1994 Mercedes-Benz C-Class Elegance 1.8 Liter from France

Summary:

A nice ride with a major fuel transfer problem

Faults:

Major problem with the C180 duel fuel tanks and fuel transfer between tanks. Have taken car to dealer twice for repairs and twice to private mechanic. However, the car still runs out of gas with about 25 liters in the "secondary tank". No one appears to be able to fix this problem. I have been stranded on the hi-way 6 times in the last 3 years.

General Comments:

It is a good solid car except for the fuel transfer problem. The C180 is a little underpowered, but once it gets up to speed it is a pleasure to drive. The A/C is excellent the the paint and body still look great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th November, 2003

3rd Jun 2009, 03:22

100% Agreed, my 1994 C180 Classic, having the same problem. After replaced new fuel tank in 2005, I was happy thinking that this problem never happened again, but suddenly in September 2008 the same problem happened again. Fuel flow not running smoothly due to under carriage fuel hose burst, even the parts replaced. None of the Mercedes mechanic around my state knows how to resolve this problem, but advised me replaced a new fuel tank. All possible methods to repair, changed fuel pump, drain out tank and servicing failed to resolved this problem. I love my car, but I cannot afford to spend Malaysian Ringgit 3,000 for another new fuel tank. My friend suggest me to operate the fuel tank and do some modification, as his mechanic already resolved the problem with his classic Alfa Romeo. I am looking forward to doing so.

9th Jul 2009, 03:01

I also got the same problem with fuel tank. Mine is W202 C220. The car shut off like running out of gas, but the gas remains about 1/2 tank. Googling for this, the only clue is about the pressure in tank. http://forums.mbworld.org/forums/e-class-w124/180686-ran-out-gas-twice-half-tank-left.html post#14.

But no info on how to fix it.

16th Feb 2010, 20:48

W202 Mercedes car, stopping with still a half tank of fuel. Fuel sender units is the problem. When the car is running, sender units are suppose to balance the fuel on both sides through siphon action. When this does not happen, one side of tank runs dry while the other side is full, and the car stops. Check for blockages at fuel return, or else change both sender units.

8th Apr 2012, 23:00

I'm having the exact problem with my C Class. Do you have a part number??

1994 Mercedes-Benz C-Class Classic 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good car, but lacking the old MB quality

Faults:

Heater only blows hot air, can't turn heat off.

SRS sensor in steering wheel replaced. Light started flashing again 6 months later.

Headlight adjuster doesn't work.

General Comments:

Build quality and materials seem to be not as good as my old '80s 230CE.

Very smooth and quiet engine.

Drives well although steering seems too light causing it to constantly pull to the incline of the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th July, 2003

1994 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C280 2.8 Liter DOHC from North America

Summary:

German over-engineering at a great price

Faults:

Wires from the rear seats back going to reverse lights had to be replace. $600.

New key tumbler had to be installed. $650.

New mass air meter installed. $450.

General Comments:

The only real problem with this car was the mass air meter. The wires going to the reverse lights melted because of a lousy CD changer installation by the previous owner. The key tumbler broke because the previous owner carried massive amounts of keys on her key ring.

The car is very comfortable to drive. It has the exact medium of luxury and sportiness. It has plenty of power. (almost 200 hp) The C280 doesn't float while driving yet it is still smooth and comfortable over bumpy roads.

Reliability has been about as good as it gets. I will never worry about being stranded in this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2002

25th Jan 2011, 17:37

Just wait until the MB-engineering crap takes over! For sure you'll curse the 90's MB quality. Get a 201 or 124 instead with a manual tranny mated on a 2.6 or higher.