1989 Mercedes-Benz 190 2.5-16 2.5 petrol from UK and Ireland


Baby Benz gets my thumbs up


The boot has rust creeping through the lock barrel, due to age. Having it repaired soon. The passengers heated seat only works on one setting (Switch needs replacing). Airbag needs replacing (past its use by date, no fault of the car).

General Comments:

The car is quick once you have it revving (same problem as my old 16V GTI).

Its more a cruiser than an out and out hot rod.

The handling is fantastic my car is lowered with larger wheels and tyres, but have been told the 2.5 handles well in stock form.

As well is the steering with the quicker ratio steering rack it allows you to feel the car in the corners.

My car comes with the leather heated seats which are very comfortable, but the seat bases could do with been position a little higher (common problem on all 190 models).

Also the position of the steering wheel is a little low (you catch your knees on it when getting in or out)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2005

1989 Mercedes-Benz 190 2.0 from UK and Ireland


A hidden gem, go and find one!


Recently the thermostat cover cracked. I replaced it with a genuine Mercedes part for a very reasonable £14.

The battery fitted turned out to be incorrect so that has been replaced with the correct item. (not the cars fault)

General Comments:

This is the first Mercedes I have owned. She may be old, but she is in excellent condition with no rust whatsoever. The engine pulls nicely with no smoke on startup and every service item is easy to get too. I was pleasantly surprised at the price of parts, actually cheaper to run than my old Nissan 200SX turbo and the Mercedes is so much more car for the money. I can safely say I will never buy another make of car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2005

1989 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.6 from North America


A classy little high performance tank


Water pump at 120,000 miles, Alternator went out and killed the battery yesterday 146000 miles, ABS speed sensor is out and possible Fuel Pressure sensor may be going out., Dash lights replaced at 128,000 miles, Ambient Temperature sensor quit working. Interior is still like new.

General Comments:

This care is wonderful, even with the repairs.

It is agile and handles very very well.

Very classy ride. I would buy again without Hesitation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2004

1989 Mercedes-Benz 190 2.6L from North America


Very classy, all my friends are jealous


Water Pump died.

Front driver's side mirror motor failure.

Interior is kind of coming apart around the windows. (Most of these due to age, and previous owner.)

Other than that, everything is great.

General Comments:

This is my first car, (me being a teenager) and this Mercedes is my dream car. For it's age, it is in awesome condition, and is very quick off the line, offering unmatchable reliability. My dad has a new Audi, and it has already had three times as many problems than my old Benz.

One thing to consider when owning one of these, you must upgrade the headlights to European, the American ones are extremely hideous. Also consider upgrading the wheels to a larger size, maybe add a spoiler, sound system, etc. (Eh, I'm a teen, what'd you expect).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2004

14th Feb 2005, 18:46

Hey Thanks,

I am turning 16 and I am looking at the same car I love it! I was looking for advice about it! and your reveiw halped thanks so much.

11th May 2010, 21:34

I am also 16 and looking to buy the 190 2.6L. Anything you could tell me about the car, (gas mileage, handling, top speed, radio, heat/AC, problems, repairs, etc...) would much be appreciated.

Thanks, Justin.

1989 Mercedes-Benz 190 Cosworth 2.6 -16 from UK and Ireland


Mid powered Mercedes surprise


Differential failed at 145,000 miles.

Engine completely rebuilt at 145,000 miles by Crewe engines, at cost of £3800. Highly recommended engine company, car now goes like new. :)

Electric window switches failed at 150,000 miles.

Electric sunroof failed at 150,000 miles.

Thermostat replaced at 150,000 miles due overheating.

General Comments:

Not as quick as my previous E30 M3, and doesn't handle quite as well, but really is a very 'together' car to drive.

A lot much more refined than the BM, works very well as an inconspicuous town car / cruiser, but if provoked can still deliver a serious thrill.

MUST be serviced by a specialist as most Mercedes dealers don't seem to know about checking the cam chain tension every 15,000 miles and also have a tendency to use standard Mercedes fluids rather than the higher spec'd ones required for this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2004