews - Page 10 of 12

2004 Mazda 3 SPORT S/R 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

The only thing that happened- I don't know if it is a fault though, is that all the interior lighting (except dashboard) went very dim, almost as though the panel dimmer control had been turned right down, but it hadn't. Turned off the engine and re-started and it was fine. I don't know what happened!

General Comments:

This is in my opinion a fantastic looking car. It's loaded with equipment such as automatic lights and wipers, one touch all round windows and sunroof, 17" alloys, trip computer, xenon headlights with washers, cd changer and 8 airbags.

We had piano black interior trim fitted and chrome side marker rings, which look great. Ours is in black, again a well suited colour.

We used to own a 2003 323F, the 3 is a lot more refined and has a much classier interior and is a generally more modern car. I'm yet to be certain though as to if the steering is as responsive as the 323F's, but it handles equally well.

Very powerful, feels solid and I would recommend it to anyone. It looks a lot better than the already stylish rest of the range being the sport.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2005

11th Jan 2007, 17:02

I bought a 2006 Mazda 3 Sport 2 litre 4 door saloon largely on the strength of the comments above and elsewhere, and I have to say the car is great! I love my Mazda to bits. It is fun to drive, leaves most others cars in its wake, and is pleasing to the eye. Fuel economy is also good (please see my review posted today 11th January 2007 for a fuller text)

2004 Mazda 3 SP 23 2.3 Litre from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.3 Litre Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance12000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Altezza

Summary:

Great car, well made and good finish

Faults:

No faults with car so far, although not to happy with noise from off side back wheel which sounds like a bearing. Agent says it is the tire, but am not convinced as noticeable at low speed only. Will get it checked again

We have a manual & would benefit from a 6th gear or slightly higher top gear.

General Comments:

Excellent vehicle with adequate performance, good looks and draws attention wherever we go, was concerned at the Passion Orange color delivered to us, but is actually a real eye catcher

Free servicing for 3 years a good selling point.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2005

16th Oct 2005, 18:30

Free service for 3 years? That's awsome, I didn't get any free service on my new 2005.

2004 Mazda 3 i 148 hp from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 148 hp Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles

Summary:

You'll love this car!

Faults:

I hope this doesn't jinx me, but nothing out of the ordinary has gone wrong yet.

It's been great.

(Even after driving it from Alaska to California... and those roads are no joke)

General Comments:

Car handles great.

Very comfortable.

Even the basic model is pretty "zippy" and impressive.

Highly recommend.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2005

2004 Mazda 3 S 5 door 2.3 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.3 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired59 miles
Most recent distance370 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

I'm in Love

Faults:

That "dead spot" in first gear that others have noted. It's true. That's the only performance flaw I've been able to notice.

General Comments:

I just love my Mazda 3. It handles great and it has power comparable to some 6 cylinders I've driven.

Mazda definitely designed this car with the driver in mind. From the front seats, the interior is awesome. Everything is in easy reach and is quite appealing to the eye.

Mazda should have added three to six inches between the back and front seats. Though the back seats are deep, they have less leg room than my 2 door Cutlass.

Surprisingly, the fold down rear seats seemed to be an afterthought. The outside padding on the rear seats doesn't allow them to fold down correctly and I have to pull my drivers seat up just to get them down.

The multiple organizational features in the trunk are a really nice addition, though the trunk floor compartment needs to be a little deeper to really take advantage of it.

Dual compartment center console and largest glove compartment I've ever seen. Both awesome.

The moon-roof buttons could use some illumination.

The speedometer seems a little cramped, making it hard to tell whether you're going 50 or 55 (which could make a big difference in a 45 mph zone... are those red and blue flashing lights I see behind me?).

The doors, near the base of the windows could use a little padding, as it finds your funny bone perfectly when you put your arm up on the door.

Most of these negatives are rather mood points. The Mazda 3 is only in it's second model year and needs a little time to "mature". They certainly don't make me regret my purchase one bit.

Overall, Mazda put a lot of thought into the 3, and it shows. In a couple more years, I don't think any other compact on the market will be able to touch it. Even now it seems like they're having a hard time competing against the 3.

If it's any bit as reliable as the car it replaces, the protege, Mazda will have no problem stealing Honda and Toyota's thunder when it comes to the compact market.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2005

19th Dec 2005, 16:18

I would have to concur with this review. I've had my 2004 M3S for about 4 months now and absolutely love the car. For a 4 cylinder, it is very fast, handles great, looks good both inside and out. What really impresses me is the attention to deals. The lights on the dash are beautiful. With the back seat down, there is a ton of room. You pull up the trunk floor, there is a plastic tray for when you haul messy things which also comes out for easy cleanup.

My only negative remarks are that the speedometer does seem cramped, do wish there were oil and battery gages instead of idiot lights, but feel these are minor items.

Over all, this a well thought out and a fantastic car.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 39 reviews