1995 Mazda MX3 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1995 Mazda MX3 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 kilometres
Most recent distance90000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

1.5 twin cam rocket

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

I have nothing but praise for this car.

General Comments:

I had a Subaru Impreza 1.6 before this and thought it was the best thing ever. But once I drove this around corners doing about 80-90 and it didn't budge, I knew it was the right car.

It looks stunning - white, twin spoiler, blue neons, tints, etc.

Absolutely great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2003

5th Dec 2005, 11:58

I almost bought one of these a few years ago. Absolutely loved the way it drove and the cargo room for its size. Problem was, at 6' 2", the seatbelt kept choking me so I didn't get the car. Poor design in an otherwise brilliant car.

1995 Mazda MX3 RS 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 kilometres
Most recent distance107000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Great drive at great price

Faults:

Needed new exhaust at 104,000 km.

Needed new CV boots at 80,000 km.

General Comments:

This car is fantastic! It's quick, handles like a dream and looks absolutely gorgeous.

I'd recommend this car to anyone.

Only problem is it has a small fuel reservoir and it is not too great on gas considering it only has a 1.6L engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2003

1995 Mazda MX3 1.6 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

A fun small car

Faults:

Exhaust rusted out.

General Comments:

A nice small hatchback.

Aside from routine maintenance, I have done very little to this car, and it runs great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2003

1995 Mazda MX3 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance146000 miles

Summary:

I love my MX-3!

Faults:

Broken CV joints at about 140,000 miles.

Water pump went out at about 120,000 miles.

Exhaust system leak started at about 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this car!

It's very comfortable in the front seats.

It's been a very reliable especially for all the wear and tear I've put on it.

It ran perfectly until about 100,000 miles, and the repairs since then have been minor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2002

11th May 2003, 13:50

I wrote this review. I wanted to add an update. The car just hit 165,000 miles. It had to have a new radiator at about 160K, and a new clutch at about 157k. I'm still happy that the car has lasted this long, however the repair bills are mounting. I think they are fairly minor considering the miles. The engine and transmission are still in very good condition. I will drive it on long trips without worry!

20th May 2009, 01:23

That's funny.. I have a 1995 MX-3 I purchased brand new 14 years ago. I replaced the CV joints about the same time frame you did...also just replaced the radiator about the same mileage as you as well. But an excellent car and been very little maintenance considering how many miles I've put on it. 14 years later and I still enjoy how it sticks to the road during tight cornering.

1995 Mazda MX3 GS 1.9 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 V6 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100021 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

By far the WORST car I ever owned!!!

Faults:

Clutch needed replacing two times.

Tires cost $1600 (cdn), because they are sport tires (wider & thinner).

Transmission needed replacing.

New distributer cost $1000 (cdn).

Check engine light always flashes, could not even be fixed by the dealer.

Tune ups can be very expensive and are needed more often than most cars.

Electrical system has failed several times, sometimes right after the dealer fixed it. This is also an expensive repair.

General Comments:

I have developed a back problem due to the extremely tiny inside of this car. Over the years it has become worse, and I am only 6 feet!!

This is one car I can honestly say you will be playing a guessing game with as to whether or not it will start. Some days it will, some days it won't.

The failing electrical system is a regular occurance and is not only expensive to repair, but it leaves you so often with a car you cannot drive.

The back seats are to small for any adult, yet it is impossible to have a car seat back there because its to tiny climbing in and out with the baby (I've hit my son's head on the low roof more than once).

Driving is rough and bumpy, you are so low to the ground in this car you feel every single hole or bump on the road. Be prepared to bottom out quite a bit.

Fuel economy for the GS (1.9 V6) is terrible, nothing like I thought it would be.

Overall- the repairs on the car, no matter how large or small, are double the price of your worst nightmares.

Please, if I can help just one person, do not buy this car. It will only break your heart (and your bank), just like it did mine. GOOD LUCK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th May, 2002

8th May 2002, 20:43

Did you buy your car used? If so it may have encountered a flood. I have read a lot of reviews on this car and no one has had these kinds of problems. Not even me, I have a 94 MX3 1.6L 4Cyl DOHC 5 Speed.

3rd Aug 2005, 00:19

Alright. This is the most biased review I have ever read. What are you doing with such and tiny car and trying to fit a baby in it. I know people who had a crystler 300 m special. it's a huge sporty car and they dumped it even though they loved it cause it was inconducive for children. this isn't designed for a family its designed for a student or a 20 year old.

1995 Mazda MX3 GS 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired219000 kilometres
Most recent distance235000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

I can only hope they start making these by the time I am ready to buy brand new..

Faults:

I had to change the distributer (2 weeks ago) and redo the exhaust. Aside from that, it's just been routine maintenance...

General Comments:

This car handles like a dream!!! Of course, part of this excitement is that manual transmission in general offers more control...

The front of the car is pretty comfortable, but the back is for short people only! And definitely no long trips back there. But this is offset by the incredible amount of storage space when the back seats are lowered.

The look of the car is AWESOME! I have "lusted" after this car since I first laid eyes on it at age 13.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2002

1995 Mazda MX3 1.6 L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Inexpensive, fun, sporty, love it

Faults:

Air conditioning fan (on the radiator) started to screech. Possibly due to humidity, corrosion. Car is used in Texas!!

Cheap to fix. A lot of second hand parts out there, pretty cheap.

General Comments:

Lovely little car. Very light, so good handling. Quick pick up in mid-range, great gas mileage. Goes on forever, good top-speed, gotta love that over-drive! I've managed to get it to around 130 MPH, on a closed course of course!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2001

1995 Mazda MX3 'Jap Import' 1.5i twin cam petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.5i twin cam petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Nothing! Except the petrol tanks empties twice a week....

General Comments:

I spent 7 months looking and test-driving most the 'main-stream' cars here in Ireland, ie the Fords, Opels, Hondas, Rovers, the 323's, the 406's, the 316's etc and nothing gave me the adrenaline rush like this car... I recommend a Jap. Import, especially if you live in Ireland because we normally get the base models here and have to pay an extra 50% just for an option like a spare wheel!!

The big disadvantage about this type of car is the roads here are like the surface of the moon, sometimes I regret I didn't buy a Land Rover!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 1998

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 16 reviews