2001 Mercedes-Benz C-Class Reviews - Page 3 of 5

2001 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 Kompressor from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Mercedes don't make them like they use to in the '80's!

Faults:

When pushed, the brake pedal would eventually hit the floor! At the stop light, the brake pedal would start to slowly keep pushing through until it hit the floor and the car would start to move. Took the car to the dealership 4 times before they finally realized that there was an air pocket in the brakeline as well as a small hole in the lining. Realizing the potential danger, they finally fixed it.

General Comments:

Brakes work really well now and has gotten me out of trouble a few times! Good timing!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2005

19th Jun 2005, 22:47

Also have a C Class in the family. The C180 Kompressor Elegance2004.Nice Car. You are a smart person. Good on you for buying one. Far better than the rubbish that comes out from Elizabeth and Broadmeadows in the form of the Holden Calais and Ford Fairmont Ghia.

29th Oct 2010, 06:52

I had a 98 C180 Classic W202. Nice car, but seriously underpowered. Now I have a 2001 C200k Avantgarde. Seriously quick, seriously comfortable, and very desirable!

2001 Mercedes-Benz C-Class Elegance 2.7 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 220

Summary:

Not a quality car as advertised by Mercedes

Faults:

Oil level sensor faulty immediately after first service at 9000 miles.

Anti roll bushes replaced at 9000 miles.

Glow plugs replaced at 9000 miles.

Oil seals at differential replaced at 12000 miles.

Glow plugs replaced at 25000 miles and 30 months old. Mercedes Benz now say that this is a serviceable item like "tires" and should be paid for when faulty. This is their way of getting around an obvious quality problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd December, 2003

2001 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C320 3.2L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.2L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Faults:

Seal on/in the transmission replaced.

Seal on power steering pump replaced.

Burnt Wiring caused turn signals to malfunction.

Glove box would not open.

Trunk would not open.

Carpeting is wearing very badly.

Suspension bushings and a lot of other parts dealing with suspension were replaced due to cracking.

Headlights went out at night due to faulty wiring.

Remote to open door locks malfunctions on a regular basis.

There is more, but off the top of my head this is what comes to mind.

General Comments:

This car is the most unreliable vehicle I have ever owned. Mercedes Quality is in the negative numbers in my opinion. Just about every 2 weeks this car is in the shop for something. Go with the BMW if you want quality in a German car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th September, 2003

6th Mar 2005, 06:12

Mercedes Benz should have recalled the vehicle for the transmission seals (shift connector unit), front bushings and arms, and the multiple issues with the electrical components, in particular, the lights. This is my first Mercedes (I bought it with less than 15k on the odometer, from a MB dealer who "Star-Marked" the vehicle).This may very well may be my last MB. My 01 320 now has 31,000 miles, and all the mechanical items you mentioned have also gone wrong- I purchased the factory extended warranty, so the cost was negligible. By the way, the "smart key" will begin to function intermittently when the cell battery (in the key itself) begins to run low which is more frequent than one might expect. The service tech at MB was corned by me on my last venture, and he admitted that once all the "little items" are replaced (which, in my opinion, considering the cost of a MB, should never have malfunctioned in the first place) the car will (and 'will' is the key word here, flanked by $$$ dollar signs $$$) "be the most reliable car". Mercedes informed me that their real concentration concerning their vehicles is on safety- that is their 'priority'. They are in no doubt doing exceptionally well in this area; the less the car is on the road and in the repair shop, the odds of an auto accident are greatly reduced!

Thanks, Jim.

13th Oct 2006, 16:23

Dear folks

I own an Mercedes C320 2002, and that car brings to me a lot of trouble.

After an battery/alternator malfunction, which made me spend $1500, now it is a problem of under-voltage, which will disable the ESP, the ABS etc... has anybody got these same problems on his Mercedes? At the dealer they changed the battery, then the alternator, but nothing wrong. Now I am just waiting for that car to break down and I will go to the dealer... has this trouble happened to anybody else?

4th Nov 2006, 11:28

I was on my way to buying a 2000 C230 with 38000 miles for $ 14,500. After reading all the negative reports from owners of C and E class, I put the money back in the bank. Thank you.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 16 reviews