1999 Mercedes-Benz M-Class Reviews - Page 4 of 7

1999 Mercedes-Benz M-Class 3.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance86552 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

The best high end SUV for serious off road work

Faults:

Air Mass Sensor.

Center console Window unit failed.

Windshield wiper failed under heavy snow load.

General Comments:

This SUV is the best all wheel vehicle I've been in and owned.

This vehicle is solid and is really a truck, not a car.

The climbing and handling are exceptional for a street vehicle.

It has never failed me to where I've had to get it into service ASAP. I've always been able to drive it back to the dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2004

22nd Oct 2012, 20:37

Awesome SUV, wouldn't own a different car again. The engine is perfect and strong, great tranny, excellent tan leather interior.

Turns on a dime.

Love the Bose sound system; can't live without it now.

Heated seats are so relaxing.

Decent gas mileage. LOTS of room front and back, and it looks hot in black.

All I ever had to do in the 6 years I've owned it is put in a radiator, brakes once and tires once; lasted six more years and still perfect.

Only one bad thing; had to put an O2 sensor in and costs 1500.00. I of course went to the dealer, later found it only cost 76.00. My mistake.

Overall the best car I've ever owned, and I've owned a few.

Jennifer of Arizona.

1999 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML320 gas from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired23200 miles
Most recent distance70156 miles
Previous carBMW Z3 Roadster

Summary:

Not worthy of the Star

Faults:

Air condition failed at 24K miles.

Sun roof won't close at 24500 miles.

Harmonic balancer flew apart, damaged radiator, etc. at 34K miles replaced again six months later.. another failure.

Driver side window failed at 37K miles

Paint started to chip on front bumper at 40K miles

Driver side electrical failed at 43K miles

Fueled pump replaced twice at 45K and 47K miles

Been in shop every two months since bought.

General Comments:

I own a 1982 300SD that has 298K miles. Nothing serious since purchase. Everything still works... just typical maintenance issues. Planning on replacing the engine when the time comes and planning on trading in the 1999 ML320 for another Z3 or Z4. Wish I had another 300SD for my wife to drive.

They should recall all the ML320's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd June, 2004

4th Jun 2004, 07:54

Your 300sd should be good for another 150,000 miles with the original engine!

3rd Nov 2007, 07:36

Your 300 sd should be good for another 500,000 miles. Keep it.

1999 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ml320 3.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Good Bargin high class suv

Faults:

The Power Steering line was defective, but was repaired under warranty

The Dunlop Tires wear very Badly 17000 miles and need 4 new tires.

General Comments:

Overall the mercedes Ml 320 is a great SUV.

The Acceleration is great and the transmission is great

The seats are real comfortable and everything works great.

Main thing is if you take car of your ML320 it will do you good forever people that don't take care of it it will cause problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2004

1999 Mercedes-Benz M-Class 320 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Think twice about the M-class

Faults:

Front driver's side window will not go up - replaced switch two times.

Weather stripping in passenger's window failed and got glue all over window.

Brake pads and rotors - front and back - replaced by 35000 miles.

Issues with transmission fluid hoses.

Burns oil at ridiculous rate - failed consumption test at dealership.

Tires CONSTANTLY need to have air replaced, but dealership says nothing wrong with tires; finally had dealership replace tires, only to still experience problem.

Both front cup holders broke - cost $180 to replace one piece of plastic in each one!

Left headlight keeps burning out.

General Comments:

This car is the perfect size and fit for my family and handles well. We knew going in that gas mileage would not be great so there is really no disappointment there.

I am most disappointed with the service on this car. Since we got the car, we have had the car serviced regularly, even before the computer said we needed to, and always requested the full service program. Every time we take the car in, the service department finds something else that they "missed" last time or that all of a sudden has to be replaced. Fortunately, most of the work has been covered by warranty (except the brake pads & rotors which we ended up spending about $4000 on). It's almost as if they are "missing" things on purpose so they have major issues later on - I hear the dealerships love the warranty work because it really lines their pockets. Furthermore, their customer service skills are seriously lacking: they are condescending, rude and act as though they don't want us as MB owners. They also act as if we are completely clueless when it comes to cars and they are the only ones with any knowledge.

We have had issues with burning oil and, after we were notified of the class action settlement, we went three visits asking for a consumption test to be run which they conveniently "forgot" about. Finally, they ran the test and it failed. So, they called MBUSA who told them to let the car sit in subzero weather all night and run it again "just to make sure" - guess what... it still failed. Now they are dragging their feet on their responsibilities under the class action suit and say it will take up to three weeks to fix!!! When talking to a dealer about trading the car in for a more recent model, we were asked if we really wanted to stay with a MB, and specifically this class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th January, 2004

22nd Jan 2010, 23:03

Wow! I was pretty sure I was going to buy one of these. Never mind. It's too bad, they are beautiful cars. Now I know why they resell so cheap.

8th Jul 2010, 21:34

Hmm, I've had mine for almost 2 years now, and it's running fine, major oil leak on the rear oil filter housing or something, but nothing major... yet... makes me nervous though.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 28 reviews