2004 Mazda 6 Reviews - Page 10 of 10

2004 Mazda 6 Sport Wagon 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired33 miles
Most recent distance200 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

This wagon is a great package of driving fun, utility and luxury

Faults:

Car is only 2 weeks old. Nothing to report.

General Comments:

The wagon is a very sleek and contemporary looking auto.

I don't like the fact that in order to get the side air curtains, one must also get a number of other packages.

The very fine 2.3l 4-cylinder engine should be available in the wagon version.

It does handle very well. There is also more than enough power on tap for spirited mountain driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2004

2004 Mazda 6 GS 2.3 inline 4 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 inline 4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16 kilometres
Most recent distance7300 kilometres
Previous carMazda Chev SUV

Summary:

Throw in great performance, sleek lines, fuel economy and voila... you get a Mazda 6 GS

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong.

The only thing I would add is a scratch proof shield around the car to eliminate the dings you get from people who can't seem to open their doors without hitting my baby.

General Comments:

I've driven minivans, trucks, SUV's, large sedans, high end sports cars and compact cars.

This my friends is by far the best vehicle I have driven in all aspects.

It handles like a Porche Boxter, maybe not as much power, but when needed, this peppy inline four can put out. The best part is that I'm not spending $80 a week to fill the tank.

Comfort is second to none. The cockpit is very attractive yet practical.

The car is attractive from all angles and the lines are sleek.

Roominess is essential when you have a family. I just took a road trip to the West Coast and holy smokes; I loaded the trunk with as many items as I do when I had an SUV! My wife and my child rode in comfort never experienced with other vehicles other than my old Toyota minivan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2004

2004 Mazda 6 5-door 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired56 miles
Most recent distance6242 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

One of the best out there for the price

Faults:

The shift knob began to tarnish. This was replaced by the dealer for a new chrome shifter.

Alignment was far off, as the car was constantly pulling to the right when moving at faster speeds.

General Comments:

This car as of now has been one of the more exciting mid sized sedans on the market right now, and for the price it cannot be beaten. Corners and accelerates very well, although I find that the traction control is too sensitive at times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2004

2004 Mazda 6 S Estate 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired90 miles
Most recent distance3200 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Summary:

A fun driving bargain

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong although four wheel alignment revealed need for minor adjustment to correct steering wander.

General Comments:

Road holding is excellent. Fun to drive.

Steering is very sensitive to grooves or ridges in the road. This results in the car trying to follow the grooves/ridges. I think this is due to the Bridgestone tyres. These tyres give plenty of grip, but are very noisy. Any suggestions re an alternative?

Brakes are very powerful and only require a light touch.

Clutch is smooth.

Gear change linkage via rod and cable is clunky, but effective.

Engine and exhaust are noisy when accelerating hard. Power output is adequate, but could do with more torque.

Car appears well put together. Time will tell.

S is the base model, but is well equipped with alloys, ABS, remote locking with alarm, electric windows and mirrors, air conditioning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2004

4th Aug 2004, 02:06

The 6 has a reputation for being a bit noisy on the go, a result of not enough soundproofing which is a pity as the rest of the car is so good. Yokohama AVS dB tyres are designed to minimise noise and are effective in this regard, you could see if they have them in your size.

22nd May 2006, 12:44

I have a Mazda6 TS Estate and have just replaced all four Bridgestones with Dunlop SP01. They seem quieter and the sharp edge to the ride seems to have reduced. Wet weather traction is much improved and handling seems to be a sharp as ever so I am quite happy with them.

2004 Mazda 6 S Sportwagon 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired33 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Best wagon on the market

Faults:

No 4-wheel drive available at this time.

General Comments:

I just had to let you know that this is the best value on the market. After driving a gas-guzzling pick-up, it was nice to get back to a vehicle that is more economical.

I have enjoyed several "station wagons" in the past: Volkswagen, Peugeot, and Subaru. The versatility of the vehicle is great. Anyone who is looking at a SUV should consider a sleek wagon instead. Some people regard the wagon as a "grocery getter", but to be honest, I think they look much better than their four-door counterparts. The Mazda6 Sportwagon is no exception.

When searching for my new vehicle, I considered the following "wagons"; Audi Avant, Volkswagen Passat, Subaru Outback, and Volvo V70. The Mazda 6 is the most handsome wagon of the bunch. Although the trim is not as refined as the luxurious Audi and Volvo, you would be hard pressed to tell what vehicle you were in without the logo on the steering wheel. My Mazda came equipped with most options; leather, sunroof, Bose sound system, and airbags for all passengers. Comparing prices to the competitors, the same vehicle would be $2,000 to $10,000 more. I commend Mazda for making this the best overall wagon available in the states. Move over BMW and Audi... the Mazda6 has you beat with their competitive pricing, superb handling, and most important, reliability.

General advice for anyone looking for a new vehicle, Do your research! Edmunds.com displays the retail and invoice price for all vehicles (along with their options/packages). I found the information most helpful. Also, I would start the negotiation at the invoice price and NEVER go above 2% of the invoice. Once you have settled on your price, make sure you subtract any dealer or customer rebates/incentives. My wagon was $4,500 off the MSRP when I was done with the negotiations.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2004

2004 Mazda 6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance1300 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Best in its class, a good combination of sports sedan and family vehicle

Faults:

Filling gas does not read Full on gauge.

General Comments:

Great fun to drive - acceleration is there, suspension is firm, steering feels good.

Good cabin comfort.

Understated, but still powerful looking, makes a statement.

Sound system (6-CD Bose changer) excellent.

Sexy instrument panel and dials.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2004

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 36 reviews