1992 Mazda 323 Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1992 Mazda 323 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carToyota Cressida

Faults:

This has been a fairly reliable car. I had a few minor issues with the car not too long after I bought it. The battery went dead and the axles required replacing. Of course the car was also three years old when I bought it. The only gripes I have concern the seats and the air conditioning. The seats are horribly uncomfortable which make long trips very hard on my back. Also, the air conditioning has gone out three times. I live in Texas where we desperately need a/c during the Summer. I also found out that the car was flood damaged not too long after I got it. So, I do not think I would recommend Jay Marks Mazda to anyone. In any case, I would considering buying another Mazda if Mazda could produce a car that got better gas mileage. My next car will either be a Honda or Toyota because Japanese make the best cars!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2003

25th Jun 2003, 13:25

You made your last comment as though Toyota's and Honda's are the only Japanese cars... in case you didn't know, Mazda's are a Japanese car as well!

7th Jun 2004, 18:29

Mazda is an european company, not a Japanese. They are also a division of Ford Motor Co.

Second, Japanese automakers are not the only ones who make good cars. GM and Ford make good reliable cars that will last longer than Japanese cars.

12th Aug 2004, 01:32

I think you'd better look up the history of Mazda, it originated in Japan, and though Ford has a controlling share in it "now", its headquarters and main base of operations remains in Hiroshima Japan (that includes production).

Read the corporate news at www.mazda.com if you don't believe me.

1992 Mazda 323 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance181000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

A reliable people mover

Faults:

Small oil leak shortly after buying the car. Thought I had it fixed, but it appears to be something else. The parking brake light in the car won't turn off. It also runs rather rough during cold starts.

General Comments:

I love the gas mileage in this car, especially on the highway. It has been very reliable and surprisingly peppy even with the automatic transmission. The handling is very good especially since my last car was quite a bit bigger than my 323. It's also very practical with the folding seats and easy-to-use controls.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2003

1992 Mazda 323 GLX 1.6i 16v from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6i 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 kilometres
Most recent distance135000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Starlet

Summary:

Engine runs excellent like a swiss clock

Faults:

Replaced disks at the front.

New timing belt at 100000km's.

The red paint isn't the best choice, it starts to wear.

General Comments:

Nice engine: Reliable, runs perfect, sounds great, quick enough and cheap on gas (1:15km's).

The car is very reliable. It is used every day with 50km's to work and 50km's back home.

Maintenance so far: a few oil changes, replaced spark-plugs twice and replaced air filter once. Steering, gear-shifting and pedals are easy in use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2002

2nd Dec 2005, 04:58

Nice to hear that... have fun with it :)

1992 Mazda 323 GT-X BG Hatch 1.8 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 kilometres
Most recent distance91200 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Spends most of its life in the shop

Faults:

Radiator tank split after 1 week of ownership.

Water pump failed after 1 week of ownership.

Head gasket blew after 2 weeks of ownership.

According to the AA inspector this one is a good example!

General Comments:

For the 2 weeks it was working the car was great fun to drive.

The seats are extremely supportive and the driving position is great.

4WD means the car is extremely grippy in all conditions (I haven't been able to drive in the wet yet) and the car handles great.

I think the engine may have been tweaked and thrashed by the previous owner because a blown head gasket after just 91000 kms is pretty lousy - apparently tweaking is common on GT-X's.

If this car wasn't so damn unreliable it really would be a great car to own. But if you've got a lot of money to spend on repairs and insurance, (and a second car to drive while yours is in the shop) by all means buy it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th February, 2001

10th Mar 2001, 18:41

A good tip for the radiator tank split is to remove the overflow hose off the top of the tank as this causes a build up of heat. I just went through all that myself, tank, water pump, head gasket and I just replaced the engine. It was cheaper. Any response would be appreciated.

sissonmatthew@hotmail.com.

15th Jun 2003, 01:47

1991 Mazda. I have owned my GTX for one year now, and I have never had a problem. When I got it, it was stock, I've added a 2.5 inch exhaust, pod filter and a valve. I'm running 14 pounds boost. when I purchased the car I reconditioned the radiator and replaced the belts and brake pads. I give the car death and it handles what I give it. Although I don't recommend launching at high rev's.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 21 reviews