2008 Mazda 3 i Sport 2.0 from North America

Summary:

Excellent, until it breaks...

Faults:

Since June of 2018, I have had many things go wrong with the car, starting with the clutch. I do tend to be rough on the clutch and it needed to be replaced. The clutch we took out was not the stock clutch that would have come with the car, meaning it has been replaced before.

Also, the air conditioner compressor failed as well. Leaks were patched and they recharged the air conditioner, but to no avail. I have been unable to find the money for the parts in order to fix it.

The car refused to start in the afternoon of late August 2018, although all the lights came on in the car. I was informed that it seemed to be a wiring issue and the starter solenoid was burning itself up. My guess is that someone before me had tried to rewire the car and has caused many problems for me. I ended up having to bypass the starter in order to get it running again. Then the horn refused to work, which also seems to be a wiring problem, in addition to the horn itself.

In mid-September 2018, the car refused to accept the bypass starter or key. We could not get it jump started. We checked the fuses and they were all fine. At that point, I gave up. The car was clearly done.

When it was working properly, before all the issues, it was a pleasure to drive, excellent gas mileage, and a wonderful commuter car. It simply proved to be too much to fix in too short of a time.

General Comments:

Manual transmission, manual windows, no cruise control, nothing fancy. The car operated well with minor oil changes and updates, and perhaps would have endured longer if there hadn't been any customizations.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th September, 2018

2008 Mazda 3 S-GT 2.3L gas from North America

Summary:

The budget BMW from Hiroshima

Faults:

#3 motor mount broken.

Rotors out of round.

General Comments:

The best economy sports sedan on the market! It's exhilarating to drive with the reflexes and dynamics of another '3' from Germany (for less than half the price).

I previously owned a 2006 with an automatic that was flawless for 60,000 miles before my daughter totaled it. Thank goodness she was fine, but I've never been so despondent over the loss of a car. It took me three years to locate another in pristine condition, but this time I got a manual gearbox because I'm the only one in the house that can drive it. :)

If you're looking for a car that delivers driving pleasure, reliably and with decent economy, the Mazda 3 is the ticket. This car proves that a compact car need not be a boring appliance. This car has the DNA of a sports car; yet it's a great bargain!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2015

9th Mar 2015, 03:11

Looks wise this car is still a boring appliance though. Besides, every up and coming yuppie wannabe has one.

25th Mar 2015, 02:58

I have to disagree. I think the styling is fresh, distinctive and sporty. European styling flair on an entry-level Japanese car is without parallel among its contemporaries. The car was styled in Mazda’s European R&D Center by Turkish designer Hasip Girgin, who studied design at Pforzheim University in the Department of Transportation Design, and worked 18 years as a car designer at the Ford Design Center in Cologne and at Mazda Motor Europe. The end product is unexpected, refreshing and still contemporary.

27th Mar 2015, 02:20

Up and coming yuppie wannabe??? Sounds like a personal problem.

2008 Mazda 3 GT 2.3 from North America

Summary:

A nice, sporty car

Faults:

The tires need to be replaced only after 30.000Kms, because of the noise (Goodyear Eagle - high performance).

Nothing else.

General Comments:

The car is fun to drive. Has enough power for a small 4 cylinder.

It is not that great on gas. I also own a Corolla, and it is way better than the Mazda 3.

The Mazda 3 is heavier and better on snow with the right snow tires.

The trunk is small.

The interior is nice and the sound is perfect.

Canada Mazda dealer's program (hours) is not as good as for Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2012