1999 Mazda 626 Reviews - Page 11 of 12

1999 Mazda 626 LX from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carGeo Storm

Summary:

Good-looking and comfortable, but very unreliable

Faults:

My car stopped going in reverse at approx. 30,000 miles.

The paint peeled off on all door handles at approx. 35,000 miles.

General Comments:

At approximately 30,000 miles, my car began having intermittent problems going in reverse. The problem would last for a day or two and then it would come back. It seemed to be a transmission problem (b/c it wouldn't go into gear) so I brought it back to the dealer. When I brought it back to the dealer, they said they couldn't fix it because they couldn't duplicate the problem. I continued to have this problem, so I brought it back again. Once again, they said there was nothing they could do for me b/c they couldn't duplicate it. And, miraculously, it was working fine when they gave it back to me. The problem showed up again this morning and I'm furious! I called Mazda and they were not interested in helping me at all! My warranty will run out in August and I want this taken care of, but I'm not getting any assistance from my dealer, or from Mazda.

I also had a problem with the paint peeling on all four door handles. Two were replaced with no hassle and I'm bringing it in to get the other two replaced shortly.

Before I bought this 626, I had a 1992 Geo Storm that (believe it or not) was more reliable than this 1999 Mazda 626.

I understand that problems can occur with cars, but dealerships and manufacturers that handle it professionally will always win my loyalty. Next time I'll buy a Honda or a Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th June, 2002

4th Oct 2002, 05:45

The gearbox problem is not surprising (it's made by Ford)

1999 Mazda 626 LX 2.0 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance59832 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A great alternative to Accord or Camry in my opinion

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my car other than I recently replaced the battery.

General Comments:

This car has been flawless for almost 60k miles. There are still no rattles or squeaks in the car. I have noted no consumption of any oil or coolant. The car averages about 26.4 mpg. Most of my driving is highway. The Penske tires I put on at 40k are a little on the noisy side. There is however, very little wind noise in the cabin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2002

1999 Mazda 626 LX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

An exceptional car

Faults:

With the exception of wear and tear items, I have only had to replace two headlamp bulbs.

General Comments:

The car is very well appointed with the inclusion of climate control, full electric windows, remote locking etcetera.

However it does lacks other essentials such as ABS and heated wing mirrors.

Fuel economy has been exceptional (38-40mpg) given the fact that it is a large vehicle.

Performance is very good, reasonable acceleration and a rapid enough to put nine penalty points, for speeding, on my driving licence.

I have never ever had a car that has proven itself to be so reliable. With the exception of items such as brakes and belts, I have not had to have anything changed or replaced, the car has never yet refused to start at the first attempt, nor has it ever broken down.

The first set of tyres were replaced at fifty two thousand miles, the front two were replaced again at eighty five thousand miles and all four tyres are currently in fine health at one hundred and three thousand miles.

The seats could be more comfortable and the passenger seat features a rather annoying gap between the base and the back, papers, reports etc slide gleefully onto the floor in the rear passenger compartment.

The car has oceans of room and a capacious boot that is capable of swallowing enormous loads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2002

1st Mar 2004, 12:04

I am in full agreement with you. Especially the performance part, after paying for lawyer fees, court costs and other miscellaneous costs, it may have too much performance. For those that may not believe in the performance attributes of the 626, I have the paperwork to prove that they will get to 162 mph. (the bad thing is I was still picking up speed when I noticed the flashing lights.)

7th Nov 2004, 05:34

Having had my Mazda owned and Mazda modified 626 LXI for 2 years now, I have only just discovered the amazing difference changing Tyres and Wheels can have, Add 17" alloys Shod with 215/40,Tyres and you have a completely different vehicle.

In the two years I've owned the car only one problem has occurred, I had to have the Air con re gassed. beside servicing that's it.

8th Dec 2004, 05:40

Two things, how can a Mazda 626 get to 162mph???

Secondly, 52,000 miles out of one set of tyres. ummmm, I don't think so, unless they were the rear ones or you drove them right down to the metal!!

13th Apr 2008, 16:38

You wouldn't catch me paying lawyer fees etc for a speeding fine like that, the first thing I would contest is that the cars top speed is about 30mph lower than that! (That speed would still lose your licence, but you could cast some considerable doubt on the evidence against you).

Certainly appears to me that you're either making it up as you go along or (I certainly hope this isn't true), you got shafted good and proper by the legal system! Anybody who thinks getting fined (and probably banned) for getting caught at a speed the car can't even do is something to brag about is a right plank.

17th Jun 2008, 15:48

I have never had any problems with my Mazda other than the normal wear and tear. I have 145,000 miles on the original motor, how about that. Love it and would buy another one. Thank you, the proud owner of a 1999 Mazda 626.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 37 reviews