1992 Mazda 323 Reviews

1992 Mazda 323 1.6 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance205000 kilometres

Summary:

I'd buy another one

Faults:

Odd thing, my Mazda shut off once in a while when driving. But it was a manual, so I just put it in neutral, and turned it back on and kept going. Good thing it didn't have power steering to begin with.

Brake lines and fuel lines rusted out bad, but I live where we douse our roads with salt, so that is expected.

General Comments:

Best car I've ever owned.

Economical and cheap to maintain. Buy the manual; gives it more pep.

Water leaked in the back hatch.

Never came with power steering or a radio; it was a factory option (ha), but that's the reason I loved it so much. It was no frills, just money saving and fun.

I owned a 2006 Mustang. Bought it new, and after 4 years I sold it. I will probably never buy a new car again. To me, I enjoyed my 323 more than the Mustang. But I guess money saving factors into what I enjoy more.

Great, reliable 323, no real issues, always got us to where we needed to go. Amazing in the winter with our snow tires on. So light it would cruise over the snow, even when we had a big snowstorm. Gas mileage was amazing, city and highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2012

1992 Mazda 323 Sedan GLX 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired83400 kilometres
Most recent distance86600 kilometres

Summary:

Amazing

Faults:

Nothing seems seriously wrong with it so far. Just the seal on a bit for the rear widow is a bit loose, so it leaks every now and then.

In cold weather, some of the central locks don't open, which isn't too big a problem. Taking it in for a warranty this week, so fingers crossed!

General Comments:

For a first car, it's magnificent! Only had it for about half a year, but she still runs problem free.

Great to drive, very economical, which is essential as I am on a bit of a tight budget. Handles great.

I have only driven my parent's cars in the past, and have not owned any others, so I don't exactly have the experience to rate it well, but those were the marks I feel the car should have. Let's hope she lasts for a long long time!

Considering the low kms, $2000 was quite a bargain. Highly recommended car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2010

31st Jul 2012, 08:32

Roughly 10,000 kms later and still running great. Got the brake pads changed all round, and got the front wheel bearings replaced. Other than air filter changes, tyre changes, oil and oil filter changes, the car has had nothing wrong so far! Hope it continues.

4th Mar 2014, 02:10

Up to about 113,000km now and no problems. Think that the starter motor is on the way out, but other than that, it's running great. Just hope that rust doesn't get it!

1992 Mazda 323 F BG GTi 1.8 EFi from UK and Ireland

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.8 EFi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 164

Summary:

Brilliant

Faults:

Cam belt snapped last year. Bought a new one for £25 and fitted it (easy). (Engine is non-interference).

Fitted new tail pipe 3 years ago for MOT.

Driver's electric window needs a new motor.

Driver's seat a little worn on RH back.

Gave it a service last month, LOL.

General Comments:

Amazing car. So reliable. Always starts first time.

Plod it around town, and it is so economical.

Put the pedal to the metal, and there ain't much that can catch it!!

Still looks good for an 18 year old car.

No rust at all underneath or the body. Just a few spots on the electric sunroof.

Doesn't use oil.

Always passes its MOT.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2010

15th Aug 2011, 15:01

PS.

I am still using it every day (Aug 2011).

1992 Mazda 323 1.5 DOHC petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.5 DOHC petrol Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Integra

Faults:

The motor died, valve stem seals apparently. I have never seen so much smoke from an engine. Had another engine fitted, alternator died, now it's leaking oil and using excessive amounts of petrol.

The left window now doesn't work, drivers window won't go all the way up.

The heater barely makes heat.

The rear demister doesn't work.

The knob fell off the door mirror.

The brake pedal has gone spongy.

The cigarette light socket power surges and destroys appliances plugged into it.

General Comments:

This car has been a disaster. Nothing works and it has been a big disappointment. I will never buy a Mazda again.

The alternator etc is made by Mitsubishi, that can't be good for a start.

The only positives have been it hasn't rusted, the paint is good and it is a nice looking roomy vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th May, 2010

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 21 reviews