1990 Mazda MX6 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1990 Mazda MX6 LX 2.2L SOHC 12v from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L SOHC 12v Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired255000 kilometres
Most recent distance303000 kilometres

Summary:

A Great Little Car!!!

Faults:

Rack-and-pinion steering

Ball joints

Control arm.

General Comments:

This is a absolute awesome little car. It is extremely reliable. I expect to get 350000+ kms out of it without any problems at all (Original engine, transmission, paint, etc...) I still manage to get 40 mpg on the highway. The car almost looks as good as it did the day it drove off the car lot, same with the interior. It handles well, brakes well, and has decent performance. I Love it!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2002

1990 Mazda MX6 GT 2.2L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired153000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Well worth the money

Faults:

I have had 2 problems, I found a bad sensor and the exhaust has rusted off.

General Comments:

The over all performance of the car has surprised me. I was expecting something a little more sluggish. After driving it and letting the engine clean itself out it has more power and response.

I found that with slight alterations to the engine that I was able to increase quarter mile speed by 15 mph without spending much money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2002

1st Apr 2008, 19:58

My 1990 mx6 turbo with a 5 speed is stuck in 2nd gear. how can I fix it?

1990 Mazda MX6 LX 2.2 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired198000 kilometres
Most recent distance304000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Mystery under the hood

Faults:

Until today, the car been running perfectly.

Only the alternator and starter blew up!!!

Of course the power antenna jammed.

General Comments:

The engine was taken out at 302000 km.

I had put a fresher one inside at 174000km.

The old engine is in a rebuild process.

And will add a turbo to it.

I expect to get a near 200hp out of it and will add a Nitrous system.

I used to be a V8 fan, but since I owned this car, it really kick asses...

Even when the 302,000 engine was in the car, I was still able to reach the injection cut-off (at 180 km). Just try to do so with a Camaro.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2002

13th Mar 2003, 07:56

Did you have a camaro with a 4 cyl. Camaro's will run along side of Corvette's. Nitrous sucks.

1990 Mazda MX6 LX 2.2 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired156000 kilometres
Most recent distance181000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

A bad choice I have to live with

Faults:

The transmission needed to be replaced.

The right and left CV boots and struts have been replaced.

The dealership does not have the right size muffler for the vehicle.

The seats are uncomfortable.

Inside windows freeze over at the first temperature drop. Ice crystals form inside the trunk in winter months.

General Comments:

The car is very good looking on the outside. However, the paint has started to chip and it has started to look "blotchy" in its colour.

I have had WAY too much trouble with this car to even give it a 2 out of 10. It was a bad choice, and now I have to live with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2001

1990 Mazda MX6 GT 2.2 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles

Summary:

A fast car for fast bucks

Faults:

The automatic windows have slower ascending and descending speeds.

General Comments:

Seats are comfortable for a couple of hours, but the shape of the seats tends to hurt your back if driven longer.

This is a quick car if you know how to drive it.

Have outrun Ford Ranger V-6, 2001 Prizm, Buick TCI, ThunderBird 5.0 in the quarter mile.

Fastest speed 143 mph, still slightly inclining.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2001

1st May 2004, 13:07

Id just like 2 say that I've outrun a 2001 prism on my bicycle.. sorry buddy.. but it is fast.. i have a 89 probe gt and its the same car, and i smoked a non-gt mustang..

31st Jul 2006, 09:14

I have a 1990 mx6 gt with mild upgrades and I burned a neon srt-4. The little things make a world of difference.

1990 Mazda MX6 GT 2.2 IHI turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 IHI turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carMazda MX3

Summary:

Mazda's MX-6 missile

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car yet.

General Comments:

I have owned many high performance sports cars, including a Porche 911, but none have been as easy to run and upgrade as this car has.

My MX6 turbo has many upgrades that have cost me less than $4000.00 US.

I can now outrun stock 2001 Preludes with ease.

The only problem you will have is not knowing when to go home.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2001

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 13 reviews