1993 Mazda Protege Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1993 Mazda Protege LX 1.8 DOHC from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired116363 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Very nice little sedan with a lot of spunk

Faults:

Exhaust - down pipe replacement

Stereo speakers - paper is toast

Locking gas cap no longer releases when lever pulled. Latch release still works, just that cap doesn't open.

General Comments:

No air bag, stereo is disappointing, but this is truly one outstanding little sedan.

Pleasantly surprised with the ride and handling of this 13+ year old sub-compact sedan.

Very quick, particularly in the higher gears -

I'm not used to this level of responsiveness compared to driving a full-size truck or suburban.

I used this site as a source for input when considering a gas-miser to replace the extended cab pickup for running the kids about town, and found some very helpful information.

I purchased the vehicle on eBay for under $900; after the exhaust repair and a replacement set of front pads and rotors - I'm extremely satisfied with the <$1300 investment. I purchased from an honest private seller and also ran a history check to ease any doubts, something I would highly recommend for ANY used car buyer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2006

1993 Mazda Protege DX 1.8L from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles

Summary:

I love my Protege and would buy another

Faults:

The car has those silly automatic seat belts that go over your shoulder when the door closes. The driver side belt was jamming and this was actually part of a recall. The dealer repaired it in the late 90s and I haven't had a problem since.

General Comments:

I bought this car new (my first new car) and it was a great value for the money.

It has always started and I have never had any problems with it.

The only maintenance it has needed is routine maintenance.

It needs more power, but I only have a DX. An LX would have more power.

It handles great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2006

14th Apr 2006, 22:30

Every car of your year, I see them smoking, does yours smoke? but I think these I see are beat on...

15th Apr 2006, 20:46

These cars are really good. my grandmother has a 1996 Mazda Mrotege DX also and after 10 years all she had to do is get the air boot replaced.

18th Apr 2006, 12:35

I've owned a 93 and 94 protege and neither have smoked. Probably a case of the one (s) you've seen being beat on or neglected. In fact the B8/BP engine series of the DX/LX protege's is generally bulletproof.

2nd Apr 2007, 12:40

I just got my protege 5-speed and I love it.

15th Oct 2009, 13:04

I have a 1993 Mazda Protege DX. No complaints from me. Been a good car overall - good gas mileage, very sturdily built, good acceleration for a 1.8L engine, very spacious trunk, comfortable seating. All problems to date have been minor - driver's side seat belt warning keeps sounding, speakers are shot, and rear door lock tabs are very difficult to release (feels like very hardened grease problem).

I can freely recommend this vehicle.

1993 Mazda Protege LX 1.8 DOHC from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance161000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Great Car

Faults:

Rotors, Brakes, 1 Axle, Driver Window.

General Comments:

Keeps going and going and going.

Nimble Pocket Rocket.

Great Mix of Economy and speed. This car just wont die. I would have to Proclaim this car in the top 10 in reiliabily for Modern cars. I have this car for six years know with 160,000 and still runs great. Just a slight rough idle but hey w 160,000 what you expect. I thought the car had it about 3 months ago. The car was misfiring stalling and hesitating i thought to myself well six years and 160,000 miles the car was at the end of its life span turned out was just a bad spark plug wire and know the car is fine. Just like another reviewer said a well or even not so well maitained one could be a great asset.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2005

1993 Mazda Protege LX 1.8 DOHC from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

Like a Timex

Faults:

Extensive body work due to accidents. Replaced muffler at 160,000 miles. Replaced battery.

General Comments:

Most reliable car I've ever owned.

Was given this car after front end collision. Took care of damage and replaced battery which was crushed.

During oil change at 170,000 miles someone omitted replacing the oil cap. Drove the car for 70 miles before engine light came on, and oil began seeping up onto the windshield! Topped off the oil replaced oil cap, and continued to drive it with the engine light still on (figured I'd at least make it back home).

Three weeks later the engine light shut off and the car is still alive and kicking (despite some noticeable knocking).

Will be replacing it soon for aesthetic reasons, since the body has not held up well after several accidents, but this car has never left me high and dry.

Like the watch: Takes a licking and keeps on ticking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2005

11th Jan 2005, 10:02

Your watch sucks then. My Timex has been going for years... but who cares about watches anyway. He never mentioned battery trouble.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 16 reviews