2000 Mazda Protege LX from North America


The 2000 Mazda Protege was built poorly so dealerships could make more money!


First we had to get an engine flush only a month after we got it. Then we had the locking mechanism replaced 3 times.

All the spark plugs have been replaced with all the wires.

The A/C started draining into our floor board, and the dealership fixed it 5 times until they finally decided to redirect the drain.

No hubcaps have ever stayed on.

We replaced the A/C compressor clutch.

We have had to replace both CO2 sensors.

We had to replace something 2 years ago that required the whole transmission to be disassembled. And still the check engine light is on, and we haven't been able to pass inspection because of it. Very frustrating.

Taking it the Auto-zone tomorrow to get yet another diagnostic test done to see what is wrong now. I will never ever purchase a Mazda again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th January, 2009

2000 Mazda Protege LX 1.6 4 cylinder from North America


Not good at all


First at all, the A/C stopped working, and just at 76000 miles the transmission starts giving problems. I took the car to the shop and they told me the transmission had to be changed. I did it.

The car was having the same problem until they found out that the problem was the computer, and the computer was replaced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd January, 2009

8th Oct 2010, 18:42

Cars are not indestructible, so I think you are exaggerating because someone misdiagnosed your problem. 76000 miles is 3 times around the earth, so you should actually be happy with the service you got.

15th Jun 2012, 19:19

This is insane. They have every right to be angry about this. Go look at an '80s Jeep Cherokee and see what real mileage is.

28th Feb 2013, 20:33

What's the deal with all the comments along the lines of "...that's because you don't know anything about cars," or "guess you got a totally freakishly bad version of (whatever car) that I (the commenter) think is the best thing ever... or you are lying because you hate the car I love."

This site is great! I totally agree that there are dumb reviews here and there, but good or bad, detailed reviews are valuable.

And yes, a transmission should last well past 76k miles.

In reply to the second comment, I have a Cherokee and a Hilux in the driveway. 170k and 250k, respectively. Neither has ever had the slightest transmission problem.

27th Aug 2013, 08:53

I like the way you think. That's the same way I put mileage into perspective. In 8,000 miles, my car will have driven to the moon!

2000 Mazda Protege LX 1.8 from North America


Great college vehicle - Worth Keeping


Well, so far the vehicle has not had any mechanical problems. There is a small rush spot where the seal on the window lifted, but that is nothing. (know someone that works at a body shop.)

The vehicle has evidently been rust protected and the kilometres are all highway. Bought as a trade in from a Honda Dealer.

The sunroof squeeks as it opens, but it works.

I need to get the A/C recharged/Repaired. But honestly, I can live without. I like having the wind flowing through the car as opposed to air conditioning (My contacts dry out from the air conditioning)

General Comments:

Slow to start - but when you get in 3rd there is plenty of "Zoom Zoom"

Highway cruising speed is easily reached and passing is made effortlessly.

My vehicle has alloy wheels, spoiler and sunroof so it's a real eye catcher - I wouldn't change a thing.

Handles like a dream, the YOKOHAMA low profile tires amaze me with their gripping capability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2008

2000 Mazda Protege LX 1.6 from North America


Best car I've owned in 30 years


Mass Airflow Sensor failed around 40K miles. Check engine light went on. I replaced the sensor myself. No problems since.

Replaced front calipers and pads at 120K miles. No problems.

General Comments:

Best car I've owned in over 30 years. Absolutely no problems except the mass airflow sensor failure at 40K miles.

I liked my 1990 Mazda Protege DX, so bought this 2000 model LX in March of 2000. Gets even better mpg than the earlier one. Averages 38mpg with 20% local, 80% highway driving.

Could use more horses when accelerating on a hill or entering an interstate, but livable. The 1.8 engine would probably have been a better choice for power - but wouldn't have given the great mpg I get with the 1.6.

So far (knock wood!) no mechanical, electrical, a/c, instrument problems.

Five speed transmission still tight.

Interior seems spacious, well appointed, and more comfortable than I expected in the Protege.

Only recommendation I'd make is that the cruise control be on the steering wheel (horn pad) itself, not on a stick on the column. But can't be done as the horn pad is the crash bag cover.

Highly recommended car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd July, 2008

20th Jun 2012, 13:14

I agree with you.

I bought a 2000 Mazda Protege about a month ago.

Every service has been done on it, including synthetic oil, and it runs like new. I have the 1.6 with auto.

I am glad to read you get 38 MPG, because I get 40 MPG at 55MPH on back road highways. I was so shocked, I stopped three times on a long trip for gas because I figured I had to be off. The last time I stopped, I could only put 1.02 gallons of gas in the car to the top of the filler after traveling 43 miles. No doubt, the car gets 40-41 MPG on flat roads at a constant 2500 RPM, and it handles like a true sports car.

Great car, I love it, I will keep it for a long time.