Mazda CX-7 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2008 Mazda CX-7 Touring 2.3 turbo from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired103 miles
Most recent distance25553 miles
Previous carHonda CR-V

Summary:

Pretty awesome car

Faults:

My brakes had to be replaced a week after I bought the car because they kept scrubbing.

The sliver circular cover around the gear stick gets scratched easily.

General Comments:

Goes fast when you need it, and just right otherwise.

The dash collects dust too much.

When something falls between the seats, it's hard to get out.

The windshield is difficult to clean.

If you have been driving for a long distance, constantly punching the gas pedal, you need to let the car sit for about 30 seconds to a minute so you don't damage the turbo.

Gets the best gas mileage when the highest choice of gas is put in.

The stereo is great.

The blue headlights are pretty cool.

I haven't had any brake lights or tail lights go out since I have bought it.

If you're riding in the back seat, and you're smoking and go to flick the ashes out the window, they will fly right back in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2009

15th Aug 2009, 23:11

"If you're riding in the back seat, and you're smoking and go to flick the ashes out the window, they will fly right back in."

There's a simple solution that I have discovered to remedy this problem: quit smoking.

28th Nov 2009, 17:28

If you're driving for a long distance, you don't have to pull over and wait to cool the turbo. Where did you get that idea. Use sys oil, it's a turbo, every tractor trailer is a turbo, and they can't pull over every hour. You need a new dealer my friend.

29th Nov 2009, 02:47

I think the original poster was trying to say to let the car sit for around 30 seconds to minute after hard driving 'BEFORE' switching off the engine, so the oil pressure doesn't suddenly disappear, causing the turbo to get damaged with no oil.

2008 Mazda CX-7 Grand Touring AWD 2.3 MZR turbo from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.3 MZR turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carToyota Cavalier

Summary:

The best choice for a luxury vehicle without having to pay the price of a luxury vehicle

Faults:

The vehicle has performed flawlessly.

Granted…, the vehicle does not have a computerized display option to determine gas mileage.

The vehicle cabin could use additional insulation to reduce engine noise, which seems to be slightly above normal at lower speeds in comparison to other vehicles.

General Comments:

Ride is smooth and a pleasure to drive.

The interior of the Grand Touring C-X7 is roomy and comfortable.

The front heated seats are no less comfortable than any other similarly equipped vehicle.

The 9 way adjustable drivers seat compensates for any discomfort by adjusting seat accordingly.

The Dashboard instrumentation is laid out in a pleasing manner, and in correct locations.

While the sun visors do not have a vanity light accompanying the mirror, the overhead lights to the rear of the rear view mirror are more than adequate.

The leather interior adds a very nice level of sophistication while providing a sufficient ability to handle the leather lined shift lever and steering wheel.

The steering wheel has convenient control for the voice automated navigation system, cruise control, and stereo.

The Bose surround sound stereo, rivals my home entertainment system.

The touch screen navigation system is large and easy to read.

The 6 CD changer is nicely hidden behind the navigation system, and is easy to operate.

The rear seats provide ample space and comfort.

With the rear sets folded down, there is ample space to load large bulky items.

The building rear view camera is wonderful when backing up the vehicle.

The rear view camera automatically displays on the touch screen navigation system when the vehicle is placed in reverse.

Gas mileage is about what is expected from an engine with a turbo charger.

Sticker MPG is accurate for residential or rural driving.

Higher MPG on hwy. than listed on MS-RP sticker.

Purchased fully loaded (except for satellite radio and remote start) for just over $30,000 which included custom installation of non factory 3rd party DVD entertainment system.

Has the handling of a sports car and the comfort of a sedan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2008

19th Jul 2008, 16:16

I'm comparing the CX-7 to the Acura RDX (both have similar specs i.e. turbo charged 2.3L engine with similar power and are same in size). I test drove the RDX and found minimal turbo lag, do you experience any turbo lag in your CX-7? If not, that would be great as I can save thousands on my purchase and get more car for less money..

1st Oct 2011, 23:10

I just test drove the CX7, and it has slight turbo lag when starting out, but that only lasts a few seconds, then it's off like a rocket. The CX7 has the feel and power of a large V6, instead of the turboed 4cyl they have under there.

I'm impressed with the car like handling, and it definitely has enough power to pass anyone on a country road.

2007 Mazda CX-7 GT 2.3 turbo from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 kilometres
Most recent distance19000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

An amazing crossover that thinks it's a sports car

Faults:

Emissions reflash.

General Comments:

This crossover is amazing machine; it has 244hp turbo charged engine and is quicker than my 2007 V6 Mustang Convertible that I traded it in for. It handles like a sports car with 4 doors, and has an amazing 6 speed transmission with paddle shift.

It also has a credit card type key fob that you never have to remove from your pocket to operate the truck.

Highest government safety ratings — 5-Star government frontal - and side-crash-test rating.

It's a beautiful looking truck inside and out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2007

17th Dec 2007, 00:47

Hey, it's nice someone finally gave an input on this car. I am actually in doubt between this Mazda and the Hyundai Santa Fe. The Korean car seems a little bit more "car for the money", but this seems more classy and is expected to keep its value better. hoping more people would give their opinion...

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews