2001 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Reviews - Page 2 of 5

2001 Mercedes-Benz E-Class E320 4Matic from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz Lexus

Summary:

Not worth the money

Faults:

Transmission and Torque Converter Failed at 76,000 miles ($6200 to Fix).

Lug nuts were already rusted (4 Tires screws).

Temperature display and clock display malfunctioned at 77,000 miles ($1200 to Fix).

SRS Sensor Failed at 77,200 miles ($650 to Fix).

General Comments:

I do not see how this can can be classified as a luxury car?. I had complained to Mercedes USA and sent them copies of my bills from my dealer for over $8000 that I spent on fixing this car. I had no choice but to fix it so I can hope to sell it again. They sent me a letter stating that they regret that I had such a bad experience. At the same time, at the end of the letter they wrote: "We hope you will enjoy your luxury car". Can you believe it?!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th March, 2008

30th Mar 2008, 22:58

Yes, I can believe it. Mercedes currently has worse reliability ratings than Ford or GM, and so does BMW. Sorry you got stuck.

2001 Mercedes-Benz E-Class e200 Kompressor 200 from United Arab Emirates

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 200 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance125000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

I regret buying this Mercedes and I'll never buy another one

Faults:

Automatic transmission failed at 40,000 kilometers.

Bubbling on rear window panels.

Display for temperature failed.

Replaced sun visors 3 times, and they have broken again!

Car is rusting all over. It is in the shop now for the 3rd time.

General Comments:

This is the worst car I have ever owned. The best car I ever owned was a Toyota Camry. I regret ever buying this Mercedes, and I see from a lot of comments that I'm not alone. Mercedes has squandered their goodwill and apparently don't care. What a sad end to a previously great company. When you merge a bad company (Chrysler) with a good company (Daimler) you don't get a good company.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th December, 2006

11th Dec 2006, 10:47

Mercedes did suffer from quality problems due to its merger with Chrysler and its drive to be everything to everyone (A Class to SLR).

Allegedly its products are of high quality now, and they had better be since they are still charging outrageous money for their cars. Can you believe a top of the line S Class (S65) is now nearly $200K BEFORE you add options?

2001 Mercedes-Benz E-Class E320 Elegance 3.2L petrol from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.2L petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carDodge Stealth

Summary:

The best car I have ever owned or am likely to ever own

Faults:

Nothing, really. Original 5 year old battery died in the sub-zero depths of a New England winter, but Mercedes dealer road service came out (mileage was still under 50000) and replaced it for only the cost of the part (a very reasonable $125). Small side running light bulb burnt out and was easily replaced. Small (approx.25cm) paint blister developed over the course of the winter on boot lid remedied by dab of primer, touch-up paint, and buffing.

General Comments:

I have previously owned other German makes (Audi, Volkswagen, and Opel) as well as a Mitsubishi 3000GT in Dodge drag (aka Stealth) and can honestly say that I have never loved any car of mine as much as this E320 Mercedes-Benz (although I did lust after an old girlfriend's TR-6 30 years ago). The combination of reliability, luxury, performance, and economy (23 mpg commuting and 27 mpg on a recent aimless and leisurely drive with my wife through the countryside with the windows down and the sunroof open) simply cannot, in my estimation, be beaten.

I was somewhat leery of how it would perform in winter conditions, being rear-wheel drive, but with its traction control, ABS, and ESP systems it proved superior or equal to other vehicles I have driven in the snow that were FWD and AWD (although not all, obviously... I have owned various Jeeps, true 4WD Subarus and Isuzus, and a 1971 Land Rover Series IIA, but that's all in a different league and another story for another day). On one particular snowy and slippery day last January before the plows had gotten out, my wife was out in her FWD Chrysler Concorde with traction control at the same time as I was out in my Merc... we had very different experiences; mine a vague occasional "maybe" slip while she was slipping and sliding all over the place. I can only wonder how the Mercedes 4MATIC AWD system performs...

I know that inevitably some people will end up with the rare "lemon" and that others will have run-ins with dealers, but in the year that I have owned my E320 I have nothing but praise for both the vehicle and dealer service, and it has required nothing above and beyond normal maintenance.

PS - The only time I get to really enjoy the acceleration available is on highway entrance ramps (I mean really - you can't try to best your 0-60 time out of a traffic light on Main Street, can you? Not without unpleasant repercussions, anyway). Just last week I was behind a balding guy in his midlife-crisis BMW Z-somethingorother convertible (I didn't notice the actual model) and as we went up the ramp he was obviously into the same frame of mind... a puff of smoke came out of his exhaust and he took off like a bat out of Hell. I floored the E320, batted the gear down to almost redline and crawled up the BMW's backside while listening to Beethoven's 9th blaring over the Alpine stereo with Bose speakers, then passed him at almost 100 mph. Priceless. I love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2006

20th Jun 2007, 15:31

I really love this site and have read many of the reviews, however your review is definitely one of the best. I can almost see the smile on your face as you were writing it. Anyway, I'd like to thank you for so vividly pointing out the many virtues of driving and owning MB E-Class.

2nd Feb 2011, 01:59

LOL. Thank you. I too love my E320 dearly. On the freeway in southern California it's awesome. 85mph to 120mph is quick and smooth, even with almost 200,000 on the clock. I attribute this to the remarkably paired rear end gearing and transmission.

I agree, there are always a few lemons in the bunch. Some cars are built on Tuesday, and others on Friday. But all in all, the greatest "do everything well" car I've ever owned.

PS: For some fun, the top speed limiter can easily be removed. You'd be surprised what the 320 can hit unrestricted with a little shot of nitrous. I don't want to brag, but Srt4's STI's, old M3's, and my favorite, Mustang GT's usually end up in the mirrors. Not bad for a tired old grocery getter.

I'd sell it, if only it didn't put a smile on my face every time I drove it.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 16 reviews