2002 Mazda Protege Reviews - Page 5 of 17

2002 Mazda Protege P5 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Reliable economy and performance

Faults:

I had to replace the starter and battery at 60,000 miles.

General Comments:

Very good value in a small car that handles well and has some storage.

It is a noisy car, but I did add insulation and upgraded stereo.

Seats are supportive for long distance.

I gave a 7 for ride, because it is taut.

Dual front and side airbags.

My wife loves the car with one child.

Reliable!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2009

2002 Mazda Protege ES 2.0L DOHC, 16v from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0L DOHC, 16v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired170 miles
Most recent distance104500 miles

Summary:

Great car for the price

General Comments:

This car is a great compact sedan. It handles great and it's pretty well built.

The ES model comes with upgraded trim and 16" wheels with high performance tires.

I've upgraded tires to 205/50-16 (more choices of tires on this size), and it now handles like a dream.

The car is a little noisy, but that is expected from a small sedan.

The motor seems reasonable for a 2L and the overall mechanical integrity is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2009

2002 Mazda Protege LX from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Reliable car

Faults:

When it rains, the carpet on the passenger side and also in the back seat area gets wet.

Does anyone else have a similar problem with the Mazda Protege LX?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2009

2002 Mazda Protege 5 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

We got a lemon

Faults:

Head gasket required replacement at 103k miles, timing belts changed at same time, then had radiator problems. Those three things cost well over $1000 to repair, and the radiator/cooling system still is not 100%

Engine mounts completely rotted out at 120k miles, and there is now a grinding noise in the front end drive train. To repair those two things is going to be another $1000 at least.

Get flat tires about once every two months. Tires wear out fast, and are expensive to replace because of their unusual size.

General Comments:

We got this car based on reviews and I had previously owned a Mazda MX6 that was a great car, but this Protege5 has been a lemon.

Were it not for all the mechanic troubles, it's a fun car to drive that handles really well. I really like to drive it around town because it is agile, small (but still enough room in the back for strollers etc.), and quick enough to get moving. It handles well at high speed, and gets consistent gas mileage in the high twenties low thirties range.

I wish it wasn't such a bugger mechanically, otherwise I think it's a nice little car. We have dumped $2000 in to repairs in 2 years + replacing tires every few months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th January, 2009

7th Jan 2009, 09:20

I bet your car needs a 4 wheel alignment to correct the tire wear. Also, I am sure a good tire shop will help you find a more reasonable solution for your tire needs. I once had a vehicle with an odd sized tire and I was helped by selecting a closely matched common sized tire.

7th Apr 2011, 14:50

Head gaskets go bad on all cars. It's up to you to change it before it blows. I had car's head gaskets blow at 65,000.

Motor mounts are in the same category. Do people honestly think cars fix themselves? Do people get younger as time goes on? I don't get the rationalization.

9th Aug 2011, 16:31

What? Nobody ever replaces a head gasket before it fails, unless they are rebuilding the engine. They certainly do not go bad on all cars. Indeed, head gaskets often times don't ever fail unless there is something else wrong with the engine like warpage or overheating. This one probably burned when it overheated. It's important to change the coolant once in a while.

I do agree about the engine mounts, however; 120k seems like a reasonable time to change an engine mount.

4th Mar 2012, 19:45

That is some very bad disinformation! Nobody changes head gaskets as if they are supposed to be routine maintenance. As far as I'm concerned, a head gasket should last the life of a car, and will only need replacing if you are going to perform an engine rebuild.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 64 reviews